We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breads and pastries!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemary and Thyme Cafe

Rosemary and Thyme Cafe
382 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840
(401) 619-3338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Bakery, European, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Chef / Owners Matt & Anna Tscheulin welcome you to visit Rosemary & Thyme , a small artisan style bakery and cafe located in historic downtown Newport, R.I. All our baked goods , pasteries, soups , salads, and atisan sandwiches are scratch made daily in our kitchen . All daily leftovers are donated to our local food pantry. We invite you to spend some time with us
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent breads and pastries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I visited this spot on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews, and they were spot on. Prior to leaving Newport, we stopped by for breakfast. We got a few rolls and pastries - everything tasted extremely fresh and flavorful.

When we talk about future visits to Newport, we inevitably talk about a stop at Rosemary and Thyme Cafe....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    44
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I went here for lunch based on the trip advisor reviews we read. We were NOT disappointed. We were there at 2:00 on a Saturday and we got the last table. It is very small, maybe 6 tables. We were greeted promptly. The sandwich menu is very creative and the food is fresh. The breads for the sandwiches are freshly made. The music playing was nice soft jazz which added to the comfort of this little gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sinfully delicious sandwiches in a cozy corner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Yesterday we visited a tiny bit of heaven on the first day of a holiday mini-vacation.
Rosemay and Thyme sounded appealing from what we had read on TripAdvisor.We entered this postage-sized haven and were greeted by a most congenial hostess behind the counter, who took our order and sat us down at one of the two tables unoccupied. So many tempting sandwiches and so little time! We both chose the pear and brie with carmelized onions and prosciutto on a baguette, toasted to perfection. Our sandwiches were served us by the chef herself.One bite and we were hooked. This is a place not to be missed !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Thanks Again Reviewers"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I ate lunch here during a recent trip to Newport (to celebrate our anniversary). I picked the restaurant purely on tripadvisor reviewer recommendations (which had it ranked as the second best restaurant in Newport). All I can say is that the reviews were spot on. Amazing sandwiches!! The place is very small (about a half a dozen tables); so I can't imagine what it is like in there during the summer (we were there in early November). Nevertheless, it is most definitely worth trying out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We found this cafe on Yelp and it is a little gem. Very small but super food, home made, and excellent coffee. Very welcoming and friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosemary and Thyme Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rosemary and Thyme Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemary and Thyme Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.