We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Clean Amenities, Amazing View. Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Inn on the Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Clean Amenities, Amazing View. Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here with another couple, we stayed in a one bedroom suite. My boyfriend and I stayed in the bedroom and our friends slept on the pull out couch in the living room. Please note if you are thinking about sharing a room and someone will sleep on the pull out couch, bring an air mattress to put on top, the pull out sofa mattress consisted of springs with a cover as thin as sheet over it. Our friends put the air mattress on top and it worked out really well. The suite consists of a bedroom with a queen bed, a 2 room bathroom (toilet and shower separate from vanity/sink), a kitchen with a full size fridge, stove, microwave, sink. The kitchen came fully stocked with glasses including wine glasses. The decor was dated but that didn't bother me one bit as the room was immaculate. The bathroom was spotless and I felt at ease right away. We were able to walk out of our room at night and bask in the great nightlife newport has to offer, no worries about cabs or driving, the entire city was at our doorstep. The view from our room overlooking the marina was incredible, we saw some many beautiful yachts and historic schooners coming in and our and in the mornings we enjoyed watching the fishing boats prep for their day on the ocean. The staff was very nice, extending an extra parking pass for the 2nd car (not protocol, its one spot per unit). Overall I can't say anything bad about this place, if you are used to staying in boutique city hotels and expect a certain level of modern decor, this is not the place for you. But if you appreciate an extremely clean, spacious and comfortable space in a great location for an affordable rate, I would not hesitate to look into the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The location, soft linens and friendly front desk staff are about the only things going for this property. We stayed in a1-bedroom unit with a lovely water view out of the large living room windows. The living room is about 10'x12' and offers a nice couch and chair. Table with 4 chairs, coffee table and tv armoire are junk. Kitchen has lots of pots pans utensils, but is a cooktop and micro only. Hairs in bathroom sink upon arrival. Yuck. Shower curtain moldy. Bedroom is entry way to unit. Odd layout, but they're maximizing view in living room. Nothing special. No deck. No fireplace. Hokey bifold doors separate bedroom from kitchen. Cannot close them from the kitchen side if your partner is sleeping. Bedroom furniture is also very cheap looking. Roof deck features properties bathroom stacks, so not too pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor for two nights in October. It was in the perfect location, right down town close to restaurants, bars, shopping and walking distance to all of these. The room was a nice size. It had a bedroom, kitchen area with a large fridge and sitting area with pullout couch, table with chairs, TV and a lovely view of the harbor. I appreciated the amenities, with free wifi, coffee in the morning and cookies in the afternoon. I did not find the room dated at all. It had everything we needed and was quite comfortable. It comes with one parking spot but we were lucky and they gave us another as they had room for our second car. Compared to some of the prices at the other hotels in the area, I thought this was excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights on our trip through CT and RI. The place is in a nice location. The staff was nice and had free WiFi. The hotel is in need of a renovation. The room we stayed in was what they called a two bedroom. The entrance to the room is in one of the bedrooms. The room did have maintenance issues, overloaded wall outlets and a lot of extension cords and one outlet was missing a faceplate. Old style tv's that during the football game kept losing the picture. One bed was beyond it's life span, had broken boxspring. Very little parking for the hotel. Missed having the amenities, but we knew there was none before going there. Walls are very thin if you have loud neighbors like we did.

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here with another couple, we stayed in a one bedroom suite. My boyfriend and I stayed in the bedroom and our friends slept on the pull out couch in the living room. Please note if you are thinking about sharing a room and someone will sleep on the pull out couch, bring an air mattress to put on top, the pull out sofa mattress consisted of springs with a cover as thin as sheet over it. Our friends put the air mattress on top and it worked out really well. The suite consists of a bedroom with a queen bed, a 2 room bathroom (toilet and shower separate from vanity/sink), a kitchen with a full size fridge, stove, microwave, sink. The kitchen came fully stocked with glasses including wine glasses. The decor was dated but that didn't bother me one bit as the room was immaculate. The bathroom was spotless and I felt at ease right away. We were able to walk out of our room at night and bask in the great nightlife newport has to offer, no worries about cabs or driving, the entire city was at our doorstep. The view from our room overlooking the marina was incredible, we saw some many beautiful yachts and historic schooners coming in and our and in the mornings we enjoyed watching the fishing boats prep for their day on the ocean. The staff was very nice, extending an extra parking pass for the 2nd car (not protocol, its one spot per unit). Overall I can't say anything bad about this place, if you are used to staying in boutique city hotels and expect a certain level of modern decor, this is not the place for you. But if you appreciate an extremely clean, spacious and comfortable space in a great location for an affordable rate, I would not hesitate to look into the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for a few nights over a weekend and enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was terrific. The property is located right on lower Thames Street, so it is an easy walk to all of the shops and restaurants. We also walked to the Easton beach and cliff walk, which were about a mile away. Our unit itself was okay: railroad style layout, slightly dated and not the most comfortable beds. However, everything was well kept, clean, and had plenty of kitchen supplies (tableware, coffee maker, microwave, stove, refrigerator, etc.) I would stay here again, but would prefer finding something a bit more up to date / upgraded.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Very dated to say the least! Great location, close to everything. The Deluxe room was to small and the a\c was not that great. Expected better from Wyndham

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Address: 359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.