We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mock James Beard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tallulah on Thames

Tallulah on Thames
464 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6728
401-849-2433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 204 restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a new restaurant. Farm to Table movement. Chef owned.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mock James Beard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The folks at Tallulah's have been invited to the James Beard Foundation. A very high honor. Last week they ran the menu by the luck few of us who were able to reserve a space for the night. It was spectacular. Not only was the food perfect, but the plating and uniqueness of the presentation was outstanding. It was art and food combined. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    142
    37
    12
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First rate meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a great dinner here at the weekend with my wife. Inventive, fresh and expertly prepared food with friendly and professional service. As an added bonus it was restaurant week and three courses were only $30 per person, though there were surcharges for some items like steak. My panna cotta was possibly the best I've ever had. The servings were a little on the small side but I suppose that is to be expected at that price. Nice atmosphere too. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Exquisite Dinner at Tallulah On Thames, Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Four of us dined at Tallulah's this past weekend and we had a marvelous dinner. It was Newport Restaurant Week, so we were able to get a sample of Tallulah's fine dining at about half price. The food is highly French influenced with the chef trained by an outstanding French chef (Robuchon). Everything has multiple layers of flavor, is made of locally fresh ingredients, and presented beautifully. Portions may be small for big eaters; but for us they were just right. Two of us had the salmon and two had the breast of chicken from the "tasting menu" of Restaurant Week which was a three-course meal for $30. We all had a delicious Montepuliciano red wine at $11 a glass. The rolls and freshly herbed butter were to die for. We all had (to our own surprise)a pea soup that was not like any pea soup I had ever had. It was absolutely wonderful. It was abounding in flavors and a wonderful, creamy puree. Dessert was a great panne cotta of chocolate and coffee flavors. We enjoyed the open kitchen plan (an homage to the Robuchon restaurant designs) where the diners can watch the chef and cooks at work. It was like watching a masterful drama unfold--everyone was focused on their particular tasks all night; needed little direction; worked as a well-oiled team. It was fun to watch. Service was excellent. Dylan was friendly, attentive and knowledgable. We had to ask for one of the salmon plates to be cooked a bit more, and not only did the team respond immediately with care, but they provided a free glass of wine to that guest for the inconvenience. Very nicely done!! We certainly would go back. It normally is expensive; but it is a very nice treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An exceptional meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a night out for Newport restaurant week. I was a bit disappointed, they added additional fees to about 1/2 of the selections. I did opt to pay the additional fees but felt a bit cheated out of the whole restaurant week experience. The service was excellent, the food very good but rather small servings. The environment though rather stark is small and inviting. Using restaurant week rates ($30pp to include app, meal and dessert) with the addition of 3 glasses wine - the bill was over $150 with the tip. So only complaint was rather pricey. I really liked the taste of the food and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Hills, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great spot for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were hungry for lunch and stumbled upon Tallulah on Thames during our stay in Newport. The sign outside advertised tacos and burritos, and we thought we'd give it a try. The food was delicious! We tried the beef tacos, fish burrito, fish tacos, and chicken tacos. The ingredients were all fresh and cooked to perfection. We wish we had discovered this restaurant before our last day in Newport so we could return for dinner. We will definitely come back here on our next trip to Newport!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallulah on Thames also viewed

 

Been to Tallulah on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallulah on Thames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.