We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newport's Finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muse by Jonathan Cartwright

Muse by Jonathan Cartwright
41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-846-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muse by Jonathan Cartwright is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Clarke Street & Thame Street
Description: Opened at the Vanderbilt Grace in Newport Rhode Island to match critical acclaim a fine dining restaurant under the direction of Grace Hotels' Group Chef de Cuisine, Jonathan Cartwright. Muse delivers international food and wine with homage to many of the local culinary traditions of Rhode Island. The hotel's restaurant offers selected dishes created by Chef Cartwright including some classic New England favorites. Grand Chef Relais and Chateaux Jonathan Cartwright is one of the most celebrated chefs in New England. He is also executive chef at Vanderbilt Grace's sister hotel, The White Barn Inn and Spa in Kennebunk, Maine - the only AAA Five Diamond and Forbes Five Star dining experience north of New York City.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Newport's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

On staying at The Vanderbilt Grace we decided to take advantage of eating at The Muse on our first night and were not disappointed. The menu selection was not extensive but there were plenty of choices to whet the appetite. The four courses became eight with the addition of special treats from the chef and every plate was delicious. The Bakers (UK)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    17
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, CT
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Six of us had dinner on Thursday evening. We all had the fixed price menu at $85 for four courses and we were extremely pleased. In addition to the four courses we ordered we were served four additional courses compliments of the chef. Everything was done very well and the service was terrific. Excellent breads were served. It was a special event.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nanotechnology deflopèe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived here for a Friday night dinner. The restaurant is located in the Vanderbilt Grace House in an attractively decorated hall. With a real fireplace and a live taper-singer with piano, very nice! The host gave us a seat near the rear wall. Beware of air conditioner, it blows up from the floor, not very comfortable. I had to put my sac on it to plug off the cold flow, so no problem. First we have received compliments from the chef, a nano-sized watermelon slice with onion, pepper and salt - unusual, picturesque and not bad, it's a French creativity. Then we ordered our wines and a salad. But we had to wait for the wines, seems like the waiter forgot it. The salad looks like a picture, it's fresh but the size is not big like as usual in the USA, it's small and insufficient for two persons, so order one per person, don't be shy. We ate the salad quickly and asked where is the wine ordered. The waiter finally brought it, supposed to be Syrah 2009. Yes, it's Syrah but it's underaged, the wine bouquet is not formed yet. And the price was $13 per glass while you can have the real properly aged Syrah for $12 in the central Manhattan... Strange. The entree meat was also good and nice-looking but small. After that we received the second compliment from the chef, a nanotechnology soup of sweet corn with milk. It was fun. The dessert was assorted ice cream but the slices were still pretty tiny. Do they use a laser to cut them? Overall - good and it should be perfect if you don't want to eat much but to surprise your party.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food here was second to none. I've lived in new york for ten years and this beats the top places I've tried there. Creative, local flourishes, surprises, delicious. Relatively quiet restaurant, some nice music from a love pianist. We had a great anniversary dinner. My one disappointment and the reason for less than five stars is that I called beforehand with a special request to write "happy anniversary" on the desert, which I thought would happen, and this didnt happen when the Lemon souffle arrived.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I consider ourselves foodies and have been to many excellent restaurants. I would rate this best restaurant I've been to. The food was very gourmet--- dishes looked Iike something out of an iron chef episode. The price was a good value when you consider atmosphere, live music, superb food and 7 courses! For $75 per person. The courses include an amuse buse, appetizer, intermezzo, entree, pre-dessert, dessert, and a chocolate afterwards. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Very special meal

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muse by Jonathan Cartwright also viewed

 

Been to Muse by Jonathan Cartwright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muse by Jonathan Cartwright, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.