We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caramel corn EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilwin's (Chocolates & Ice Cream)

Kilwin's (Chocolates & Ice Cream)
262 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6613
401-619-3998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 209 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Description: Must be a recently opened shop, as it looks totally closed in Streetview. also see http://www.yelp.com/biz/kilwins-newport
Restaurant details
Description: Must be a recently opened shop, as it looks totally closed in Streetview. also see http://www.yelp.com/biz/kilwins-newport
Waltham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best caramel corn EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I make it a point to stop at Kilwin's every time I am in Newport, RI, as the Nutcracker Sweet caramel corn (with pecans and almonds) is OUTSTANDING!!! The best caramel corn EVER. It is quite expensive ($18.95 for a bag), but I just found out that if you buy 2 you get 1 free...not sure if that was a short-term promotion or an all the time thing, but once you taste it, you won't care. Their chocolates are also quite good...especially the dark chocolate salted caramel. I like to bring family and friends here too, as no one has ever been disappointed by the treats in this shop. Parking is the only tricky thing about this store...you have to stake out a nearby spot if you are there on a busy weekend. Delicious, and highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    25
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Kilwin's is a real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We visited Kilwin's a couple of times during our week-long trip -- once for ice cream and once for chocolate. While a bit pricey, if you're in the mood for either chocolate or ice cream, this place won't disappoint. There are several ice cream places in the area -- try them all, but I bet you'll return to Kilwin's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I've had better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Felt as if I was back at home at a carvel or Baskin robins. Best ice cream is on block island! Blueberry waffle flavor wasn't bad

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Don't get turned off by atmosphere/crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was skeptical of this ice cream/candy parlor since it looked to me like a tourist trap. I assumed the ice cream would be subpar but was surprised to find exceptionally good ice cream! I always judge an ice cream parlor by its chocolate and here the chocolate flavor really tasted like chocolate - not just sweet cream with a hint of cocoa. I would definitely come back here on our next trip to Newport!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The ice cream was good but the fudge is the best I've ever tried! We brought home caramel, sea salt chocolates for my Inlaws and they are delicious! They have so many yummy treats to choose from! If you're looking for something sweet after din or a treat to bring home this is def the place! Try there signature chocolate turtle fudge! Mmmm

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwin's (Chocolates & Ice Cream) also viewed

 

Been to Kilwin's (Chocolates & Ice Cream)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilwin's (Chocolates & Ice Cream), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.