We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf to your Saves list
Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wareham, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“NICE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Just rented 3 one bedroom units for Santa's arrival into town. All 3 units were clean and worked well for all of us. Staff was wonderful put, us on one floor and no complaints since we own across the street at Long Wharf. Going to re-book next year and hope to do so each year til the kids don't like us anymore:)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed for three nights (Thanksgiving 2011) and the total was over $450.00 with taxes. Not too bad if everything worked and we could sleep without interuptions. We didnt enjoy our stay for the following reasons: The room had a broken whirlpool tub. The walls are thin and I could hear the doors slaming outside of room. The "heated" pool was too cold to swim in and the slide was closed. The televisions were outdated and had poor reception. Finally, we received a crank call at 1:30 in the morning. I suspect it was a gentleman from the front desk because I could hear the other employee in the background. When I mentioned it to the front desk employee the next morning, he said the only way a call could have gotten forwarded is if someone called and knew my last name. No one knew I was staying there. Horrible. What a shame.

Room Tip: Not a room near the exit doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed in Newport many times and only noticed this place by jogging by it. It was never listed on any hotel websites except while planning for this trip, There is mysteriously scanty info on the Wyndham website about this property and sister Wyndham Long Wharf. Both are vacation timeshare condos rather than a hotel. No explanation of why the two separate buildings/names either. (Inn on Long Wharf is one bedroom units, Wyndham Long Wharf is 2,3 bedrooms and houses the guest facilities.) Apparently, they sell the units as hotel rooms in the off season.
Inn is directly over Newport Harbor with great view from rooms. Full kitchen w/everything if you wanted to cook. Bathroom above average: big w/ large Jacuzzi tub. The other furnishings were basic hotel room quality. Located within short walk to many restaurants, shopping, but at end of rather dark desolate wharf. (Safe area though.) Again, mysteriously, there is very little signage on the whole place. It's like they don't want anyone to find them. Tiny unobtrusive sign tells people Inn check in is down the street at the other buliding. (I wouldn't have seen it and only knew from reading another post here.) Better lighting and signage would be nice. There is no maid service and there are no guest amenities in the Inn. (A local newspaper was outdie the door in the morning. Nice.) The fitness center in main building is typically small. The equipment is new and high quality but limited. Indoor pool a disappointment. Teeny with minature golf-like waterfall. Meant only for very young kids to splash around in, not meant for actual swimming. Outdoor pool covered for season, but not big either. For a "vacation resort" timeshare place, you'd think those would be really well done amenities.
Worth a stay to be right over the water with great view. Facilty-wise, nothing special. Kind of odd "find-us-if-you-can" vibe. Better pick for families, people who want to cook in-room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you want a room with a view and enjoy newport's sunset from your room!...this is the place to stay in newport...you just have to cross the street to get to the pool (really not a big deal crossing the street!) at wyndham long wharf. Free parking is a plus considering there's a fee for parking all over newport...I felt it was better staying at the inn

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We loved this place - My husband grew up in RI, and took me to newport for my first time 2 years ago in september and i fell in love! We stayed at this hotel and LOVED IT! we were in the building that looks like a warehouse on the pier, accross from the whydham hotel. You have full access to the indoor and outdoor pools and the main hotel. Parking is under the building. All of the views in the rooms are of the water! Its a long room. Walk into the bedroom, through a door into the bathroom, with a huge tub, then continue into the living room and kitchen. I dont cook while away, but it was a nice little kitchen with everything you need to cook a fresh caught lobster meal! Room was clean and had a nice view. It was chilly at night, but we walked over to the hotel to use the pools, both very nice! Little lounge with a fireplace by the pool! Also got us reservations for a lobster dinner at the marriot with buy one get one free!! it was awesome! I have tried to stay there again on our other trips to newport and its been booked up! Great place and would stay again and again! You can walk to all the attractions from here!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I just took our 10 month old daughter on her first vacation and stayed at the Inn on Long Wharf. For us, the hotel was exactly what we wanted. The seperate living room and bedroom allowed us to put our daughter to sleep, but yet stay up, eat dinner and relax.

The views were absolutely amazing, looking right out onto the water and having a view of the sunset each night was awesome. With a young child the kitchen allowed us to bring her foot, w/o any problems.

The Inn is across the street from the main hotel, where you check in so that does get a little confusing, but its literally a 2 minute walk so its not a big deal. The pool and other amenities are across the street as well, but if this were a bigger hotel, the travel would be the same from a top floor.

There is no daily housekeeping, so be prepared for that, which again, is not really a big deal. You can always request fresh towels.

We requested a pack and play and high chair, which were supposed to be in our room at check in but were not. But when I called the front desk, w/in 10 minutes they were there.

This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but you get what you pay for, and for us, it was a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The LONG WHARF INN NEWPORT CONDO DOES NOT Look Like The Condo picture on the website!!
I Wanted TO CANCEL my reservation 2 HOURS after I made it and was told I COULD NOT.
I was told from the reservationist there was a balcony in the condo..THERE WAS NOT!
I was told from the reservationist there was a roof top deck. The roof top deck was run down with 4 torn fabric & faded plastic lounge chairs.
The windows in the main lobby / elevator area AND condo unit were HORRIBLY DIRTY. The fixed window inside the condo was FILTHY with a child handprint of sticky food on the glass. There was also Dried food was on the floor and window sill. The tv's were outdated and both remote controls did NOT work. The front desk clerk gave us a packet at check in BUT DID NOT inform us of coupons for an art-boat event {AS WE DID GO TO} and PAYED FULL PRICE. The front desk clerk did Not know proper directions to the main attractions of the popular Newport mansions in the area. There were too many problems with this property. I also was mislead from the booking agent and website photo. This condo was NOT worth the price @ $278.00 ..PER NIGHT. I suggest spending a few EXTRA dollars for the luxury and beauty of a Newport Inn or hotel in a DIFFERENT resort.. I WISH I DID!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#13 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Address: 142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham On Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.