We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expect from Wyndham” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Inn on the Harbor to your Saves list
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what I expect from Wyndham”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Very dated to say the least! Great location, close to everything. The Deluxe room was to small and the a\c was not that great. Expected better from Wyndham

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
20
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Be aware that this is a timeshare with a Saturday Check-in for Owners. AND If you plan to stay Friday and Saturday you are very likely to have to move rooms during the busy season.
I was informed of this after I received two check-in forms and called the desk to confirm why. At that time I was told it was “Highly Likely” we would have to check out at 11am and wait to get another room for our second day. No guarantees could be made for staying in the same room as Owners get their unit. They could not assist me with other options. While they were very courteous they were not very helpful in solving the problem as I had to wait until the Extra Holidays office was open.
Since I had time to research further I discover another BRAND that actually had someone I could speak with and confirm what I was getting. I cancelled the reservation and then called Extra Holidays to express that it might be nice to know what the Check-in dates are when booking. Again very coutesous but I really did not feel that they cared I took my business elsewhere.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We are just finishing a great week at Newport RI. This timeshare unit, while clean, was only adequate. It did not compare to what we traded. The rooms were railroad type with the entry door opening into the bedroom. There were no built in closets and no safe. A huge plus though...floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay and sunsets!!! There were no balconies or decks but there was a wonderful roof deck. Another huge plus was location. It is on lower Thames Street and within walking distance of almost everything. We walked to the cliff walk and to all the mansions and sometimes used the trolley to comeback. Oh, by the way, we are seniors!!!

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing west!!!! beautiful sunsets and a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Checked in Sunday (4/1), friendly smile, quick, no hassles. Parking was available. Rooms looked like they have been updated but would have preferred bamboo flooring and a glass door on the large shower. The view of the harbor is outstanding. No jacuzzi.

Will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORWOOD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in the Wyndham Inn on the harbor for 4 nights in Febuary. The location was perfect and the view of the harbor was an extra bonus. It was walking distance to most of the restaurants and shops in the area. The frontdesk personel were always willing to answer any questions and always greeted you with a smile. We had a great time in Newport and the Wyndham Inn was perfect for us.

Room Tip: See if you can get the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Perfect downtown location, wonderful harbor view, and nice size rooms at this Wyndham. We stayed here in early November and had a great time walking to see the sights of Newport during the day, and exploring the many bars and restaurants at night. I'd definitely go back and stay here for a summer weekend too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Make no mistake, this is not a luxury accommodation, but it does have a fantastic water view, good location for walking to restaurants, shops, kayak rentals, grocery store, and a post office, which for some reason I needed on vacation. We rented from a time share owner using Craigslist. The rate was amazing for a week, far, far below market for anything else in the area with water views. The unit was like a mini condo. Entry was into a bedroom with queen size bed, then a hallway/galley kitchenette with a door to the bath (with vanity sink separated from shower-toilet) and which opened to the living/dining area with a mostly all-glass view. We were on the top floor, which was very quiet and provided a super view. I would avoid the units that do not face the water. The living room has a sleep sofa, arm chair and dining set with 4 chairs. The bedroom has another arm chair that we pulled into the living room. There were TVs in both the living room and bedroom, but we didn't watch them. Neither the bed nor the sleep sofa were great, but we were able to sleep just fine. There is no balcony, but during daylight hours, the roof deck is available. We went up there a couple of times for a really nice view and a fantastic sunset.

A couple of notes:
- Parking is mostly under the building (the building is on stilts and access is easy), with some a level up on the lobby level. This is fantastic as parking around Newport is terrible during tourist season. No valets needed, no gates.
- The elevator is beyond slow. I suggest avoiding it if possible.
- There is free wifi.
- There was free coffee in the lobby until late morning most days.
- There is no daily maid service. Cleaning is once during your weeklong stay (Tue or Wed), but you can leave trash outside of your door and request towels at any time.
- There is no fitness facility, but the front desk will give you passes to the local Y, which is about 2.5 miles away. The Y is very nice, pretty new.
- There is no pool, but the Y has an indoor facility. Go to the beach if you need outside water :-)

Bottom line: The property is dated, but the unit we had was clean and perfect for our needs, a week with my husband, two of our college-aged children, and me. The key here is pricing: We ended up spending $135 a night ($950 for the week). With that location and free parking and wifi, it was worth dealing with the elevator and lack of luxury.

Room Tip: Go for waterfront on the 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#13 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
0.1 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#16 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Address: 359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.