We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise gift experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thames Glass

Thames Glass
688 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-846-0576
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 Shopping in Newport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open Mon-Sat 10-5, Sun 12-5 with glassblowing available to watch or experience most days, including weekends. "Make your own" hand blown glass ornament or paperweight with lots of help from a skilled glassblower (the glass you make takes 2 days to cool, so you can come back, or arrange for us to ship it to you). Give us a call to schedule a glassblowing experience or come on in and see what is available. We have beautiful hand blown glass gifts for moms, weddings, dads, and grads, made here in our studio on the premises. There is no charge to watch the glassblowing. See you soon!
Franklin Square, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful surprise gift experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

My husband surprised me with this unique glass blowing experience. It was great! Everyone was very friendly, and my husband and 4 yr old son were able to watch me. I was fascinated by the process and the store has incredible pieces of functional art. Would definitely do again!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Friendly staff and working artists! Great sale in late November.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Glass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Matthew & his staff are amazing glassblowers. Many of the windows in my house have his colored glass ornaments hanging in them. You can even attend a glass blowing class and make your own ornament which I did a couple of years ago.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Such fun and no artistic skill required!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Thames Glass is world reknown for its beautiful glass-blown ornaments, bowls, plates, and especially snowmen. Ask to see their original ornament for the White House Christmas Tree. We were a little intimidated when we read the advertisement to make our own Christmas ornaments. But, throwing caution to the wind, we stopped by the shop on lower Thames and we were "blown-away" (excuse the pun) by the whole experience. The artists (we worked with Shane and Amanda) at Thames immediately put you at ease and lead you through a point-by-point tutorial, as you create a beautiful ornament keepsake. In today's economy, you can't go wrong with a $30 hand-blown ornament for that hard-to-buy-for person...teacher, pastor, sister-in-law, neighbor. Or, if you are like me, you will be so thrilled with the outcome, you will keep it for yourself. So, visit Thames Glass and let you inner artist out!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Charming handblown glasswork, not excessively expensive.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thames Glass also viewed

 

Been to Thames Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thames Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.