We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well locate, need updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Newport Onshore

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Newport Onshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Newport Onshore
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Newport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well locate, need updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The resort is locate right at downtown, ideal for a walk at night and return to the hotel (parking is not easy to find).
The TV need an update and the WiFi is a little slow.
Could not use face time with my iPad.
Other wise, we have a nice view at the marina from the balcony.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It's not uncommon for hotels and timeshares to show small signs of deferred maintenance. Sometimes the furniture looks a bit dated, or a bathroom floor tile is cracked and has yet to be replaced. The best hotels vigilantly stay on top of every detail, giving a property a perpetual freshness in spite of non-stop use by an endless parade of guests. The worst? Well, they don't bother to stay on top of much of anything. Unfortunately, the Wyndham Newport Onshore falls into the latter category. Here is my report based on my family's recent five-day stay.

First, the good:

Location, location, location. When vacationing in Newport, much is gained from staying close to, but not directly on, Thames Street, the main tourist drag. Situated on lower Thames within walking distance of innumerable restaurants and shops, the Wyndham Newport Onshore is almost perfectly placed. Because it is set back from the street, vacationers are spared the noise of nighttime carousers, and those in the better rooms have harbor views (we were not so lucky). The location is so good that the property appears to be fully booked, or nearly so, throughout the warm months, despite its poor condition.

The not-so-good:

We booked our stay in part due to several reviews on TripAdvisor attesting to the property's cleanliness. In fact, the place is far from clean. When we arrived, we entered our building through a glass-enclosed lobby. In the lobby—at prime check-in time—was a full, tied-up bag of trash. The temperature was at least 100 degrees in the small lobby, and the stench was almost unbearable. My five-year-old nearly vomited from the odor, and we all had to hold our noses while loading our things into the elevator. We reported the problem to management. But to our surprise and disappointment, this was not an isolated oversight. Apparently tying up the trash and just leaving it in the lobby for some (much) later pickup each day is the routine. We were greeted with more full trash bags and more stench on each successive day. Not a good first impression, to say the least.

The room was also very disappointing. A musty, moldy smell led to the two bathrooms, which both contained considerable mildew, both on the shower curtains and in the tubs themselves. The bathroom fixtures are outdated, and there were big, random mounting pieces still attached to the wall from fixtures past. This gave the master bath especially an "under construction" look.

The furniture appears to have been in constant use since the Reagan administration. The mattresses are floppy from springs that probably exceeded their recommended lifespan during the Clinton years. Comforters and sheets on the beds, though clean, looked ancient. The nightstands have been there so long without attention that there are rings worn into the finish from thousands of bedside drinks.

The living room furniture was equally dated and depressing. One of the chairs had an ugly stain on the armrest. The sofa bed was so far gone that my wife was nearly swallowed up when she tried to sit on it. That left us with one somewhat clean and not-so-comfortable chair.

My wife used the in-suite washing machine for a load of laundry. But when it was time to switch the load to the dryer she discovered that the dryer was full of mold and had a mysterious goo in it from something melted. It was unusable, and we had to waste precious vacation time, and money, taking our (now soaking wet) laundry to a local laundromat.

The kitchen was well-stocked with clean kitchenware. This would have been nice had we used it, but we did not want to cook on our vacation.

When we arrived, we were informed that because we were staying for five days—and not a full week—that there would be no housekeeping whatsoever, and no clean towels provided. When we protested—after all, we were a party of five with two small children staying in one suite—the desk attendant did provide some clean towels.

The bottom line:

As a frequent traveler, I am perplexed by Wyndham's lack of attention to this property. Management obviously has decided to pinch pennies while letting the resort fall into disrepair. "People will still come for the location," they might reason. And they would be right. But this is a short-sighted strategy that tarnishes the brand name. This was my family's first stay in a Wyndham property. After this experience, we could not be convinced to repeat our mistake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a special family birthday and reserved two,two bedroom suites. for a four day period. Overall,we had a wonderful family bonding experience and spent much time at the facility and the surrounding points of interest. The suites were large and with more than adequate room and views were spectacular. and rates were reasonable .Our first impression of the facility was negative( but did change) because of the unattractive dark exterior ,poor condition of the outside porches(splinters),dark interiors with limited lighting and outdated TV sets. We had a problem with a bathroom tile floor which was extremely warm/hot which was reported but not corrected by the end of our stay.
However and in spite of our concerns we enjoyed the stay and would return ,hopefully to some updating as was done to the attractive office area .The staff could not have more cordial and helpful which more than offset our concerns.
Since it is a time share ,there is no daily room service for short stays but we arranged for limited room service for a very reasonable fee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have been staying here for the past 10 years. It is a great location. We have stayed in each of the buildings. Some have better views than others. But the location is great no matter what.
If you visit the lobby you can see their plans to renovate this year and next. I can't wait to see the final product. Very exciting. Westwind has probably the best views. And there are very few 3 bedroom units. If you can get one you are lucky, very spacious. Cheers!

Room Tip: Best views are Westwind or top floors in the other buildings. Eastwind has a corner with no view, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family of four just returned from a week at this resort. The location is great, the unit itself was spacious and well stocked, the view was amazing..... The reason I am giving the resort a poor rating was the smell and mold in the lobby, elevator and hallway. Initially, we joked about how we had to hold our breath to get to our third floor room. As the week went on my asthma started flairing up and the medications I had with me were not touching it. By the end of the week we raced home and went to an urgent care. I needed IV meds to get under control. IF ANY FAMILY MEMBER HAS ASTHMA DO NOT STAY HERE. The physician who saw me at Urgent Care said to never stay there again and advised me to call the resort. Also, please note that the beaches at Newport all have redtide and we had to travel to Narragansett for beach time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Went to Newport Onshore for a girls weekend. Chose the Onshore because everyone would have their own bed, two bathrooms and the location was priceless. Check in was great and our room was fabulous. The actual room was in need of an update but the view from the room was to die for. We had a completely private balcony overlooking the water and another balcony in the front of the unit. All of the activities on Thames Street were within easy walking distance.
This property could easily charge a lot more money if it were updated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence,RI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Newport Onshore Review
The Wyndham Newport Onshore is in a good location with ample parking for guest. Many Thames St. restaurants and shops within walking distance. Also easy access to road towards Mansions, Cliff Walk, Ocean Drive, Newport Grand and nearby Playhouse in addition to Middletown for change of scenery. There are two balconies with wonderful view of Newport harbor etc.
The Onshore has the tightest dining area due to Emergency Fire Exit/stairwell in the room and the dirtiest laundry closet of any timeshare I’ve been to. Upon arrival, I noticed mold on the two shower curtains which were promptly replaced upon complaint. I wish I could’ve had the mirrored wall removed from the tub area too. The front desk staff are some of the friendliest and most knowledgeable of their area I’ve met. I appreciated their knowledge and enthusiasm recommending nearby restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Westwind building have excellent views from both balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Newport Onshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Newport Onshore

Address: 405 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Newport Onshore 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wyndham Newport Onshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newport Onshore Hotel Newport
Newport Onshore
Newport Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Newport Onshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.