We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and funky, outdoor Mexican with good food, too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diego's

Diego's
11 Bowen's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401.619.2640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Diegos is a casual Mexican Restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. Open year round for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Family owned restaurant that sits on Bowens Wharf next to shopping and hotels. Reservations and walk ins always welcome!
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fun and funky, outdoor Mexican with good food, too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I know from reading the other reviews that some were pretty negative on Diego, but i went anyway. Great, very relaxed atmosphere, terrific service, and pretty good food. Oh, and some really awesome Margarita's. OK, so here is the deal...
Ideal location on Bowen's Wharf
Eclectic Mexican menu
Very competent and fun, friendly service
Very tasty food.
Great place to people watch.
We had the Calamari and the Enchilada del Dia. We loved them both.
GO!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    90
    16
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Burnt Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Need to improve service and the food came out burnt.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the outside seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Cute Mexican place with outdoor tables and a small outdoor bar. Blankets provided if it gets chilly. We enjoyed the nachos (could've had more meat on them though) and a cold beer and would definitely go back for a meal the next time we are in town.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bobby Forster IS Diego's best PR Staffperson!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Food always tastes better when the service is attentive, committed, and actually invested in your experience. Came for visit April 10th - beautiful Sunday Morning and it was a random selection, steered a bit by a photo shoot of the food taking place in the umbrella'd courtyard. Seemed like a nice place for a birthday brunch. Really small, comfy, and in the heart of the warf. Drinks - were wonderful. Apptizers hit the mark and the food really delicious. All the staff were pleasant but we won the prize with Bobby. Owner Scott Kirmil should be proud! Kevin and I will be back. And we've told our friends already. - Betty (CT) and Kevin (NY) Loiacono.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The reviewer below who called it 'gourmet Mexican' is exactly right. I went here for the first time last night and it won't be the last (good Mexican can be hard to find in New England). I had the spicy guacamole, chopped salad (which was good, but not chopped), and the Barbicoa Burrito (huge, and today's lunch). Everything was reasonably priced, delicious, and the atmosphere was nice. All four of us really enjoyed our meals and drinks.

From the reviews, it seems this place can be hit or miss, and it might not be for people seeking a "traditional" mexican restaurant setting, but I'll definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diego's also viewed

 

Been to Diego's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diego's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.