We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chanler at Cliff Walk to your Saves list
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This is our third year at the Chanler and something gets better with each stay. The breakfast, dinner and bar are all top notch. The accommodations; we get an ocean view outside suite feels like home; the proximibity to Cliff Walk and all Newport destinations is great! You need to be there!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    41
    16
    13
    14
See reviews for
30
235
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This boutique hotel delivered all the wonderful things you expect from a specialty hotel, but so much more. We were in the Mediterranean Room. As expected, the staff provided impeccable service, the room had the special amenities such as a wet bar with frig., TV/DVD in all the rooms, spotless cleanliness, beautiful furnishings, doorbell, BUT ALSO, they provided special touches like a heated floor in the bathroom, a 5 nozzle shower, champagne and cookies on arrival, closet lights that automatically turn on/off, separate A/C units in each room, and every possible lighting combination you could want. Worth the effort to try this place

Room Tip: The suites are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the 2nd time I stayed at The Chanler due to a fabulous deal on Sniqueaway.com. This is a mansion located at the beginning of Cliff Walk & nearby beach. So impressive to drive through the wrought iron gates & be greeted by a valet that has your name on a list waiting for you. Upon checking in you are poured a glass of sparkling wine to begin your visit. The rooms are all different & quite sumptuous. Beautiful decor, linens, bathroom & service. Bed is comfortable. This time we stayed in the Georgian Room which is located on the 3rd fl. There are no elevators so it was a bit difficult for us who are getting a bit older to climb those stairs even with the valet delivering our bags to our room. Personalized service by front desk associate who climbed the stairs with us to show us the rooms, all the different switches for lights, gas fireplace which also heats the room, tv in bedroom, tv in bathroom & this one had a jacuzzi tub as well as a walk in shower with multiple showerheads. Bottled water, 2 homemade cookies, & Keurig coffee are in the mini bar complimentary. Full breakfast next morning in the Spiced Pear Restaurant was perfect--Eggs Benedict with juice & coffee--all included in room cost. They also provide driver service to and from local destinations which is really nice service since it is difficult to find parking in Newport anywhere. In sum, the room and view were spectacular. You really can't go wrong staying here if you can. It is elegant, romantic & caters to the guests. NOTE: My only complaint would be that a wedding wasn't closed after 4 hours. It started at 4 pm & we could still hear guests at 12:30 am. We returned from dinner outside the hotel at 8 pm and some wedding guests in the lobby area, restaurant, outside & even on stairwells returning to rooms were drunk & loud. The hotel management may want to close down events after 4 hours and at least by 10:30 pm so hotel guests can get a restful nights sleep. It was difficult to enjoy listening to the ocean waves because of them & this is really not the place for loud guests.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the first floor that have a private entrance outside the hotel. There are no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

When in Rome, as they say...When searching for a hotel in Newport, I kept thinking that it would be nice to absorb some local color, you know, old wealth circa 1900. A friend who lives a few towns away and has Thanksgiving dinner every year at The Chanler sent me the link. And how glad we were that she did! We sprang for the most expensive suite and it was worth every penny. The hotel was simply gorgeous, from the grounds, to the ocean cliff walk, to every amenity in our enormous room and deck. The staff could not have been more gracious and professional if they tried. And it's worth pointing out that our son got quite sick with a strep throat that had been coming on for days. The hotel manager got us in to see her own doctor within the hour! Between this and the running to the drug store constantly, the staff helped us in every way to squeeze in the mansion tours in the time we had left. I cannot praise this beautiful inn highly enough. I'd go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms are beautiful. It depends on whether you want garden or ocean views. They we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I celebrated a special birthday at The Chanler at Cliff Walk and we were treated with a level of service rarely found. The entire staff was respectful, friendly and eager to please. We stayed in February and took advantage of the romance package, this includes a meal at the Spiced Pear and a bath service. The bath service was awesome, we returned from dinner and the bath was drawn surrounded by candles and rose petals, with a bottle of chilled wine. It was a very romantic evening at a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are not connected to the lobby and require a walk outside to get to breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a supreme hotel, excellent luxury rooms regardless of your choice, outstanding staff and service, the location, the restaurant, lounge, views, food, wine and atmosphere are divine, especially the amazing 3 course off season value menu and breakfast menu choices. Every thing about our weekend getaway was perfect, I couldn't recommend a stay here more, it far exceeded our expectations, and worth the journey all the way from California. One of the most romantic hotels you can experience and the property is well maintained in every respect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend to celebrate her brother's 40th. This place really turned out to be a gem. Our room had a small enclosed courtyard with a private outdoor hottub, and big deck that overlooked the beach / ocean. The hotel provides car service to and from locations in Newport, which we used for dinner plans one evening. The staff was really fantastic, from the front desk to the restaurant to room service. The bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived was a very nice touch.

The hotel sits right along the Cliff Walk, so you can use the walkway to visit several of the Newport Mansions. We also enjoyed a night in the hotel bar, which had a jazz band playing. The breakfast and dinner at the Spiced Pear was just perfect, with a view overlooking the water and beach, and first rate food and service.

Overall, I would highly recommend this to other couples. We came end of March, and managed to get a great weekend special rate that included dinner, breakfast and a mansion visit. While this might be priced a little on the high side, it was a great experience and well worth the cost.

Room Tip: The rooms with private outdoor hottubs are well worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chanler at Cliff Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.