We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muse by Jonathan Cartwright

Muse by Jonathan Cartwright
41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-846-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muse by Jonathan Cartwright is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 204 restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Clarke Street & Thame Street
Description: Opened at the Vanderbilt Grace in Newport Rhode Island to match critical acclaim a fine dining restaurant under the direction of Grace Hotels' Group Chef de Cuisine, Jonathan Cartwright. Muse delivers international food and wine with homage to many of the local culinary traditions of Rhode Island. The hotel's restaurant offers selected dishes created by Chef Cartwright including some classic New England favorites. Grand Chef Relais and Chateaux Jonathan Cartwright is one of the most celebrated chefs in New England. He is also executive chef at Vanderbilt Grace's sister hotel, The White Barn Inn and Spa in Kennebunk, Maine - the only AAA Five Diamond and Forbes Five Star dining experience north of New York City.
Noank, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lovely dining room. Nice fireplace. Service was excellent and not in your face. Small,artful, well prepared courses. Goody appreciates the time and attention to small details. Not many diners this frigid January evening. Summer is probably hectic and noisy. Very attentive staff. Take a stroll through the first floor rooms to admire the artwork.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    53
    13
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A very romantic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a beautiful restaurant in the Vanderbilt Grace Inn. We dined in a very cozy room in front of a great wood-burning fireplace. Due to the great staff including our lead server, Leah, it felt like we were dining with friends. They were completely knowledgeable about the cuisine and various dishes and very helpful in making our selections. The service was seamless and used dishes and utensils were suddenly gone and new ones appeared in their place. I also appreciated the prepared on the spot printed listing of my food courses and wine pairings. There is a prix fixe meal or you can order a la carte. I chose the tasting menu (4 courses including the intermezzo). My entrée consisted of veal medallions and herb-crusted lamb chop with ratatouille ravioli, an appetizer of butter poached smoked lobster and pumpkin soufflé with cream cheese ice cream – all were delicious. The wine pairings were right on. My wife chose the open ravioli of poached lobster entrée. This was our first visit to Newport, but I cant imagine how this very romantic dining experience could be surpassed and the prices were very reasonable. We would certainly hurry back to the Muse if we didn’t live 3000 miles away!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Two coworkers and I had dinner at the Muse during restaurant week. The amouse bouche was very tasty and looked like a piece of art. My starter -- scallops -- were very good (I think that my colleagues found their soup a bit too salty). Our main course -- venison -- was delicious. We enjoyed for desert some mouth-watering chocolate creme brule (the pastry chef deserves a special compliment). Bill (restaurant manager) and Justin (waiter) were very friendly, efficient and professional!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Look no further for a true "fine dining" experience here at Muse.
We started with a chef special white tomato soup w/toasted Thyme, Lamb pistachio crusted and Halibut atop fennel risotto, both entrees and our extra chanterelle mushrooms divine!
Finished with more surprise truffles chocolate w/salted caramel and crystallized basil, in a word "Amazing."

Thank you Kindly,
Hilary Block and Family

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good food, what else is there to say, I didn't pay so I don't know cost as I was on a business trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muse by Jonathan Cartwright also viewed

 

Been to Muse by Jonathan Cartwright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muse by Jonathan Cartwright, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.