We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Seaside Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Chanler at Cliff Walk to your Saves list
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Seaside Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Chanler 3 times and will be returning as many times as I can! First time I stayed in their signature room, second time in the Peonies and Ivy Garden Villa and most recently in the Martha's Vineyard Ocean Villa (which was by far my favorite). Each room is so unique and tasteful you really feel you are in one of the famed Newport Mansions. Check In is personal and attentive with a glass of Champagne offered. Someone walks you to your room and shows you around and usually they have a welcome amenity, Voss Water and Keurig Coffee. The most wonderful part of the Ocean Villa is the outdoor two level deck with a private hot tub and sauna with robes and plenty of privacy. You have your own small courtyard with flowers and a fountain. I cannot say enough about this hotel. I love it. I will note that the rates are high but we did stay once off-season and booked through Jet-Setter and the rate was VERY reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    42
    17
    13
    14
See reviews for
31
242
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

What a great experience--sparking champagne on arrival, attentive staff the whole time, clean, comfortable and amazing views and amenities. We stayed in the Nantucket Villa with private entrance, garden, jacuzzi and sauna. Our room had a balcony over looking the cliff walk and Easton beach. The bed was comfy and the room cozy with fireplace but the bathroom was amazing with dual headed showers--5, heated floor tile and jacuzzi bathtub. We had lunch at check out at spiced pear and are hanging on the lawn on adironak chairs looking at ocean and not wanting to leave

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

As all the other reviews include, this is a beautiful property with a great location. The hotel is run by very young adults who have not been trained in 5star service. The valet, was usually not there.
The front desk attendant was usually not there and very vague about the amenities of the hotel. she basically hands you a key. There is no real concierge service. I called on the phone hoping to find someone and it was just a recording. At check out they took the key and said would you like a copy of your bill? Of course we do! It is standard practice at all hotels. Our dinner was lovely but we were unable to get our desired location though on the phone they implied it would not be a problem. We had a very nice stay due to the beautiful location and weather, and because we didn't really need much from them. However for rooms from $800-$1,200. a night the service was not good. Also there was a wedding there, which I think they should tell you about when booking your stay. It is such a small hotel, and you were not allowed on the lawn during the wedding or on the terrace during the reception. Music until 10pm, which I didn't mind but I don't know if everyone would like it.

Room Tip: The ocean villas are small but stunning. Very private outdoor space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent two days at the Chanler whilst exploring Newport - you really couldn't ask for a better location - situation overlooking the bay and the beginning of the famous Cliff Walk. We staying in the English Trellis suite - one of the garden villas. The room was beautiful, there wasn't a huge amount of floor space but honestly that wasn't a huge issue. The bathroom was spectacular and we even had our own decking and hot tub to relax in.

My father had the Colonial room which overlooked the bay and the beautiful deck where we had our before dinner cocktails - such a spectacular view!

Housekeeping attend the room twice a day I think, so it was always super clean and with ever visit they left chocolates and little notes which was a lovely touch. The reception staff were really helpful too whether organising our laundry, booking dinner reservations at local restaurants or helping fax off important documents. The only reason i chose not to give a five star for the service was the breakfast team - which really let the image of the hotel down - the service was extremely slow and the servers didn't listen properly leading to order mix-ups and frustrations as we were on a tight schedule to leave on our final morning.

Other touches such as the complimentary car service that took us to dinner each evening was much appreciated. I think staying here complimented our day trips to the Newport Mansions perfectly, it helped us paint a picture to what old Newport must have been like. Wonderful visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Chandler located in the famous scenic Cliff Walk is a beautiful reincarnation of the property. It's design is perfect for the time period The Mansions were built on the Cliff Walk. The property is very well groomed and maintained. Staying at The Chandler you can begin your walk down the Cliff Walk. The view from the hotel is picturesque and that is why many weddings take place here. All the rooms are individually designed and have a uniqueness. The restaurant, lounge and outdoor terrace make a great place for breakfast, lunch, dinner or cocktails. The food is all very good, a good wine list which makes a romantic getaway.

You can also count on having quiet time here as it is away from the hustle of the center of Newport. It is definitely not a place for young families.

The location is five star, the property is five star, the food and wine are four and half star, the service is four star, the historical valve is five star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were in newport for the weekend and saw an advertisement from the chandler hotel restaurant advertising a 10 year anniversary special alluding to a special cocktail and appetizer menu for dining on the terrace. Don't get fooled into thinking there will be $10 cocktails or appetizers. The cocktails came in a small glass with lots of ice at $15 to $17 each. The cheese plate was $18 and included all of 6 crackers. While the view is nice you can't justify the cost. We have stayed at the hotel and enjoyed it but I'd pass on cocktails at this place. Too many better alternatives.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a hotel that is very conscious of its reputation - bragging rights seem quite important; it always made us smile. But there is a practical advantage to this reputation - you will enjoy great service all over the region when you stay at The Chanler.

Aside from the value of the reputation, the hotel itself is quite nice and of course, the location is perfect. We stayed several days in the French Provincial room and enjoyed its view, the jacuzzi bath for two under a window that overlooks the beach, and its lovely textiles and bar.

The food is excellent, and the big outdoor eating area is a joy each morning. The service was incredibly gracious from front desk to restaurant to drivers to room staff - we made a personal connection with at least one person in each of those roles. There is sufficient volume of staff to meet your every need or whim.

Each room is unique and this old mansion has its quirks. There is no elevator. The least expensive rooms are quite small and still very expensive. There is no library or sitting room with big comfy reading chairs or couches. There is one leather sofa at the entrance of the restaurant where a guest can sit, but it's too public and exposed to curl up with a book. The small entrance room is not really set up for reading either. I would suggest moving that lovely plush leather sofa from the entrance of the restaurant to the ground level room that currently houses a conference table and turn it into a library/sitting room for guests.

This hotel is an ideal starting and ending point each day - from here, you walk out the door to begin the Cliff Walk or turn the other way to the beach, or turn yet another direction to the shops and Tennis Hall of Fame.

The kitchen is sensitive to gluten free diets. Nothing is too much to ask. The grounds and gardens are both welcoming and manicured perfectly each day. What's not to like? We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chanler at Cliff Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.