We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mansion Dreams” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Inn on the Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Henderson, NV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mansion Dreams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

On a whim we decided to check out the Mansions in Newport, RI. Okay, it was because we knew the Dark Shadows house (from the movies) was there and wanted to take a peek (a slight disappointment as we could only view it from the hedges...literally peeking...) However, we booked thru Booking.com the day before and unfortunately the hotel did not have our reservation. The ladies at the front desk were very kind and found us a room without any delay. The rooms are great with a usable kitchen that had all the necessary equipment for making a gourmet meal; however we opted to eat at the pub across the street. The bed was amazingly comfortable; we didn't want to get out of it.
One HUGE drawback, though...The walls are incredibly thin. We were privy to conversations immediately on arrival - I thought it was coming through the phones as well...It was a true disappointment, as our neighbors were early risers...
The fitness center is not onsite - you will have to travel to another facility.
All in all I would recommend this place to families and others who want to spend some time hanging out in a cute town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jamesport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Inn on the harbor is located perfect .party central for new years eve . We had three rooms right on the harbor great views .the staff was so pleasant.No problems at all. Rooms are nice for 2 people small kitchen living room pull out couch. i'm kinda a nit pick the bathroom cieling was in need of painting other then that it was great.

Room Tip: no pool get waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are staying in a one bedroom condo with a galley kitchen. The layout is shotgun style with the bedroom at the entrance door, a galley kitchen next and then the living room on the water front, perfect for sitting and enjoying the beautiful view of the harbor. The harbor view really makes this a fabulous place to stay. The rooms are clean and the kitchen surprisingly well-equipped with a four-burner cook top, microwave and a full-size refrigerator, dishes and glasses for four, and ample cookware and utensils for light cooking.
The excellent location is a huge plus. It is right in the middle of everything on Thames Street. Parking is provided, another major issue in Newport. There are so many restuarants and shops within easy walking distance that you could easily not use your car for days.
The staff is fantastic. So courteous and helpful, sincerely friendly, seeming to really like you even if you are not all that interesting at all.
Two drawbacks which may not matter: the television is small and of poor quality; sound insulation not so good. If you raise your voices (even slightly) and have an argument your neighbors will know all about the bad boyfriend named Dwight and just why you don't like him.
Beds and pillows SUPERIOR.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place is great. We had a harbor view and enjoyed the sunsets all but one night.
The staff was very friendly, the room was very clean and top notch.
Free parking, free internet, and it is walkable to restaurants and downtown. There is no pool but i would not have used it. We were told that there was going to be fireworks on the Friday of our stay. We enjoyed them from our room, then went out to eat! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

No pool. Can walk to most everything. Very uncomfortable sofa bed. Fully stocked kitchen. Nice marina views. Small, but efficient rooms. Staff was helpful, even though they were working on New Year's Eve. Weird they closed the member's lounge before the ball dropped.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed here for a full week with my two girlfriends and were very happy with the accommodations. Besides the staff being helpful and friendly, the property was basically in the center of town. We didn't have to move our car from the complimentary parking (which there is plenty of this time of year), until we wanted to venture over to the cliff walk. We could have walked there, too - though it may have been a bit of a hike (1.5 miles). The kitchen had all the tools and amenities we needed, including pots, pans, cutting boards, soap, sponges, wine glasses, can openers and more. Full-size refrigerator, two burners and a beautiful view. I plan on going back....and did I mention the view from the roof deck?

Room Tip: Harbor side for the beautiful sunsets, or 6th floor for easy access to the roof deck (to watch the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here with another couple, we stayed in a one bedroom suite. My boyfriend and I stayed in the bedroom and our friends slept on the pull out couch in the living room. Please note if you are thinking about sharing a room and someone will sleep on the pull out couch, bring an air mattress to put on top, the pull out sofa mattress consisted of springs with a cover as thin as sheet over it. Our friends put the air mattress on top and it worked out really well. The suite consists of a bedroom with a queen bed, a 2 room bathroom (toilet and shower separate from vanity/sink), a kitchen with a full size fridge, stove, microwave, sink. The kitchen came fully stocked with glasses including wine glasses. The decor was dated but that didn't bother me one bit as the room was immaculate. The bathroom was spotless and I felt at ease right away. We were able to walk out of our room at night and bask in the great nightlife newport has to offer, no worries about cabs or driving, the entire city was at our doorstep. The view from our room overlooking the marina was incredible, we saw some many beautiful yachts and historic schooners coming in and our and in the mornings we enjoyed watching the fishing boats prep for their day on the ocean. The staff was very nice, extending an extra parking pass for the 2nd car (not protocol, its one spot per unit). Overall I can't say anything bad about this place, if you are used to staying in boutique city hotels and expect a certain level of modern decor, this is not the place for you. But if you appreciate an extremely clean, spacious and comfortable space in a great location for an affordable rate, I would not hesitate to look into the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Address: 359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.