We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And what's so cool about that?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bowen's Wharf

Bowen's Wharf
13 Bowen's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401-849-2243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 102 things to do in Newport
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Newport's premiere year-round destination! Brick walks, granite quays, and 18th century commercial wharf buildings bring you back to Bowen's beginnings as a thriving seaport in one of the finest natural harbors in New England. Trading with all corners of the world, then and now, Bowen's Wharf is central to the city's commerce and culture. Bowen's Wharf: The Anchor of the Newport Waterfront!
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“And what's so cool about that?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

So it's Newport. So it's party time. It's just not that good.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Plenty of sites, eats, and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Bowen's Wharf is the hub of evening activity during the summer in Newport. Check out any of the restaurants located there...you won't be dissappointed. On a nice day, pull up a stool at one of the several outdoor bars and watch the evening crowd pass by.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern MD
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fun, Food, Close By, and Great Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We could have shopped all day-- ok, actually , I could have shopped while my husband enjoyed watching the boaters and the tourists. The two restaurants we hit (Pearl something or other and 22 Bowen, or 6 Bowen, or something like that) were amazing. Black Pearl? Chowder was the best I've ever had. The Bowen Restaurant was an excellent value for their Wednesday Prix fix menu. A destination all it's own amki the Newport destination. We want to hit their Autumn seafood festival!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“The Wharf is Very Entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Bowen's Wharf is right on a busy street in Newport and there's a lot going on in this area. It's very busy and lots of traffic and finding a place to park isn't easy but the area is worth the effort. We parked across the street from the wharf and had not read anything about it and no idea what to expect.

It's an outdoor shopping area and marina with some quaint little shops, and a place to take some boat tours. There's nice restaurants to casual eateries, some outdoor bars even one called the Dog Bar where you can take your dog! It's just a fun place to go and stroll around and it appears to be very popular.

I wouldn't recommend wearing high heels even if going to a nice dinner here. There are a lot of cobblestone walkways that are bumpy and uneven and I saw a few ladies that looked out of place in heels and they were struggling. It's a fairly casual place no matter where you're eating. We ate at 22 Bowen's which is a nice restaurant so not too casual there but you don't really have to dress up either. They say business casual for attire.

You can catch a pedi cab from here to. I highly recommend visiting the wharf while in Newport, it's a lot of fun especially during nice weather. Hope you will enjoy the pictures!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Must when visiting Newport!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Shops restaurants and alot of activity on Bowens Wharf day and night....In Newport alot and it is really a must see....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowen's Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Bowen's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowen's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.