We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much the food was the outside deck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquideck Lobster Co

Aquideck Lobster Co
Bowens wharf, Newport, RI
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
Description: Bowens warf in Newport RI
Restaurant details
Description: Bowens warf in Newport RI
Leeds
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Not so much the food was the outside deck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We found the food here OK but nothing all that special. However, sitting outside over the water with a blanket wrapped round you while you ate was fabulous. You get to see how the other half on the massive motor yachts live while munching away and they'll even crack your lobster for you if you're a first timer and a bit worried about it!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Poor service ok food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I don't think I've ever experienced service this bad! The waitress had a bad attitude. Then another person tried to take my husbands mussels bowl away (while everyone was still eating) and he asked her to bring him some bread. I asked her if I could have another glass of wine to which she said "yea". We got neither. Quite sometime later we finally tracked down our waitress who didn't seem bothered by this and finally brought what we asked for. Additionally, they served the soup after the entree. The lobster roll was good - not great, or the best in Newport, but good. But it was seriously overpriced considering it only came with potato chips. The atmosphere is what you'd expect from Lobster Shack and the views are great, but overall I would just go for drinks and skip the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best view money can buy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

So you have to walk through a smelly fish market to get to this little gem, but at least you can tell the fish was just caught! Very casual setting right on the water. The Bloody Mary's were excellent and the lobster roll even better. The fried shrimp were very large and cooked to perfection. Well worth the trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best lobster ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were in Newport recently and ate at the Aquideck Lohbster Co. We are forevere ruined on Lobster. This was by far the freshest, best lobster I have ever had, even better than Boston, or Maine. I can't even begin to describe how tender, flavorful and fresh it was. It's like I have never had lobster in my life. I am sure I will never have a lobster this good again. The tail meet was as sweet and tender as the claws. It was incredible. Don't miss this if you love lobster! We had a great view from the deck and watched the beautiful sunset. The service was a bit mediocre but I can't say enough about the Lobster.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“You cannot do any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This place has the best view in town the freshest seafood and just a wonderful overall atmosphere. A good time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquideck Lobster Co also viewed

 

Been to Aquideck Lobster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquideck Lobster Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.