We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms beat up.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Newport Onshore

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Newport Onshore to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Newport Onshore
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Newport
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Rooms beat up.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great location. Clean rooms. Furniture has seen better days. Views are nice. Master bedroom/bath too small. Not one of Windham's best properties. Free wi-fi. Kitchen well outfitted and spacious. No problem parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Providence,RI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am a Rhode Islander who enjoys visiting Newport and staying at the Wyndham Onshore with my left over timeshare points during the off season. The units have two balconies on opposite sides. One with water views facing docks and/or Newport Bridge. The other faces Thames St. With its many shops, restaurants and Churches; namely a Greek Orthodox Church, and St. Mary’s where Jacqueline Kennedy was married. The Onshore have a pleasant well informed staff. The beds are very comfortable and the sheets actually fit the bed, unlike other Wyndham properties. Kitchen is well stocked with many utensils for preparing meals including a plastic jug for storing unused coffee for iced coffee later on. They are presently renovating property and I hope they hire a practical interior decorator. The guest bath has a large shower with two showerheads but no place to hold shampoo, soap or wash cloth resulting in very wet floor when you reach out for these items. The height of Jacuzzi tub in master bath is too high for elderly or short people to use. The broom closet in living room is blocked by sofa (to give guest a water view while seated on it!?). There are over 20 doors in this unit which make it ideal for kids to play hide and seek but some of them block other door from opening etc. Just make sure the children don’t go out the Fire Exit in your unit. They might panic when they can’t get back in but you and everyone in the building will hear them crying since it is an echo chamber.

Room Tip: The West and East Wind units have good views but you can't see the Newport Bridge from East Wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recently visited Newport RI and stayed at Newport Onshore. Stayed in a single Bedroom unit, Unit was spacious and clean. Kitchen had all necessary items for staying in and cooking. while our unit it was just across from the pool and sauna we didnot use them. The unit did needed some updating, but all in all very nice.

Room Tip: We were in the Northwind building, very nice and not sure there would be a bad room in the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I flew back east from Hawaii to visit my 85 year old mother. I decided we should have a seaside vacation so she could get out of her senior housing apartment and spend some time by the ocean. I checked many ocean and seashore facilities before settling on Wyndham Newport Onshore! And we were not disappointed. From the eastern porch for sunrise breakfasts and brunches to the western porch for afternoon lounging and sunset suppers, it was perfect. My mom can only get around with a walker nowadays so sitting in our condo she was able to watch the boats, the sky, and do some serious people watching that kept her entertained all day.
This place is fantastic location for walking downtown Newport for exercise and shopping, a great place to take off from to see the mansions and do the 10 mile scenic Ocean Drive.

Room Tip: We chose as close to the ocean/Narrangansett Bay as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

So the great thing about Wyndham is the location, ESPECIALLY if you have a car. Yes, I know this sounds counterintuitive so let me explain. Almost everything one might want to do during the day in Newport, away from Thames St., will have parking available for free. However, parking on or around Thames St. can be a challenge or cost a good sum of money and you will likely want to visit Thames St. for dinner/drinks at least one night, if not multiple nights of your visit. The Wyndham is within walking distance of the resturants and shops on Thames St. so it was great to just come back to the hotel, park and walk to dinner (or wherever). Also, you self park at Wyndham, which I prefer, because hotels with off site garages and valet parking can be a hassle and time-consuming if you plan on coming and going. The Wyndham does have some double parking spots, for which you have to leave your keys with the front desk, but if you are visiting during a less busy time you shouldn't have to worry about this (I didn't).

Ok but what about the hotel, right? Well, the staff was friendly and the room was clean but you don't want to stay here if you want/expect plush accomodations. The hotel is dated as other reviewers have mentioned. The beds are also hard as a rock which is a big negative for me since I have a bad back. I think we might have been charged extra for asking for extra towell's our second day. They do not replenish any of your supplies. Overall, this wasn't the most comfortable of accomodations but I think the location made up for any inconvenience had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Recently stayed at the Newport Onshore and was very impressed with its convenient location, which is at the top of Thames Street making it easy walking disctance to all of the Wharfs, shopping, nightlife and restaurants. Gated parking was onsite, access to the buildings and pool area were via passkey. The front office staff were very friendly and helpful with plenty of useful information. The unit was well equiped with two bedrooms at opposite ends each containing a full bath with one containing a washer/dryer, a living and dining area, full kitchen and two decks at opposite ends, one overlooking the pool area, the other overlooking the harbor from which we enjoyed the beautiful Newport sunsets. The kitchen contained a full sized fridgerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster as well as dishes and everything needed for meal prep. The only negative items were the living room furniture was very dated and uncomfortable and the elevator which is positioned very close to one of the bedrooms was very loud. Once an investment is made in updating the furnishings in the units, this will be a spectacular place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The resort is locate right at downtown, ideal for a walk at night and return to the hotel (parking is not easy to find).
The TV need an update and the WiFi is a little slow.
Could not use face time with my iPad.
Other wise, we have a nice view at the marina from the balcony.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Newport Onshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Newport Onshore

Address: 405 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Newport Onshore 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Newport Onshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newport Onshore Hotel Newport
Newport Onshore
Newport Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Newport Onshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;