We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Chanler at Cliff Walk to your Saves list
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Royal Treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Recently had a weekend getaway to Newport and was lucky enough to book a room at the Chanler. My husband and I stayed in the Louis XVI room which was beautifully furnished and afforded us a spectacular waterfront view. The grounds are perfectly maintained and the service was exceptional...the staff were welcoming, warm and friendly and always eager to be of service. The hotel provided car service for our trips downtown at any hour. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch on the patio...food was excellent. If I were to mention any disappointment about our stay it is that sadly the dining room was booked and we could not sample the offered dinner items! However the overall experience overshadowed this minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    43
    20
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
257
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Perfection. Beautifully decorated individual rooms--some with fireplaces and terraces-- heated tile bathroom floors and large soaking tubs; slippers, robes and luxury linens; flat screen televisions etc. Ideal setting at the beginning of the Cliff Walk overlooking the water with a terrace restaurant/bar. Responsive and accommodating concierge service and a luxury car service into town at your whim--to and from the hotel. Near the beaches, mansions and minutes to town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at The Chanler. Absolutely beautiful 30 room mansion with breathtaking views of the ocean. Stayed in the Briar Rose cottage. Very private courtyard with hot tub, fountain and plenty of furniture to sit and enjoy the quiet. Had dinner at the Spiced Pear which was delicious. As stated by another reviewer staff is young but beyond capable. Will return to The Chanler on our next trip to Newport!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross River, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had three glorious nights at The Chanler. The Ocean sets a perfect backdrop to this magnificent hotel; our room, complete with private hot tub and sauna was perfection. The staff could not have been more professional and attentive. Treat yourself and go!

Room Tip: We loved the Block Island Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Chanler spoiled us rotten. You can't beat that complimentary car service. Charles, Adam, Steve and all of the valets and chauffeurs were incredibly friendly and helpful, as were the front desk staff, Halie and Katie.

A few thoughts off the top of my mind:
- I might have been the only guest excited over the DVD library--quaint touch.
- They have a fun little fire pit to make s'mores. It's the closest to camping I'll ever get.
- Cliff Walk is located directly in front of the Chanler and made for a convenient walking day. And when my husband's injured knee couldn't take it anymore, we simply called The Chanler to come pick us up at one of the Bellevue mansions.
- The ocean villas like the Nantucket one we stayed in have a private sauna and hot tub!
- The experience and amenities make it worth the price.

The only area of improvement would be to expand the room service menu to provide more options. Sometimes we didn't want to leave our room for the entire day, and wanted to order things like chicken fingers and pancakes and whatnot. They did put together a fruit plate for us though, something we didn't see on the room service menu, so it was impressive they were able to accommodate special requests, and we were able to get pizza delivered to the room.

Overall, The Chanler is a grand place to pretend you're one of the Newport blue bloods for a few days :)

Room Tip: Nantucket Room had luxurious amenities with a private hot tub and sauna, and an unobstructed view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a wonderful time at The Chanler. We stayed for a special anniversary from June 19-23rd. Our stay was absolutely perfect (including the weather). Stayed in the Colonial room is ground level which is accessed from an outside patio that overlooks the Chanler cliff lawn. The patio has some chairs tables for sitting out with a view of the water as well. On our first night we ate at the spiced pear. Food was delicious, highly recommend the wild salmon. We had the breakfast package (also recommend!) so our stay included breakfast which was also very delicious. The view from breakfast outside was beautiful, you really are in luxury. We enjoyed the perks of the free car service to and from town – thanks to all of our drives especially Kevin and Adam who were very personable and gave us lots of suggestions without even asking. Actually all of the staff (although young) were experts and very professional - do not let their youth fool you, they were wonderful and made our experience even better. Cheers to whoever trained them as they were better staff twice their age and this included all of them, driver, waiters, waitresses etc..Enjoyed the free marshmellows and fire pit at night and just taking in the view everyday. Our room was small but lovely and the bathroom was large with a great shower with many jets. Had such a great experience we were talking about booking another stay next year, same time!
Some other recommendations, the restaurant “The Mooring” although make reservations, have lunch at Flo’s Clam shack over – great lobster rolls (walking distance) in Atlantic beach, try Newport Creamery’s milkshakes called “the Awful Awful”, must sees are The Breakers, Marble house, take a sail around the harbor, have a lemon ice, drive on Ocean drive (think that’s the name) and relax and enjoy all Newport has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in the resort May 31, 2014 for 3 nights & thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We opted to stay each night in a different room & enjoyed all of them. Our favorite though was the Ocean Villa called Martha's Vineyard. The view is wonderful, as is the outdoor private hot tub & sauna. Our breakfasts were delicious each morning - make sure you try the french toast & pancakes!! The service was outstanding throughout our stay…Julie, Haley & Laura were spectacular, as were the drivers Christopher, Robert & Adam!! It's rare to find an entire staff that is not only so well trained but genuinely warm & welcoming. We greatly appreciated how they each went out of their way to make this a perfect vacation for us!!

Room Tip: If your pocketbook will allow..go for one of the ocean villas..you can't go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chanler at Cliff Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.