We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down To Earth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Bar

The Lobster Bar
31 Bowens Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401-619-2890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 177 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Down To Earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A great addition to the local flavor.The atmosphere was friendly ,casual and laid back. surrounded by a beautiful harbor and sailing vessels. Sampled the watermelon sangria and vodka infused pineapple drink suggested by the good natured bar tenders. Can get a good quick lobster roll before a summer concert series which is just a stroll away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    81
    20
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The lobster roll is delish! We kept finding ourselves back here and had great food and service all three times we were there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect Newport spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great location, beautiful view, delicious fresh seafood. Unfortunately the bartender (Tim?)had a less than welcoming attitude and at times seemed bothered to serve us. Too bad. Will still bring friends and family there when they visit though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great View, ordinary menu and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I said average, but that's because I averaged the barren, overpriced menu and slow service with what is truly one of the best views in Newport.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Casual Dining, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Mr. & I had been looking forward to another lobster roll since our 2008 visit to Boston. The Lobster Bar looked like a fun place so when we saw 'lobster roll' on the menu board, we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed in either the atmosphere or the food. Our sandwich had big chunks of succulent lobster served with light butter and spinach leaves on a New England style bun. The simple preparation made the lobster the star.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.