We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected less, got way more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malt

Malt
150 Broadway, Newport, RI 02840
401 6191667
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 203 restaurants in Newport
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
“Expected less, got way more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What can one say....disagree that it is just a bar....but a great place to drink and eat. The best meal I have had in a long time and I go out to eat almost every night. From making the reservation to arriving there was a pleasant attitude. Of course folks, it was a Sunday night and nice pace. Daryl was the waiter, and kept asking him what he liked. Read reviews online but better out of the horses mouth. The drink that Nick made suggested by Daryl was .....WOW! The Pom.com martini was so good, had to have more!
I will not tell you what to eat that is personal. I will say all the food had great presentation and the Chef is doing great. Oh he came out to say hello, his name is Chuck! Ask about the chive oil is all I will say and let the pictures do the talking! Happy Dining! You will love it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    53
    28
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham, ct
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Party of 12, last Saturday evening. We were seated in a back room, which may not always be used. It was perfect for our group, and not noisy at all. Our server Olivia's was just great. She was knowledgeable, patient and honest. We had several apps, calamari was not salty this night, shrimp nachos, risotto and duck rolls. After all of that food we still ordered up, .......pannini's, steak, pork chop special, bolognase,salads....all delicious. Enjoyable desserts as well. Will surely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Let's keep it simple. Its a bar. A good bar. A nice bar. But still a bar. This is not a restaurant as one would conventionally describe a restaurant. As such it is loud and lively. It has a great beer list and a lousy wine list. It is one of the few restaurants in Newport with my scotch (Famous Grouse) and I am sure it has a long list of single malts.

Like all bars the menu is limited with lots of fried stuff and the usual scallops, salmon, chicken and steak. Strictly run of the mill average food.

The decor was a nice change from the usual dark man caves decor that seem standard to most drinking establishments. A bit lighter and brighter.

It is too bad that tripadvisor does not have a separate category for bars. As a restaurant it rates an average. As a bar very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“back a few times and still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Have been back to Malt a few times now and its still great, some places fall off after the first few months but the food , wine and staff are still great. Great bar with great conversations !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too noisy and too salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We met some friends for dinner on a Saturday night. The hostess was gracious about the wait, which we expected. It was VERY noisy and at a table for 4, it was not possible to hear the people on the other side of the table. The wines were fine. The shrimp nachos were very good. As for small plates - they weren't - the small plates plus a salad were enough for a dinner. The duck spring rolls were good, if a little greasy and salty. The calamari was extremely poor, EXTREMELY SALTY and the person who ordered it left at least half of it, AND there were salty olives on the bottom! Absolutely recommend that you choose something else! The fish and chips was OK and the batter was light.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malt also viewed

 

Been to Malt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.