We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Newport to your Saves list
Motel 6 Newport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Tarrytown, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cheap!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The best part about this place is the price. We paid $60 for our room + $3 for internet. They gave us a AAA discount. Newport is an expensive area, and this was the only bargain shop in town. The sheets are paper thin and the whole place is a little bit funky, but it got the job done. We stayed one night before touring the Newport mansions. Would I want to stay here for several nights? No, not really. However, for a quick stopover it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    28
    33
    13
    28
See reviews for
22
39
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well, I have to say that we didn't spend much time in the motel, so that was a positive. When we were waiting for our ride to attend a wedding, police officers were escorting a prostitute to their police cruiser, which was a little disconcerning. Much of the interior hallways smelled of smoke, although our room did not. It appears that the staff do their best at cleaning, although most of the bedding and towels seem to be quite old and dingy looking with stains. One of the issues that bothered me most was running out of toilet paper and not having a spare roll. When I called the front desk, I was asked to come down and get a roll because he was the only one working... The manager seemed to have been working the entire time we were there! I don't know if the rates go up for holiday weekend but we paid $142 a night... you would think that at that price we wouldn't have to ask for toilet paper! The motel is convenient to downtown and a hop skip and a jump to Jamestown...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Checked into the Motel 6 this past Saturday after playing a weekend of rugby at Fort Adams. The woman at the front desk told us that she was putting us next to the room where the "owner" lived, so we had to be "extra" quiet. We arrived at the hotel at nine after our team had gone out to eat, started getting ready to go out while recollecting the moments of the tournament, only to receive an onslaught of "noise" complaints from the front desk. Owner was on a power trip. Very rude, belittling and disrespectful. As we walked out to our cab he began to yell at us and threatening to call the cops. We were four adults all in our late twenty's with respectable full time jobs. My days of partying at motel 6's are well behind me. I could understand if we were actually partying, playing music, or things of that nature. But we were simply showering and talking/laughing, at 9PM! The guy ruined our night. We laughed and said we felt like we were sneaking in past our curfew when we came home that night. We didn't end up getting thrown out, thankfully.

Not even adding on just because the guy was a [--], but the air conditioner really didn't work and the room was so humid everything felt wet. But the one thing we did enjoy was watching sportscenter on the 20 year old 17" magnavox tv later that night.

I'll never come back here. Not even due to the room conditions, Due to the utter disrespect we received by the owner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Terrible! This motel ruined a special weekend. We requested non-smoking. The email reservation said smoking, so we called to make sure it was non and were assured it was, Upon arrival at 5 p.m. there was an ashtray in room. We went down to front desk and were told all rooms had ashtrays and it was non-smoking. We went out and returned at 10:30 p.m. to an indoor hall reeking of smoke. We called and the front desk said it was a smoking room. I have asthma. We checked out at 11 p.m. as there were no rooms available, could not get another hotel, and had to drive home. We were out driving at 12:30 a.m., our night ruined and trip cut short by a day. They may have been incompetent, but we feel we were lied to about the room being nonsmoking so they could book the room. Never had anything like this happen before - UNACCEPTABLE!

Room Tip: Very rundown. Room was across from an Adults Only video store. Decor was awful. Get another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The place is run down and the closer you look for red flags the scarier it gets, but it was worth the $49 room fee in our opinion. I would not recommend this place for germaphobes nor those whom are easily scared by the friendly but trashy looking clientele. But my girlfriend and I stayed in the off season and only used the place to sleep and shower so it was worth it to us. Especially since this place costed as little as a round of drinks downtown. PS: We bought our own sheets and pillow cases and recommend u do the same.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After much searching for a reasonably priced place to stay for a weekend in Newport, I decided on Motel 6. I had stayed there several years ago and it was fine. However, this time, most of he reviews that I read were not very good. I figured that I only needed it for a place to shower and sleep. Well, I was pleasantly surprised. My room was clean and roomy The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I think that people sometimes forget, that if you're paying $39.00 a night, you're not getting a 4 star hotel. I had a wonderful weekend and a more than adequate place to stay for less than $100.00 for 2 nights (and they even let me check in early). I would definitely stay there again.
Please ignore the "terrible" rating below for the swimming pool. There was no pool and this web site will not let me change what is there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at this Motel 6 for the first time in about 8 years on a recent Monday. It seemed like there was hardly anyone there, when I pulled into the lot at 11 PM, there were only 2-3 cars in the lot. Upon opening the door to room 101, you can smell that musty Motel 6 smell that most travelers will recognize who frequent the chain. It goes away after several minutes though. Compared to the nearby Seekonk property, the TV selection was quite poor and very small. The lady at the front desk seemed kind of disinterested, and spoke my room number out loud. Having worked in the industry, I know that is a big mistake for security issues.

The neighborhood is not in the tourist area by any means, and there is a adult video store across the street, but I did not feel uncomfortable here. It is an easy walk to a Stop and Shop and Walmart. There are plenty of dinning choices in the plazza, including a 99 Restaurant and 5 Guys(Yum!) If you enjoy gambling, its only a few minutes away from Newport Grand.

The offseason rates(39.99 on this night) was a good deal, but I don't think a room here is worth much more than that. If you are on a bare bones budget, or just want a place to crash for the night, you'll be okay here. I've actually slept on worse beds than the ones here. If you want your hotel to be a memorable part of your trip to Newport, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the exit door. You will hear people coming and going all night if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Hotel Newport
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel 6
Newport Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.