We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Save Saved
You added The Chanler at Cliff Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Newport
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a beautiful location and lovingly restored property! My wife and I enjoyed a quiet evening at The Chanler followed by a morning constitutional along the fabulous Cliff Walk. We dined at the cozy bar on wonderful tavern items prepared in the Spiced Pear kitchen. And the morning breakfast (included in the room rate) was excellent and carried us comfortably to dinner. The Chanler is not inexpensive, but it is clearly worth the experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    37
    14
    13
    14
See reviews for
26
216
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and it was the most relaxing time. The room was cozy and decorated in the Victorian style. The bathroom was big, the warming tiles wonderful ( just be sure to turn them on at night so they are nice and warm in the morning)! Everyone was attentive to our wants and needs. The food was delicious, the breakfast kept us until early afternoon! They will take you wherever you want to go and are just a phone call away when you are ready to be picked up. The cliff walk is a must! We were unable to walk the whole thing because of the damage done by hurricane Sandy. Not sure how long parts of it are closed so check first with the Inn. You won't go wrong here! We will definitely be a return guest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I booked two days at The Chanler at Cliff Walk to relax after our daughter's wedding weekend. Hurricane Sandy was unexpected to say the least, but I honestly could not imagine a better place to weather the storm.

We truly received the Presidential treatment from their amazing staff. The food was great, the service was excellent and the view of the angry ocean simply incredible! We had a blast and will most certainly plan a return trip. Thank you so much Teddy, Katie, Jacquelin, Rebecca, Hailey, David, Tarci, and John for a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

we spent two nights at the Chanler. We stayed in Brock Island suite. Very romantic suite with perfect arrangements. bright ocean view, as I was there with my son we did not used the romantic whirlpool. The rooms are expensive but perfectly accommodated. You have to walk around the main buidling outside to reach the main entrance and restaurant. We had a very exquisite dinner and enjoyed very much the perfectly balanced courses with selected wines.
The cliif walk is at your feet, the beach is nearby, even the harbour is within walking distance.
Very recomendable, next time we will stay in the main building.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor, my wife and I found The Chanler and decided to spend her birthday there. This place is amazing. Great location, excellent rooms, bar, and restaurant. Very close to downtown Newport (offers transportation as well!!!) and right at the Cliff Walk. Outstanding in every way.

Room Tip: Victorian Room had a great view, fireplace, and hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is well located on the edge of cliff walk which is not too far from the mansions. The reception staff and concierge teams were excellent and run a great collection and drop off car service for guests.

The evening food reception staff were not helpful and were patronising. There is only one settee in the bar area and there is nowhere the relax other than in the front reception by the front desk.
Breakfast was so off putting, we would not return to try the dining room in the evening. In fact, we were happier to stay away from the hotel for as much time as possible.

Our room, which was on the third floor and there was no lift, was small and very tired. The view was towards the sea and beautiful beach but directly over the air conditioning condensers for the whole hotel which meant the noise was unbearable with the windows closed. This coupled with the fact that we had a small bed and that the air conditioning was noisy meant that we could not get a good nights rest. The decor was dark and gothic in a poor attempt at French Provençal style. The bathroom, which had peeling paper and non functioning shower heads. The bath was so badly planned that it was a wonder how anyone hasn't seriously hurt themselves getting in.

My advice to any traveller is book elsewhere and failing that, do not accept the French Provençal room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First off, NO hotel is worth this price but having said that, if you are willing to pay for it, the Chandler is a wonderful place to stay!

We spent three nights in the Block Island room. The rooms where we stayed all have individual outside entrances. A gate opens to a private outdoor garden with a hot tub and steam room. You go up the outdoor staircase to a small deck/balcony with tables & chairs. You enter the room through glass doors with floor to ceiling windows framing the entire width of the room. This affords a great view of the beach. You can see part of the road also, but noise from traffic is just about nonexistent with the sound of the surf.

Room: The room is not large but it has everything you need and more. The queen bed was comfortable. The room had a gas fireplace facing the bed. A refrigerator had some refreshments but there is also room for a few personal items. There is also a small wet bar. There are light switches everywhere! All over the room and bath. They all dim. A small table with two chairs is in the corner but the corner is so small I don’t know how you could actually get to the chair there.

Bath: A tub with jets and a separate shower. A small TV above the toilet enables you to watch while you are in the tub or at the sink. The shower had two heads and had plenty of room – there is even a nice sized bench. The only complaint I have with the bath is that there was not much room to place your toiletry kit – I put mine on the side of the tub which is next to the sink. The floor was heated – a nice touch. The towels were soft and plentiful.

Service: Greeted with champagne. Free valet parking. Asked for ice multiple times and we received it within minutes. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. They also have car service if you don’t feel like walking.

Breakfast: Included and wonderful! In the three mornings we had the French toast, omelette of the day, the two egg dish (with toast, sausage & potatoes), The Portuguese egg dish and the Breakfast 123 which included ½ grapefruit, fresh fruit (blueberries & strawberries) and yogurt w/granola.

Other great features: The balcony area was wonderful to sit out on and listen to the surf and catch up on emails (internet service is reliable and fast). We were here in October so the sun did not reach our room – it was very pleasant. An umbrella is in the closet in case it rains (remember you have private entrances so if you have dinner here you need to go outside to get to the main building). The hot tub was wonderful – very private. Towels are laid out beside it as well as two robes (in addition to the two in your room).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chanler at Cliff Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.