We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I suggest the hot buttered Lobster Roll” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Bar

The Lobster Bar
31 Bowens Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401-619-2890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“I suggest the hot buttered Lobster Roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a great place and very scenic. It is expensive (as you would expect), bu the lobster roll was one of the best meals I ate on our entire trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    80
    20
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Value was great for fresh seafood. Seating a little crowded not real comfortable. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Lobster rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went here for their lobster rolls and their hot and cold rolls were excellent. They give you a bag of chips and a pickle with the sandwich for about $20 each. I'll be sure to visit this place the next time I come back to Newport.

We went in August and the view on the deck was beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great view, poor food, big disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

after an incredible lobster roll in boston yesterday we were hoping for another great one today in newport....boy...we picked the wrong place...the lobster roll had only a little claw meat in a bun that was tasteless.very slow service but at least
the miller lite was good and cold ....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is the best place to go if you want oysters and fresh shrimps. they have a raw bar just outside the restaurant. you can also order fresh fish, lobster and clams. its like a wet market with restaurant. we had lobster and seafood platter and after all that food we went to the raw bar and had oysters, clams and shrimp. wonderful view with friendly staff and good food. we will definitely come back to this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.