We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sunday Afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Conservatory at Vanderbilt Grace

The Conservatory at Vanderbilt Grace
41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840
401-846-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Conservatory at Vanderbilt Grace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 203 restaurants in Newport
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Clarke Street & Thame Street
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a beautiful outdoor terrace with wonderful drinks fresh squeezed at the bar. Everyone that we encountered at this hotel went above and beyond in the service category. I will surely visit again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    16
    10
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice quiet dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is one of two restaurants at a mid-size hotel, half a block from the main tourist thoroughfare. The other eatery, Muse, is run by a famous TV chef, but the Conservatory is simply a nice bright veranda area serving not extensive but good choice of dishes. On a late Sunday night we ended up having the later portion of our meal to ourselves in a rather romantic atmosphere. Excellent tomato soup, great mussels, exceptional crab cake. Good wine list shared with Muse.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

They tried, but the food just wasn't good. My omelette was burned on the outside, runny and uncooked on the inside. The bacon was burned in parts, but very fatty and a bit uncooked in areas as well. The free offering was okay, croissants, muffins, nut cereals, and a small offering of meats and cheese. Not much in the way of fruit, just some diced fruit cups and some dried fruit. It was okay, but I would have appreciated some fruit that was whole, like raspberries, blueberries, strawberries in a bowl, or bananas, apples and oranges. Easy to put out, but the room is so small, maybe there just isn't space. But they woo their customers with champagne and a very cute atmosphere, so it does seem lovely.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmoody79, Manager at The Conservatory at Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Wendy S.

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear about your dining experience. We do cook all of our omelettes to order and it was a shame that we were not made aware of your wishes as we would have gladly prepared another omelette. Your comments have been taken on board and we now offer a wider range of fruits which we constantly replenish during breakfast service. We are indeed a small luxury boutique hotel and thank you for your comments on our cute atmosphere.

Regards,

Michael Moody
Food & Beverage manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“not quite up to par”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The very first thing I'd like to say is that the food was amazing and Babs our waitress was great.
The cons were that the valet was not around, no olives for our martini's and they did not have Belvedere vodka so a substitution was made. It was 7:30pm and there were no others dining.
With all the choices to dine in Newport, these few issues should be corrected. We may come back again to try the rooftop deck this summer since the view looks fantastic over the harbor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmoody79, Manager at The Conservatory at Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sylviafly,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and the generous comments on our food and Babs. We have taken your comments on board (sadly our olive supplier sent us olives not useable for cocktails and we had to go and buy them from a local store but sadly not in time for you to enjoy). We do hope you come back and enjoy our rooftop deck this summer, where we will have movie nights and jazz. Please do call me to let me know when you plan to come .

Regards,

Michael Moody
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon tea a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are accustomed to Afternoon Tea being a more elegant experiece. The three-tiered presentation was paltry, compared to others. It wasn't worth the price. The finger sandwiches were good, but the scones were tiny and the desserts were nothing special. Also, no menu of leaf tea, only selection of 8 tea bags.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Conservatory at Vanderbilt Grace also viewed

 

Been to The Conservatory at Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Conservatory at Vanderbilt Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.