We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, would revisit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
“Great location, would revisit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location is great, right on the water, easy walk to shops and restaurants along the strip. We had a two bedroom condo that was great, plenty of space, well appointed. Pools and workout area were nice too. Coffee in the mornings, movies every night in the lounge. We were very satisfied with our stay and would return, especially given the value. Family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have had wonderful experiences here during our two of our many stays in Newport, RI. Located perfectly with just enough onsite amenities. Some of the friendliest staff at the reception desk and always willing to help with restaurant and other suggestions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Inn is right on the water and with absolutely gorgeous views. We stayed here for 3 nights. You have to check in across the street at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort. They provide you with keys and wristbands that you need to use the amnesties at the resort.

The room has a king size bed and kitchenette with a sitting area, which has floor to ceiling windows. You enter into the bedroom then get to the kitchenette and then the sitting area. Bathroom is off the kitchenette. Its almost like a rail road apartment style one long room.

The bedroom is right off the hallway, so you may hear people talking at night. But it wasn't much a problem. They don't have cleaning service during the week and you have to do it yourself. The kitchenette was nice and modern with two cook tops, you have fridge, blender, toaster and microwave along with the cutlery, dishes and pots and pans. The reason I gave this place a 4 star is because there was no dishwasher. The sink is small and very little counter space so its hard to wash the dishes.

On the whole its a great place to stay, walking distance from everything.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the water, so every room has a great view. I would recommend getting a room tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This inn is on a great location. Within walking distance to many restaurants, sailboat cruises and shopping. There is a lobster shack just across the street selling lobsters, stone crabs at boat prices. The room has a king size bed and sofa bed and small kitchenette, fridge with lots of pots and pans to cook your seafood in. The view is great from the large floor to ceiling windows in your room. Women at the reception were always friendly and helpful. The rooms were newly renovated and had a nice jacuzzi in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After the flight from Europe and driving 1-2 hours from Boston we had a lot of difficulty on finding our accomodation.
Actually, we were tired and without a map.
The check in must be done in the near resort where you can have some facility such as the swimming pool, etc. But we were here for visiting and so not interested on doing other.
The room was quite narrow but very very long so to have two separate spaces (a kind of bedroom and living room). The view from the room was really nice.
We had a rented car and having the parking free of charge was nice.
The people on the reception were nice and quite helpful.
We booked this place via an opaque site so we didn't know in advance what was our accomodation before the payment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice place. We stayed for a wedding and enjoyed ourselves. It was very pricey but that's Newport for you. Clean rooms and nice staff members. We will most likely find somewhere a bit more cost effective.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My maid of honor gave my husband and I a week vacation stay at the wyndham on long wharf. Before we drove there from NYC i did a lot of research online and asked my questions on Trip advisor trying to find out how the location was and what attractions to see. I received a lot of good feedback and felt prepared for the trip. Only thing is that this hotel did not have the best reviews here on trip advisor some where good some were bad so I was on the fence as to what our experience would be. But! once we arrived and saw the newly renovated building (we stayed in the building across from the main building) and saw our newly renovated suite I was impressed. Our room had a floor to ceiling high windows that allowed for a great view of the port and water. Also our room was very clean, fully stocked kitchen with plates, cups, coffe maker, stove, microwave, and sink. Everything we needed was in our mini apartment. Bathroom also very clean, we enjoyed the jacuzzi. Bed was super comfortable. We had enough closet space to hang our clothes for the week. The walk over to the main offices was right across the street where the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Also I used the indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub a couple of times. There's also a gym if you're into working out while on vacation.

The hotel is in a great location because you are right next to a mini shopping area with local stores, clothing stores, novelties, Panera, Starbucks, and several restaurants, bars. My husband and I walked everywhere, you're right by the water so it's nice scenery.

Great Food: Brick Alley Pub, Diego's (we must have ate here more than 4 times, great food/drinks and atmosphere), Benjamins has great fish and chips, oyster happy hour, and the freshest shrimp cocktail, Barking Crab (good place for seafood, crab cakes delish, lobster macaroni and cheese was YummY!) We also went to a family restaurant we saw on Guy Fieri's Food network DIners, Drive Ins and Dives called Anthony's Seafood restaurant. Must Go. It's about 25 minutes from the hotel driving but well worth it. We each had a whole lobster, some stuffed clams, fresh clamari, and enjoyed every single bite.

Worst Food: The Gas Lamp Grill---what a waste of our money we were so disappointed with even their appetizers, ordered the nachos and what they brought us was a plate where they dumped a bag of tortilla chips and sprinkled a little bit of cheese and other nasty toppings on top.

Overall I would say this hotel is great for couples wanting to relax and enjoy their surroundings, great for a family wanting a low key vacation, and any seafood fanatics.

Things to do: Walk along The Breakers, go drive around and see the mansions, have a local beer, and enjoy the food! It was too cold to go to the beach but I'm sure it's great when it's warm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On Long Wharf Hotel
Wyndham Inn On Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham On Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Address: 142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.