We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Newport

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

In a town where my meal was $100 it was nice to stay in a room for only $75. Of course I dreamed if staying on the waterfront but reality kicked in.
The Motel 6 is still in Newport near the Middletown line but close enough to get back quickly. It probably takes less time than going to Castle Hill.
I can't say this place was the top of the line but it's not scary. The room was clean and the bed was nice. It appeared to have been recently painted and lack any decorations on the walls. I had to plug in the AC myself but the manager was quickly available to plug in the light when we told him it didn't work.
We checked in right at 3pm and there were still trash bags in the hall and in the morning we noticed loose trash in the parking lot. Overall the place was well kept. There seemed to be a lot of people staying here when we returned at night but it wasn't loud at all. Not that we watched much TV but a few channels had slight static.

This isn't a five star experience (like Castle Hill) but it is a clean and affordable place to stay when you want a low budget getaway.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    25
    31
    12
    26
See reviews for
20
35
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This motel is near the center of town. Clean, recently painted, no breakfast,( nor within walking distance of a restaurant), or any amenities normally associated with a motel, such as, shampoo. No swimming pool, parking lot was small, no closet, or table, or book of local information,1 lamp illuminating the entire room, the towels where wimpy and scratchy, could not shut off the fan in the air conditioning unit. This is a basic, no frills motel. Staying 3 nights was a mistake. One night, ok but not 3. The total was $135.58.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can. But if not it is acceptably clean and cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was convenient to the Marina where we needed to be and served our purpose. The rooms are spacious, clean, and updated. Although the front desk agent alerted us to call far in advance for a cab on a busy summer weekend, we did find it difficult to get a hold of the four options she provided to us by phone. We were able to use our Uber App and it was a matter of seconds before our car arrived, both to and from our event.

When we returned to our room in the evening, our key wasn't working which was likely our fault for placing too close to a cell phone. The agent at the desk asked us for our room number and fixed it for us, but never asked for my ID. I had my ID in hand too, ready to show him that I was the guest registered to the room. This was off putting, especially for two females alone, as it seemed anyone could stop by the desk and get a key for any room number they could think of. This is a simple fix with a little training of the staff.

Overall, we were happy to enjoy Newport at a very reasonable cost compared to hotels on the Marina and would consider it again. Definitely recommend using Uber if you need to get around, as the cabs are not reliable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stayed here on 3 separate weekend getaways in July 2012, April 2013 and March 2014. I thought this motel was an especially great deal in the summer, as Newport is quite pricey. I stayed on the first floor the first two trips and on the third trip I stayed on the second floor, I found that the room upstairs was more updated and nicely renovated.

I found the hotel staff to be professional. We were not provided with toiletries in our room (shampoo or conditioner) on either trip, this wasn't a big deal because the Walmart was a quick walk away but I thought this was worth mentioning so future guests could pack accordingly.

The hotel distance is in very close proximity to a Walmart and Pizza Hut is within walking distance too.

The area that the hotel is in is a little sketchy, be careful and use common sense when it comes to leaving valuables in the car. A guest's car had been broken into on the April 2013 trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor, they seem more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great price for a Saturday night during a holiday weekend, about a third of the price of any other Newport Hotel. Was pleasantly surprised, Staff was great at both check in and check out. Room was newly renovated and very clean. Only complaint is that cleaning carts were left in the hallways at 11pm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent two nights Easter weekend. The place is newly renovated. The walls freshly painted, the TV new and the bathroom new. I really like the wood floor as opposed to carpet. The bed was nice and comfortable and the pillows nice and cushy. It's pet friendly and there is a Walmart and Super Stop & Shop right next door. Can't complain about that.

I give this place a 4, as compared to other budget hotels. It was clean and comfortable, and the staff nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Not the greatest hotel in which I have every stayed, but of course it is budget. The room was clean. The TV and a light did not work, but to be fair the manager got the TV working, which was nice. A bit of attention to the garden out the front would not be that hard, I think, and may make the place look a whole lot nicer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Hotel Newport
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel 6
Newport Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;