We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and hospitality at its finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Chanler at Cliff Walk to your Saves list
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Holly
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxation and hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Chanler will now be added to our top list of properties to visit when a trip to New England is in order. After a recent 4 day weekend there to celebrate our wedding anniversary, my wife and I could not be more pleased with the accommodations, the staff, the service and the setting and we intend to return to this very special place.

Stately and refined, the Chanler earns its stripes and reputation for the best of old world hospitality with modern-day amenities such as wifi service in each of its guestrooms. Our room featured a private garden with a fantastic hot tub which was visited each evening of our stay. The setting provided for a much needed respite and long-overdue vacation. We are still basking in the afterglow of a truly wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: The private garden and hot tub more than made up for a room on the side of the mansion (Briar Rose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    44
    22
    13
    15
See reviews for
37
270
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We recently spent 3 days at the Chanler . It truly gave you a sense of what it must have been like growing up in a privileged society in Newport. The hotel is the perfect location to enjoy Cliff walk. It is a few steps away from the back porch. The lovely gardens are perfect for sitting in the afternoon sun watching the ocean and enjoying a cocktail. The weather was perfect and so were the amenities at the hotel. The bar and bartender were spot on . The meals at dinner and breakfast were delicious and filling and quite different. The personal tour of the kitchen by the chef was a treat. It was late in the evening and our night cap at the bar enabled us to meet the chef and get a personal tour of how the kitchen runs. Having a car and driver available every day to get to town is a nice touch.
The only downside was the room. We stayed in the "gothic room". After reading about gothic architecture, it could have been decorated different. It was very dark and somewhat "cold" in feel. It was a huge room with allowed you to move around. But, the tub was in the far end of the room and I wonder how many times it really gets used. And to reach the toilet in the middle of the night is a little shaky as you have to descend down three steps in the dark. It did have a lot of amenities though with robes and a great shower and treats every day. The room could have been down in lighter shades for warmth and still maintained its character . we hope to have a different room next time we visit. What a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: I don't believe pool or fitness were available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I don't give a one-star rating lightly, but unfortunately I cannot give The Chanler anything else. After a lovely three day, two night stay I returned home. The next morning I awoke with a rash that quickly covered my body. I went to my doctor and, after informing him of my activities that week, I was diagnosed with having contracted a bacterial infection from the private hot tub in our room (#16 Peonies & Ivy.)

I immediately contacted The Chanler to inform them of what happened to ensure other guests would not experience the same problem. I requested to speak to the manager on duty. My call was sent to a voice mail. This was a Saturday, and by Monday afternoon I had not heard anything back. I called again and this time spoke to a manager who was apologetic that no one had contacted me. She said she needed to speak with the General Manager and would be in touch. It's Thursday evening and I have yet to hear anything back. The Chanler has failed to acknowledge or apologize for the discomfort I've experienced as a result of my stay. This is why I have to flunk them - a true test of customer service comes when there is a problem, and The Chanler provided absolutely zero service on this matter. I would not stay here again because of it.

If you do stay here, I advise you to avoid the rooms with private hot tubs. If you do decide to risk it, be sure the water smells like chlorine - ours did not (not even faintly.)

Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay. The room was beautiful with a luxurious bathroom, comfortable bed, fireplace, private patio, private garden, as well as the private hot tub (which was initially one of the amenities that attracted me.) Breakfast, which was included in our stay, was delicious. The first morning we ate in the restaurant and got to choose from a variety of entrees. The second day we opted to have a continental breakfast served in our room. We ordered tea and only received hot water - no tea bags. A staff member did bring tea bags after I called, but by the time it was steeped the tea was luke warm.

The restaurant was a foodie's dream come true. We dined there for lunch as well as dinner, and even ate at the Chef's Table one night. Treat yourself and get the tasting menu - the culinary experience is well worth it. The food and staff were absolutely excellent.

Overall, and sadly, I cannot recommend The Chanler due to the lack of customer service. The were happy to collect my money, but were unapologetic about the bacterial infection I contracted in the hot tub. While I wouldn't ever stay there again, I would definitely return to dine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recently I spent two nights with my husband at the Chanler at Cliff Walk to celebrate his birthday. It couldn't have been more wonderful! The place is beautifully restored and decorated. We had an ocean view from the jacuzzi in our bathroom. The room had a gas stove and a canopy bed. Everything throughout the hotel is immaculate! One of the high points of our stay was to book a private dinner. We had a scrumptious 8 course meal prepared by the chef at their Spiced Pear restaurant in our own wood paneled dining room. They even supplied roses for us to take home. It was expensive but we felt that it was definitely well worth the money. The staff is so well trained. We felt very pampered and hated to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is our third year at the Chanler and something gets better with each stay. The breakfast, dinner and bar are all top notch. The accommodations; we get an ocean view outside suite feels like home; the proximibity to Cliff Walk and all Newport destinations is great! You need to be there!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This boutique hotel delivered all the wonderful things you expect from a specialty hotel, but so much more. We were in the Mediterranean Room. As expected, the staff provided impeccable service, the room had the special amenities such as a wet bar with frig., TV/DVD in all the rooms, spotless cleanliness, beautiful furnishings, doorbell, BUT ALSO, they provided special touches like a heated floor in the bathroom, a 5 nozzle shower, champagne and cookies on arrival, closet lights that automatically turn on/off, separate A/C units in each room, and every possible lighting combination you could want. Worth the effort to try this place

Room Tip: The suites are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the 2nd time I stayed at The Chanler due to a fabulous deal on Sniqueaway.com. This is a mansion located at the beginning of Cliff Walk & nearby beach. So impressive to drive through the wrought iron gates & be greeted by a valet that has your name on a list waiting for you. Upon checking in you are poured a glass of sparkling wine to begin your visit. The rooms are all different & quite sumptuous. Beautiful decor, linens, bathroom & service. Bed is comfortable. This time we stayed in the Georgian Room which is located on the 3rd fl. There are no elevators so it was a bit difficult for us who are getting a bit older to climb those stairs even with the valet delivering our bags to our room. Personalized service by front desk associate who climbed the stairs with us to show us the rooms, all the different switches for lights, gas fireplace which also heats the room, tv in bedroom, tv in bathroom & this one had a jacuzzi tub as well as a walk in shower with multiple showerheads. Bottled water, 2 homemade cookies, & Keurig coffee are in the mini bar complimentary. Full breakfast next morning in the Spiced Pear Restaurant was perfect--Eggs Benedict with juice & coffee--all included in room cost. They also provide driver service to and from local destinations which is really nice service since it is difficult to find parking in Newport anywhere. In sum, the room and view were spectacular. You really can't go wrong staying here if you can. It is elegant, romantic & caters to the guests. NOTE: My only complaint would be that a wedding wasn't closed after 4 hours. It started at 4 pm & we could still hear guests at 12:30 am. We returned from dinner outside the hotel at 8 pm and some wedding guests in the lobby area, restaurant, outside & even on stairwells returning to rooms were drunk & loud. The hotel management may want to close down events after 4 hours and at least by 10:30 pm so hotel guests can get a restful nights sleep. It was difficult to enjoy listening to the ocean waves because of them & this is really not the place for loud guests.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the first floor that have a private entrance outside the hotel. There are no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#1 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#13 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chanler at Cliff Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.