We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends On What You Are Looking For!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Newport Onshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Newport Onshore to your Saves list
Wyndham Newport Onshore
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Paris, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Depends On What You Are Looking For!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This facility is part of the Wyndham timeshare system but you will find it almost impossible to get a booking there if you are either a Wyndham owner or want to trade via RCI. I was surprised to see that 1- and 2-BR units were nevertheless bookable via search engines such as hotels.com. What this seems to indicate is that as a Wyndham or RCI member you have very limited availability because management decides to make money by renting out apartments to the general public!

The 2-BR unit we were assigned had a potentially lovely view of the harbor that was largely obstructed by the roof of the indoor pool. The unit itself had been recently updated but was VERY dark. The living room/dining room area was very narrow and very long, with only a sliding door with heavy curtains at each end of the room. The master bedroom (off the living room) also faced the pool roof and was relatively quiet, as there were only about 10 parking spaces immediately underneath the window. The second bedroom with two single beds faced not only a very busy parking lot belonging to the complex but also a large public parking lot just beyond. When we asked to be moved to another unit we were told that this was not possible because "owners" were given priority. Pointing out that we were indeed Wyndham owners didn't get us anywhere.

Overall this was not a good experience. I found the staff superficially friendly but not at all helpful. Their "take-it-or-leave-it" attitude is probably fueled by the knowledge that this facility is in a prime location and thus very desirable.

While in Newport you should obviously visit some mansions and the front desk does have coupons that reduce the price of admission by $5. At least something...

Room Tip: Try not to get a place facing busy Thames Street -- there is way too much traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, Maine
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wyndham Newport has a great location. You can park your car and walk to almost anywhere you want to go. Newport is not driving friendly with heavy traffic, people standing in the street and tons of one way narrow streets. We stayed in an older building that was neat and clean. We had a good view of the marina and water. The unit had a balcony on both the east and west side. The staff was friendly and inviting. It's a nice place for a vacation. a nice vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just got back from a week in Newport staying at Newport Onshore. Timeshare exchange for us and stayed in the Northwind bldg. in a 2 bedroom unit. Unit is large and very clean. However, the furniture needs updating badly. Almost impossible to get comfortable in the living room. One couch and two straight back chairs----really?----for a guest to spend 7 nights. TV's are old and didn't get many channels. Bed comfy.

There is construction currently on both sides of the resort. We had the view of the crane. Asked to be switched but could not. The dock crew was friendly anyways. This is not the fault of Onshore---just the way it is there right now.

Staff was courteous. This place has a fabulous location on Thames St. and could be so much more with the updates. Come on Wyndham, this place is tired.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

New Port Road Island Newport Onshore
We decided to take a drive north through several states to see the fall foliage. New Port Road Island was our last stop before returning home. We stayed at the Wyndham Newport Onshore. The unit we stayed in was an older unit and not well maintained, although it was comfortable, clean and provided a place to spend the two nights. It had a beautiful view of the water from the balcony and windows. We knew based on our research what to expect therefore we were not disappointed. We arrived late at night and checked in with no problems.
We took a bus tour of New Port to get an ideal of the layout of the city. We upgraded our bus tour to an option to get off of the bus and tour two of the Newport Mansions. After each tour the bus picked us up to continue the tour. The next day we drove around New Port and visited some of the surrounding towns.
There are so many nice restaurants to visit, within walking distance or if you have a car within a short driving distance. We were given a recommendation where to find a good seafood by someone we met on the bus tour. We were advised to go to Anthony's Seafood. This was one of the worst meals I have had the salmon was poorly cooked the broccoli was under cooked. We had breakfast at the IHOP restaurant and it was delicious and we had one of the best servers I have seen in some time
Newport is a great place to visit; there is so much to do. We were only there for two days and ran out of time before we exhausted things to do. We enjoyed our trip to Road Island and will return again, but we will stay in a different resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has be updated recently
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have stayed at this resort multiple times in 2 bedroom units in Westwind, Southwind and Northwind buildings. Most recent stay was in the Westwind building Unit 121 (1st floor above parking - nice views). Yes, Wyndham should commit to furnishing upgrades and replacing the old tv's with new flatscreens. However, the resort more than compensates for these shortcomings with fantastic views of the harbor and the bridge, spacious units and well equipped kitchens if you want to cook in (but don't miss some of the reasonably priced dining spots such as Sardella's, Yesterday's and Diego's). If you need quick take out for the kids, there's a nice pizza/italian place called Via Via just across from the entrance.

Staff has always been friendly and helpful and your first fireplace log is on the house! Hopefully they will reinstate the chocolate chip cookies upon check-in...it used to be a nice touch upon arrival.

It is located within easy walking distance of all the downtown shopping spots and the Newport Yachting Center where they hold Annual Chowder fests, Octoberfests, etc.. There's always something going on in Newport! It's truly a 4 season area. We have been to all Wydham's Newport resorts and only Newport Onshore can be counted on for consistency in service and facilities. We think it is the best of their 5 properties. Hopefully we haven't let the cat out of the bag and will still have lots of opportunities to return :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great location. Clean rooms. Furniture has seen better days. Views are nice. Master bedroom/bath too small. Not one of Windham's best properties. Free wi-fi. Kitchen well outfitted and spacious. No problem parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence,RI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am a Rhode Islander who enjoys visiting Newport and staying at the Wyndham Onshore with my left over timeshare points during the off season. The units have two balconies on opposite sides. One with water views facing docks and/or Newport Bridge. The other faces Thames St. With its many shops, restaurants and Churches; namely a Greek Orthodox Church, and St. Mary’s where Jacqueline Kennedy was married. The Onshore have a pleasant well informed staff. The beds are very comfortable and the sheets actually fit the bed, unlike other Wyndham properties. Kitchen is well stocked with many utensils for preparing meals including a plastic jug for storing unused coffee for iced coffee later on. They are presently renovating property and I hope they hire a practical interior decorator. The guest bath has a large shower with two showerheads but no place to hold shampoo, soap or wash cloth resulting in very wet floor when you reach out for these items. The height of Jacuzzi tub in master bath is too high for elderly or short people to use. The broom closet in living room is blocked by sofa (to give guest a water view while seated on it!?). There are over 20 doors in this unit which make it ideal for kids to play hide and seek but some of them block other door from opening etc. Just make sure the children don’t go out the Fire Exit in your unit. They might panic when they can’t get back in but you and everyone in the building will hear them crying since it is an echo chamber.

Room Tip: The West and East Wind units have good views but you can't see the Newport Bridge from East Wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Newport Onshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Newport Onshore

Address: 405 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Newport Onshore 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Newport Onshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newport Onshore Hotel Newport
Newport Onshore
Newport Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Newport Onshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.