We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very romantic....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chanler at Cliff Walk to your Saves list
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Newport
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very romantic....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at The Chanler on our recent trip to Newport. The hotel was beautiful and the staff very friendly. After spending a few night`s at The Four Seasons in Boston, The Chanler fell short on luxury hotels and service. We were celebrating our anniversary as we indicated when we made the reservation. We didn't expect anything additional but after staying at the Four Seasons, where they upgraded our room and sent champagne and strawberries up the first night, we realize in this economy..it's the little extras that make a difference.

Our service was great. The staff very friendly, but somewhat sparse. They automatically respond with "we will take care of that immediately" but often don't. We had to haul our own luggage down 3 flights of stairs as no one ever came to the room to retrieve it. In addition, the restaurant, The Spiced Pear, is not worth the cost.

Nice place...would definitely explore other luxury hotels in the area next tine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    41
    16
    13
    14
See reviews for
30
235
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

what a gem! the hotel was everything we wanted- charming, romantic and luxurious.
the staff was extremely friendly and helped us get a reservation at the 11th hour.
we stayed in a room close to the water with an outdoor entrance (no need to cut thru the lobby to get to this room)- highly recommend upgrading to a room with an outdoor jacuzzi located in it's own gazebo.

hotel restaurant had really good food (the burger is a MUST)....but i would stay away from the .25 cent martini's.

overall fantastic experience!

Kimberly
New York, New York

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I am a picky traveler. Our stay was wonderful. The service was great. The food amazing. The staff very friendly. The room over the top. The view was beautiful Who are these people that complained so much? Always unhappy, I suspect. I really did not want to leave our room or our spa. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would not hesitate to return for another visit. Priced appropriately.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at this outstanding hotel last weekend. We went to Newport to celebrate my birthday. I could not have asked for a better birthday gift! This hotel is just gorgeous. Service was excellent from the valet parking, to the front desk, to the wait staff.

We stayed in the Williamsburg room. It has a private spa tub, radiant floors in the bathroom, a huge two person shower and a fabulous bed. The location of the hotel for us was wonderful. We had dinner at the Spiced Pear and the views from the dining room are hard to beat. Breakfast again the next morning was a perfect way to start the day.

If you are looking for a special romantic getaway then look no further. This hotel is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed at the Chandler for two nights and found it to be an absolutely beautiful hotel. The room decor was beautiful and we found the service to be amazing. The location was good as it was away from the hustle and bustle of the town. However, we found that the other guests were a bit pretentious and almost ruined the atmosphere. We ended up spending as much time out of the hotel as possible or just stayed in our room. It's too bad because the Chanler has beautiful common rooms.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed here Friday, 4/24, to Saturday, 4/25, to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Victorian room. I was able to book the rate of $246 ($278 with tax) using the code WISH (I think now has expired). The place is just gorgeous. When we checked in at 3 pm, we were offered a glass of their Spiced Pear parkling wine that was wonderful. We were then escorted up to our room and shown how to work the amenities (gas fireplace, multiple shower heads, bathroom floor heating). The bed was very comfortable, and I really enjoyed the jacuzzi tub for two. I was even able to watch TV while in the tub. I never wanted to leave the bathroom! The room offered views of the front lawn and side views of the lawn and ocean. After dinner, we arrived back to truffles and our bed turned down. They also cleaned our room.

We ate dinner at the Spiced Pear -- $23 Friday night jazz 3 course meal (only served 5-6 pm). I would highly recommend this menu. I had the roasted chicken and my husband had the pork chops - both were awesome. The other option was pasta (only 3 meal choices are given). We added the wine pairing for an additional $15. We did have to ask for the special menu after being given their regular menu. The Friday jazz night seems to be popular as the bar area was full of people after we finished dinner. The breakfast, also in the Spiced Pear, was also great. I had the french toast and my husband had an omlette. The restaurant overlooks the beach, and the bar is gorgeous. I would highly recommend this place. Next time we visit, I think we'll splurge for a larger room facing the ocean as we really enjoyed spending time in the beautiful room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I love the Chanler. If you are looking to do something special with your spouse or partner this is the place. The view is amazing the rooms are all done in a different theme and are beautiful. Our bathroom had radiant floors and two person tub and shower. We did a tasting menu in their privated dining room off the main dining room. We had our own server who took care of us and the food was incredible. We also did breakfast both mornings and it was good. There are other great places around to eat forbreakfast or brunch. We loved having our own hottub and enjoyed sitting out there with a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chanler at Cliff Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.