We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf to your Saves list
Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Extraordinary View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Newport is stunning historical and fun destination. This facility is part of a larger adjacent Wyndham resort separated by a street. The views are stunning! Awake to Newport Harbor coming alive with commercial and recreational boating and end the day after a night dining in one of the many fine eating establishments or shopping by sitting on the top deck and watching the boat lights as they cruise by. The accommodations are excellent for two and adequate for four with a large bathing spa and mini-kitchen. It is right at the beginning of streets full of restaurants and shops. Go off the regular routes to see 18th and 19th century buildings still in use. The only negative is an antiquated wireless service. Quite simply - it is late 1990's at best.

Room Tip: All have a water view. Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
Green Features: Attention to conservation and recycling is evident everywhere.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you AscDac for the kind words in regards to your expereince with us! We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the location adn facilities convenient for your travels! We apologize the interenet did not meet all your needs we are currently working on a proprty wide upgrade that we are looking to have complete in the near future! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Spreading the Warmth of Hospitality,

Kristin Burghardt
Assistant Resort Manager
Kristin.Burghardt@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    32
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Enjoyed girls weekend with a gorgeous view of the water and a roof top deck to look out over the harbor. Extremely comfortable and easy to walk to everything. Checkin was easy and the front desk was great and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you FSUDawn21 for the kind feedback! We will certainly share these comments with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take time to enjoy the roof top deck! It does provide a great panoramic view of Newport! Again, thank you for feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Spreading the Warmth of Hospitality,

Kristin Burghardt
Assistant Resort Manager
Kristin.Burghardt@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Naturally, the time we could get was not the most ideal, weatherwise, but we lucked out -- and hit Restaurant Week to boot. Great eating at reduced prices throughout town -- and everything nearby. The room was fine and had a nice view of the harbor. The only surprise -- and not that big a deal -- was the absence of an automatic dishwasher and, as others have noted, a pretty small sink. Eminently survivable, though. Happily, a strong odor of coal tar experienced on the ground floor did not permeate the third floor room. Would love to go back when more Newport attractions are open, but Wyndham's system has been impenetrable and we're settling for an RCI property nearby next June.

Room Tip: Don't expect to have much choice -- in dates, rooms, etc. Wyndham has these properties sewed up...
See more room tips
Green Features: Taken at face value, the promises of environmentally-friendly practices are laudable. As a practical matter, though, the eco-friendliness here as at most hotels and motels seems to boil down to reduced bath towel choices and a corresponding subsidy to the management.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you Editprof for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay with us! We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of Resturant Week! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I struggled with what rating to give this place... overall, I think it is a great choice for staying in Newport! But there were some glaring things that caused me to give it a lower rating. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
Location! Super close to shops and restaurants and the wharf location is so fun!
The views from any room are amazing. Can't be beat.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Comfy beds.
Recently remodeled in lovely, calming coastal decor.
Renovated bathroom is beautiful.
JETTED TUB!!
Kitchenette and full size fridge.
Two TV's, one with a DVD player.
Lots of amenities at the sister property across the street- pool, hot tub, movie theater, etc.
Free parking.

Cons:
WiFi is pretty much non-existent. Couldn't get it to work at all. And no ethernet to plug in to. They definitively need to get with the program on this one...
No dishwasher. No one wants to do dishes on vacation. Especially in that tiny sink.
Although the bathroom is beautiful, they chose pretty flimsy fittings. I felt like the faucet was going to break off at any minute...
A bit stuffy in the room. But bearable.
Amenities are in the other building... we didn't end up using anything over there because it was pouring rain and we didn't want to walk over in our swimsuits!

So as you can see, the pros outweigh the cons, at least for us! The internet thing is an easy fix that they should implement pronto. Then I would give it 4 or 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for the sunset side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This Hotel is also in a Time Share group of Hotels. The furnishings were newer and comfortable. The kitchen was less than expected as there was only a small bar type sink in the kitchen which mad washing dishes , pans etc., difficult. When the description in the RCI directory said on the water they were not kidding. We watched the fishermen going in and out to sea from our living room. Short walk to town to shop and dine. Nothing overpriced as is some tourist areas.
The only negative comment I have for this hotel is the internet is slower than dial up and continued to drop off when we could get on line. When we called the manager we were told they would reboot the router. That did not help. This was a working / vacation. No work could get done. In this day and age of technology there is no excuse for the poor internet in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a water front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B, Manager at Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you Lesliekinpa for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience all the great marvels of Newport! We pride ourselves on our hospitality culture and are always looking to wow our guests. We are grateful for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

As a Wyndham owner, I've had my eye on the waterfront rental for two years before it was available on dates my family had to travel. It was Easter weekend and I was concerned it would be understaffed but it was everything I expected from a Wyndham property. Being in an unfamiliar area, I was comforted by the 'visibility' of staff and security during our stay. We had the most beautiful view of the piers from our unit. The rooftop view was amazing as well. Our unit was very clean and more than comfortable. We enjoyed the rooms but our main goal in traveling is to experience the area not stay in the rooms. It was a short walk to entertainment, dining and shopping. The "Rescue our Harbor" tour docks right at the building and offers an excellent tour. We also purchased lobsters right from the harbor next door. We were extremely pleased and would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — the proximity to local entertainment, dining and shopping
  • Disliked — no actual oven in the unit we used
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a clean and well appointed resort. the views were awesome and the location was perfect. The desk staff were professional, friendly and helpful. the only complaint we had was the WIFI, which was very poor. This was a good value for us.

Green Features: They operate a GREEN hotel, which was good to be a part of.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Address: 142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham On Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.