We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cupcake Charlie's

Cupcake Charlie's
135 Swinburne Row, Brick Market Place, Newport, RI 02840
+1 508-477-2253
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $3
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Takeout, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Dessert
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Vacation treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm a huge fan of sweets and this place is always on my go-to list when we go to RI. The shop is SO cute. Where can I start? Huge thing for me was the frosting shots because my daughter actually only eats frosting so it was perfect and not every place is doing that yet. Now, did I eat about 6 or 7 cupcakes? Yeah of course! And I wouldn't eat them if they weren't absolutely delicious. The hostess type one was absolutely amazing. The chocolate cake in general is so moist. We also loved the orange, which was super sweet but also cream filled and therefore completely yummy. Even my mom who doesn't like lemon loved the lemon cupcake that's filled with some type of sweet lemon curd. Oh and the chocolate raspberry is filled with some kind of chocolate raspberry truffle that is some of the most delicious I've ever had. I even took a dozen over to someone's house and they were in love with all of them also. Oh and everyone in there is so nice, it's definitely a win in Newport!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“stop and shop sells better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The cupcakes are expensive and in my opinion taste as though they have been sitting there for a few days. Many other Newport bakery's have cupcakes for half the price and double the quality. Total tourist trap!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“colorful temptations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A charming curb appeal will take any cupcake lover right in the door - even if your plan was to go in another direction! While downtown , I couldn't resist going in to reward myself with a treat for a good day's work. ( the promise was to save my treat for after dinner.) Got a chocolate mint cupcake and it was tasted soon as I reached my car in the lot. Then devoured before I reached home (only 5 mins away). The ONLY thing a customer will have problem with, is choosing which of the yummily decorated cupcakes they want to purchase. Yay to Cupcake Charlie's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Delicous cupcakes but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I will say the first time going to Cupcake Charlies I was a bit shocked at home expensive one cupcake was, roughly $5. However they are huge and really are gourmet, so after eating one I realized they are worth the price, just be prepared.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow, yummy. Had the red velvet. The cake was moist and the cream cheese icing was amazing. Sweet but not too sweet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Downtown location. They came in 2nd placw on cupcake wars. If this was #2 would love to try the winner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupcake Charlie's also viewed

 

Been to Cupcake Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cupcake Charlie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.