We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice long weekend at the Long Wharf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
wappingers falls, ny
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice long weekend at the Long Wharf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My huband and I stayed here for a couple of days over Memorial Day weekend. We stayed on the second floor which although doesn't have the best view the building has to offer we still had a nice view of the water and the pier. (every room in the building faces the water in some way). The layout of the room was nice. There is a nice sitting area with a couch and chair and TV along side floor to ceiling windows offering the view. There's a nice kitchen with a full size fridge, lots of cabinet space, a two burner stove (no oven) and a very small sink (which makes it difficult to wash the larger pots and pans). Everything is provided for you in the kitchen; pots, pans, plates, bowls, cups, wine glasses, coffee mugs, all the utencils you would need to serve a family of four, broom, plunger, ironing board, plenty of towels and extra bedding in the closet. There is not a lot of drawer space. Being only two people and we were only there a couple of days we did okay. The bathroom is a nice size with a nice size jet bathtub. There always seemed to be somewhat of a musty smell of sorts in the room but being that you are right on the water that may have something to do with it. Outside of the hotel some mornings you could REALLY smell the dead fish - or bait for the lobster and crab boats - never really did figure out which one it was. If you travel up to the 5th floor there is roof access and it's really a great spot to hang out and relax and get in some good pictures of the surrounding area. The staff was always friendly. We did not travel to the main building on the interior street the Long Wharf (although that IS where you will need to check in). That building is also home to the resorts pools, game rooms and other activities. There was always plenty of parking and the resort is in walking distance to pretty much everything in downtown Newport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor is possible. They offer the best views although you will see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went to The Inn on the long wharf for a girls weekend in May and had a great time. Can't rave enough about the location to all shops, restaurants, bars, waterfront and mansions. All rooms at The Inn has been updated fully inside and are beautiful. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Can't beat the water views from every room. Would definitely recommend this location to anyone and I will be back annually!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the WYNDHAM INN . They are still up grading the premises. the view on waterside from balcony is magnificent. The pool was being upgraded two years ago and the buildings are fairly old ,but clean and comfortable. They are always working on them and up grading.They could do a better job on modernization to the furniture and interiors. Some are in need of painting , etc.

Room Tip: Views are great on second floor balconies facing harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is great. Close and walking distance to the cute downtown area. Bakery just a few blocks away was a real hit in the mornings. The staff were WONDERFUL, courteous and very helpful from the time we checked-in till check out. The room had recently been updated and was very clean and welcoming. I will definitely stay there again and as a travel agent, recommend this property to my clients.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed here in a 2 bedroom for a week and had a nice time. The resort is right across the street from the boat yard but that didn't bother us at all. it was very quiet and within easy walking distance to restaurants, shopping, etc. I mentioned it needs updating and in fact Wyndham is in the process of doing that. We just didn't get an updated unit. The kitchen is very small but well equipped. The grounds were immaculate and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our suite at the Wyndham was very nice. As you enter, there is the bedroom. Next is the kitchenette which had a full size refrigerator, small sink, coffeemaker, two burner cooktop and a microwave. Dishware, silverware, pots, pans and utensils are supplied. Coffees and popcorn were supplied. One thing that bothers me is there is never enough coffee creamer supplied (not just at the Wyndham but at all hotels) and I never remember to bring my own cream/creamer. Past the kitchenette is the living area which has a table with four chairs, a pull out couch and a chair. The couch and chair looked new but were not very comfortable however for us this wasn’t a problem since we weren’t in the room much. The view was fantastic. The water view overlooked the boat yard and docks. I enjoyed watching the early morning activity on the docks and boats.
The only thing I didn’t like was the weird smell in the hallway. I’m pretty sure the management was aware of it because once time we returned air freshener had been sprayed but it didn’t last. The same strange smell returned.
Since this is a vacation time share, there is not regular housekeeping. We did not have an occasion to call them for anything so can’t comment on their service in this area. The mattress was very comfotable. No problems sleeping. I don't think anyone was staying right next to us so can't comment of sound from neighbors. The staff at the registration desk were friendly and helpful. The check in is not in the building with the rooms. Guest check in across the street. The location is good. I would have liked it to be a little closer to the main street but then again probably would have had to pay more so all in all value for the dollar was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I second the previous reviewer....lots of good improvements made. We are owners and my one pet peeve always was the security at the Inn. Prior to this anyone was able to walk into the building - even from the outside deck. Now, key cards are needed 24/7 to enter into the lobby. Rooms/hallways have been painted. Furniture and bedding updated (gone are those crummy flowered bedspreads - replaced with clean, white comforters). Flat screen TV's in both rooms. Curtains replaced and blinds now on smaller windows. A few minor housekeeping issues were quickly resolved by staff. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Way to go Wyndham -at least I see where my maintenance fees are going!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Address: 142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham On Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.