We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One, if by land; two, if by sea :-)?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Inn on the Harbor to your Saves list
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hillside, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One, if by land; two, if by sea :-)?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

In the first week of May, the resort was fully booked. Fortunately, I got a quiet one bedroom deluxe unit on the third floor, that faced Newport Harbor and the Newport bridge.

All-a-shore, that's going a-shore :-). I put into Newport Harbor many years ago, aboard a Caribbean Cruise ship, that had to race out of Bermuda a day or two early to avoid a Hurricane. Actually, coming ashore after all these years turned-out to be an incredible adventure.

In many respects, Wyndham Inn on the Harbor is the cozy Manhattan apartment building that I dreamed about, when I moved to New York City in the early 1970s. It's an elevator building with limited outdoor and indoor on-premises parking. The front desk in the lobby appeared to be staffed 24/7. And, guests have access to an on-premises laundry room. The kitchenettes are equipped with a full refrigerator, cook top and a microwave oven. On the negative side, there is no stove or dishwasher in the units.

For the daring, Wyndham Inn on the Harbor has a roof top deck. On nice days, it might be a nice lounge area. I hesitate to recommend it, because the seagulls are very active around the top of the building. A couple of days into my stay, seagulls splattered my windows with bird droppings and deprived me of my harbor view :-).


Be forewarned, Wyndham Inn on the Harbor has no gym, swimming pool, business center or game room. The YMCA is two miles away. If you're in the mood to walk, Bellevue Avenue and Newport's fabled Mansions of its "Gilded Age" are at the limits of what might be considered reasonable walking distance, especially if you factor in the added walking once you start to explore the mansions :-).

Early in May, a number of Newport's ice cream parlors, candy shops and bakeries were waiting until Memorial Day to rollout their full menu offerings. Like many resort communities, some of the businesses seem to scale back their operations, when the tourist season is over.

In the first week of May, the Preservation Society of Newport County had staffed and opened all of its mansions to the public (e.g., The Breakers, Marble House, the Elms, etc.). I only wish that I had more time to take it all in :-).

Last Fall, I made my first trip to Martha's Vineyard. Newport appears to be more urban and built-up than Martha's Vineyard, which is only a short drive and a ferry ride, away. Both destinations are very appealing. Newport has more of an upscale suburban vibe. Martha's Vineyard has more of a rustic relaxing beach community vibe.







:

Room Tip: I was happy with my location on an upper floor overlooking the parking lot and an adjacent hotel/clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for this great feedback! I am glad you were pleased with your time here and were able to come back to enjoy the shore! While we do lack amenities on site we make up for in our superb location. Again, thanks for the feedback and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location was fantastic. You are in walking distance from just about anything. The roof deck has amazing an view of the harbor and is a beautiful place to get a little sun, have a cocktail or watch the sunset. Unfortunately, my wallet was stolen on the rood deck when I wasn't paying attention. It was later returned with $150.00 missing. So, enjoy the view but watch your belongings. I only turned away for a second to take a picture and it was gone.

I was disappointed in our room. We booked the room almost a year ago and ended up with a fabulous view of a brick building. If you squished your face at the right angle you could catch a gimps of the harbor. The room was in need of serious updating. It was extremely outdated and had a funky odor to it. They still you those floral bedspreads that your use to seeing at low end motel chains. The kitchen was great and very clean. It came in handy with making our own breakfast and having cold beverages on hand.

Cindy ( we think that was her name) was extremely helpful, very knowledgeable and always had a smile. Not all the front deck staff was as helpful, unfortunately.

I would stay again but suggests they upgrade a little.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C, General Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for this great feedback, it will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort! We are in the process of converting all bedspreads to white duvets and anticipate all units to be converted by the end of July. I truly apologize for what happened with your wallet, it is a shame that you had to experience that while on vacation. Please give us the opportunity to make your stay better in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love to visit Newport off-season when we can use our memberhsip, but would rent it if it were available peak. But, that's the problem with Newport. It's great in the summer and everyone know s about it. That's why Wyndham has 5 Hotel Resorts and the nicest and newst across the bridge on Jamestown Island. I've stayed Harbor view and Long Warf which are easy to confuse. This is my favorite location with free parking in the heart of Newport, not having to walk as far as from Long Warf. Wyndham runs an excellent show because we're all owners, not renters. They're so polite and polished it hurts. Facility is maintained well. One shortcoming: that although we had a great harbor view, there aren't open balconies like Long Warf (which also has a better ppol and exrcise facility). It's in better condition though than LW. Either way, you can't lose.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor view and not to be near an elevator...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everybody's eco because it saves them money. Really?
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C, General Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for the kind words! We will share these comments with our associates. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit in Newport or Jamestown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Overall we had a pleasant stay. Room was dated but clean and staff was pleasant. We didn't like the bedroom right off the entrance, but it was pretty quiet overnight so it wasn't a big issue. We liked being right in downtown, and being able to cook our own breakfast in the mini-kitchen. I wouldn't call it a "resort", but we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C, General Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for the kind words, we will share these with our associates! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit!

Jill Carbone
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Good
Location is great. Walk outside and you have the harbor behind you and downtown shops and restaurants all in walking distance.
We had a partial bay view which was ok but there is a rooftop deck with fabulous expansive view of the harbor and the bridge. I imagine the bay view rooms are great if you can get one.
Everything was clean and we are picky about cleanliness. Plush towels, big clean shower, kitchen with large refrigerator, microwave and very nice and new dishes, utensils, etc.
Parking is under the building and we never had a problem getting a spot. There are spaces by the lobby but if you park there you need to give your keys to the front desk as you may be blocking someone else in. There is a coin operated laundry room on the third floor.
The Not So Good
Although clean, it has not been renovated so the decor is rather tired and outdated, except for the kitchen cabinets. However, it was sufficient for our needs. The bedroom is separated from the kitchen with bi-fold doors so not a true bedroom. It is also right off the hallway and the walls are paper thin. We could hear phone conversations in the next room. Fortunately I brought earplugs and slept fine. The airflow in the room is poor and had to be supplemented with a built in fan. It can be very stuffy. However there is a small window you can open.
Although not disappointing, not one of the nicer properties we have stayed at. The location makes up for most of the not so good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duanesburg, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

As I sit in front of the huge window of our room waiting for the sunset over the bay at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, I read the other reviews and wonder who wouldn't love this place! Mentioning the pipe near the ceiling is totally misrepresenting this Inn. The front desk was super helpful and courteous, and the rooms had everything a person coming to town for Newport needs. Who looks for plush on Narragansett Bay? It's all about location and you can't get better than Inn on the Harbor. You get a feeling you are where you're supposed to be as you enjoy eating at The Wharf Pub and Diego's - a 3 minute walk from the Inn. Ben & Jerry's is near the front doorstep and the ocean, mansions, and the Cliff Walk about 5 minutes in the car. It's all about what's important when you vacation - a safe, comfortable place to stay, and then OUT to enjoy Newport!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Absolutely agree with the February 23 review concerning the reception area. I'm not one to criticize attire but, to be honest, when we first entered the lobby I wasn't even sure the person behind the desk was the receptionist. There was nothing about her appearance that would indicate that she was a member of the staff. Although she was very friendly and helpful, we waited several minutes at the desk while she finished what sounded like a personal call, but she said it was her "manager". The smell of cigarette smoke was prominent and not very pleasant.

We usually stay at the Wyndham property at Long Wharf, so this was a step down, but the suite was clean and adequate. The decor was 70s retro, although I don't think it was a conscious decorating decision, and definitely needed some upgrading.

There are no amenities like a pool or a gym, so I would not stay here in season or for a long period of time. The location is perfect because everything is within walking distance so this inn served its purpose for our off-season visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Address: 359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.