We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Madeleine

Schooner Madeleine
Bannister's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401-847-0298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 55 Activities in Newport
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy our sailing tours and sunset harbor cruises through Newport Harbor and Narragansett Bay aboard our classic sailing yacht Madeleine. We offer sailing harbor tours and sunset sailing cruises aboard a 72-foot schooner sailing yacht Madeleine, which was specifically designed and built to carry passengers easily and safely sailing through the local waters of Newport. The sailing yacht Madeleine maintains 19th century sailboat style with a 21st century sailing yacht comfort and convenience.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped by the ticket kiosk just before a Wednesday mid-afternoon sail and purchased tickets for $30 each. There were only approx. 12 of us, besides the crew on this sail and it was wonderful. This was my first sailing experience and I was so glad that I did it. We were on the bay for approx. 1.5 hours. You are served complimentary non alcholic beverages, if you would like. I would highly recommend sailing on the Madeleine!! I was another schooner pulling out another day and it was cram packed with people....so glad our wasn't like that! Thanks to the captain and crew for a wonderful experience!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi!
Thank you for your review of our sailing vessel Madeleine. We're so happy to hear that you had a really nice adventure and that it wasnt crowded. We have been sailing Madeleine since 1991 and have always tried to give the best experiance we can to our guests. I hope we get to see you sail with us again next time your up in Newport.
Have a wonderful day!
KIM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    13
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Husband and I took the Sunset crusie. We had a fantastic time and got to see some beautiful homes from the water you can't see from Ocean Drive. Excellent crew!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Take the Helm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently, were fortunate enough to take the late afternoon cruise on the 72 foot Schooner Madeleine from Bannister's Wharf in Newport. With an amazingly informed and friendly crew of true sailors, a small group enjoyed our memorable trip around Newport Harbor in this pupose-built, wooden hulled ship flying 2000 square feet of sail.
The crew seemed to know everything about every sailing ship we passed as well as the history of this famous venue. They pointed out America's Cup winners and contenders, gave dates and facts that made the impromptu narrative as enjoyable as the sail itself.
The highlight of the trip was when the Captain asked if I wanted to take the wheel! Amazing how that little act could bring out the 12 year old boy in a grown man.
I highly recommend the Madeleine Harbor Cruise for anyone looking for a unique experience at a reasonable price. And, if you are really, really lucky, you may be able to take the helm and re-visit your inner child.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great way to see Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We sailed on a beautiful, clear, sunny day. The schooner had less than 20 people on board. Our captain, Jonathan, really knew so much about his ship and Newport Harbor. Thrilling ride, not crowded at all and a nice sunny glow after our ride!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fall river, massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sailing on the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We sailed on the Madeline for a small cruise around the bay. It was such a great afternoon. We were celebrating a birthday on board, and I can't say enough about the crew. They were just great. I would not hesitate for a minute to do this again. One of the nicest afternoons of the summer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Madeleine also viewed

 

Been to Schooner Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.