We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rough Point

Rough Point
680 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-849-7300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 Attractions in Newport
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mansion belonging to the American Tobacco Co. heiress and founder of the Newport Restoration Foundation, Doris Duke.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I live in the Newport area and decided to tour Rough Point for the first time when a relative came into town. I have been to several of the other Newport mansions and I can say that Rough Point is definitely my favorite. As several of the other commentators noted, Rough Point is not as opulent and formal as the other mansions, although it did have many very expensive paintings and art collection pieces. It is easy to imagine Doris Duke actually living here. The view of the ocean is incredible and I enjoyed the short film and exhibit about Doris Duke's life. Our tour guide, Kate, was very knowledgeable about the home and provided many interesting details about the furnishings, art collections and the home itself. I brought my grade school boys along on the tour and they were given a scavenger hunt sheet to find certain items in each room. It kept them entertained for the approximately 75 minute tour. I would highly recommend taking this tour on your visit to Newport. I have come away with a new appreciation for Doris Duke's benevolence and many noteworthy charitable causes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    37
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best tour of incredible, but often overlooked, mansion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Josh was our tour guide and he not only knew details of countless numbers of priceless antiques and the art collection. But, even better, he provided a personal portrait of the owner, Doris Duke. I left feeling inspired to make a difference to causes I support, as Ms. Duke did for Newport, conservation efforts of several kinds, abused/neglected children and sharing her vast and beautiful collection with the public.

Thank you, Josh, for sharing your vast knowledge of Ms. Duke and her many, and generous, charitable contributions to so many important causes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A character from our times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A worthy visit and tour. A little more depth on the Doris Duke's personality and choice of lifestyle would round off a great tour of the physical aspect of her Newport Life

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Spectacular house, average tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A tour of Doris Duke's Rough Point estate will cost more than any other such tour in Newport that I know of. The woman selling tickets in the house said they appeal to the discerning visitor, that is, not the hordes packing The Vanderbilt trophies, but the tour itself did not really distinguish itself to me.

It's a wonderful house and an interesting story. You get the feeling that Doris Duke still lives theres, but you will see the downstairs at somewhat of a distance as most rooms are roped off, and you will only see her bedroom and sitting room upstairs and nothing of the third floor. This is a very large house, sprawling really, but you don't get the sense of it on the tour. The kitchen and butler's pantry downstairs were seen only from the hallway and difficult to appreciate. The grounds, and ocean views, are spectacular and you could visit them whether you toured the house or not.

The house has been spared the sort of crass commercialism of the Vanderbilt properties, which is to say there isn't a gift shop, thankfully, selling the same kitsch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Doris Duke Mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Such an interesting story attached to this amazing mansion. Take the time to at least tour Bellevue Ave and see these decadent mansions but also learn the story of philantropist Doris Duke. It is heartwarming, indeed, to learn the extent that this amazing heiress participated in giving throughout her life.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rough Point also viewed

 

Been to Rough Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rough Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.