We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Chanler at Cliff Walk to your Saves list
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Respite
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Relaxation at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and it was the most relaxing time. The room was cozy and decorated in the Victorian style. The bathroom was big, the warming tiles wonderful ( just be sure to turn them on at night so they are nice and warm in the morning)! Everyone was attentive to our wants and needs. The food was delicious, the breakfast kept us until early afternoon! They will take you wherever you want to go and are just a phone call away when you are ready to be picked up. The cliff walk is a must! We were unable to walk the whole thing because of the damage done by hurricane Sandy. Not sure how long parts of it are closed so check first with the Inn. You won't go wrong here! We will definitely be a return guest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebeach55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I booked two days at The Chanler at Cliff Walk to relax after our daughter's wedding weekend. Hurricane Sandy was unexpected to say the least, but I honestly could not imagine a better place to weather the storm.

We truly received the Presidential treatment from their amazing staff. The food was great, the service was excellent and the view of the angry ocean simply incredible! We had a blast and will most certainly plan a return trip. Thank you so much Teddy, Katie, Jacquelin, Rebecca, Hailey, David, Tarci, and John for a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mchandler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

we spent two nights at the Chanler. We stayed in Brock Island suite. Very romantic suite with perfect arrangements. bright ocean view, as I was there with my son we did not used the romantic whirlpool. The rooms are expensive but perfectly accommodated. You have to walk around the main buidling outside to reach the main entrance and restaurant. We had a very exquisite dinner and enjoyed very much the perfectly balanced courses with selected wines.
The cliif walk is at your feet, the beach is nearby, even the harbour is within walking distance.
Very recomendable, next time we will stay in the main building.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddmmBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor, my wife and I found The Chanler and decided to spend her birthday there. This place is amazing. Great location, excellent rooms, bar, and restaurant. Very close to downtown Newport (offers transportation as well!!!) and right at the Cliff Walk. Outstanding in every way.

Room Tip: Victorian Room had a great view, fireplace, and hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is well located on the edge of cliff walk which is not too far from the mansions. The reception staff and concierge teams were excellent and run a great collection and drop off car service for guests.

The evening food reception staff were not helpful and were patronising. There is only one settee in the bar area and there is nowhere the relax other than in the front reception by the front desk.
Breakfast was so off putting, we would not return to try the dining room in the evening. In fact, we were happier to stay away from the hotel for as much time as possible.

Our room, which was on the third floor and there was no lift, was small and very tired. The view was towards the sea and beautiful beach but directly over the air conditioning condensers for the whole hotel which meant the noise was unbearable with the windows closed. This coupled with the fact that we had a small bed and that the air conditioning was noisy meant that we could not get a good nights rest. The decor was dark and gothic in a poor attempt at French Provençal style. The bathroom, which had peeling paper and non functioning shower heads. The bath was so badly planned that it was a wonder how anyone hasn't seriously hurt themselves getting in.

My advice to any traveller is book elsewhere and failing that, do not accept the French Provençal room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank LondonPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
348 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First off, NO hotel is worth this price but having said that, if you are willing to pay for it, the Chandler is a wonderful place to stay!

We spent three nights in the Block Island room. The rooms where we stayed all have individual outside entrances. A gate opens to a private outdoor garden with a hot tub and steam room. You go up the outdoor staircase to a small deck/balcony with tables & chairs. You enter the room through glass doors with floor to ceiling windows framing the entire width of the room. This affords a great view of the beach. You can see part of the road also, but noise from traffic is just about nonexistent with the sound of the surf.

Room: The room is not large but it has everything you need and more. The queen bed was comfortable. The room had a gas fireplace facing the bed. A refrigerator had some refreshments but there is also room for a few personal items. There is also a small wet bar. There are light switches everywhere! All over the room and bath. They all dim. A small table with two chairs is in the corner but the corner is so small I don’t know how you could actually get to the chair there.

Bath: A tub with jets and a separate shower. A small TV above the toilet enables you to watch while you are in the tub or at the sink. The shower had two heads and had plenty of room – there is even a nice sized bench. The only complaint I have with the bath is that there was not much room to place your toiletry kit – I put mine on the side of the tub which is next to the sink. The floor was heated – a nice touch. The towels were soft and plentiful.

Service: Greeted with champagne. Free valet parking. Asked for ice multiple times and we received it within minutes. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. They also have car service if you don’t feel like walking.

Breakfast: Included and wonderful! In the three mornings we had the French toast, omelette of the day, the two egg dish (with toast, sausage & potatoes), The Portuguese egg dish and the Breakfast 123 which included ½ grapefruit, fresh fruit (blueberries & strawberries) and yogurt w/granola.

Other great features: The balcony area was wonderful to sit out on and listen to the surf and catch up on emails (internet service is reliable and fast). We were here in October so the sun did not reach our room – it was very pleasant. An umbrella is in the closet in case it rains (remember you have private entrances so if you have dinner here you need to go outside to get to the main building). The hot tub was wonderful – very private. Towels are laid out beside it as well as two robes (in addition to the two in your room).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

No complaints! This hotel was very classy and unique. We stayed in the Gothic Room which was lovely and had the feel of an antique castle room. We stayed 1 night and enjoyed the hot tub in the room (although the layout for the hot tub is a little difficult) the tile floor is heated (although only at night) Dinner at The Spiced Pear restaurant was good but I enjoyed their breakfast more. Especially with the sunlight and morning view of the ocean...it was lovely. I would stay again, but recommend an off-season, weekday, or last minute sale rate. Otherwise, I think it would be WAY overpriced...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#2 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#13 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North Hotel and Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing