We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice Of Mexican Heaven In Rhode Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diego's

Diego's
11 Bowen's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401.619.2640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 177 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Diegos is a casual Mexican Restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. Open year round for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Family owned restaurant that sits on Bowens Wharf next to shopping and hotels. Reservations and walk ins always welcome!
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Slice Of Mexican Heaven In Rhode Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The patio is now open, and I recommend you sit out there. Market lights strewn all around, this casual spot is serving fresh Mexican cuisine with a modern twist. To start, we ordered the Braker’s Guac (made-to order guacamole served with freshly cooked tortilla chips with Salsa Fresca). This is the perfect starter, and the best part is, they refill your chips. The guac is rustically chopped up, fresh and flavorful. The salsa is really nice too, and the chips have a great crisp crunch.

To drink, I went with The Passion of Spice (El Buho Mezcal, fresh passion fruit puree, habanero infused tequila, house made sour and pineapple juice served on the rocks). This drink was pretty incredible. You’re hit with the heat from the habanero, and then get a little bit of the smokiness from the Mezcal, but then, to refresh and cool off the drink, is the sweetness from the pineapple. Really, really good.

For my entree, I ordered The Spicy Catch Salad (Blackened Cod over mixed greens with julienned veggies, ripe tomato, pineapple jicama salsa and pomegranate-chipotle vinaigrette). I really loved this salad. The ingredients were abundant, yet light, allowing you to eat healthy without leaving hungry. The fish was light, flaky, and full of flavor with a really nice spice. The dressing was really delicious too, adding some sweetness to the fresh dish.

You can read my full review with photos at http://sprungonfood.com/2014/07/14/diegos/

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    98
    17
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So happy I found you. I will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A friend and I had a light lunch before a sailboat ride on the Adirondack II and randomly chose Diego's because it is close to sailboat launch. Check Diego's out if you want Some unique mexican choices with seafood flair. The guacamole had shrimp, scallops on top and was so fresh and flavourful. Spicy tuna tostadas were excellent as well. I had the spicy habanero infused tequila with ruby red which I adored and will try to make at home. Just the right amount of spice. Staff was friendly and the restaurant had such a cute outdoor patio area. I will be back to try some of the other unique menu choices. Mexican and seafood with great drinks? Sight me up.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not recommended if you are really hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It was a busy night but from the time we asked for a table till dinner arrived was over 1.5 hours.

Food was ok. Lots of interesting things on the menu. They also have a kids menu

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great stop for lunch and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stopped in for some appetizers and drinks. The menu and drink list have some new and interesting options that you won't see at the typical pub or waterfront bar. Try the grilled avocado and one of their many tequila cocktails. Looking forward to visiting again on our next trip to Newport.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“It was too crowded to enjoy more than once.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Mexican Seafood in Newport. Yes! We were looking for a place on the water but "settled" for Diego's near the water. The outdoor seating was comfortable and shady. Our first meal was about 4:30 pm, so we didn't have a problem getting a table.

We ordered a little bit of everything and sampled the food. We enjoyed everything from quesadillas to shrimp rangoons and Guacamole Del Mar. The nachos were very good and so was the ceviche.

The star of this show was the Bloody Marys though. Delicious.

We went back a few nights later for dinner (and more Bloody Marys), but the place was packed.

Definitely recommend if you are in the mood for a slightly different menu. The service is very casual as is the atmosphere. Don't expect fine dining, and you will love it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diego's also viewed

 

Been to Diego's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diego's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.