We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a sail not for information” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Madeleine

Schooner Madeleine
Bannister's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401-847-0298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 55 Activities in Newport
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy our sailing tours and sunset harbor cruises through Newport Harbor and Narragansett Bay aboard our classic sailing yacht Madeleine. We offer sailing harbor tours and sunset sailing cruises aboard a 72-foot schooner sailing yacht Madeleine, which was specifically designed and built to carry passengers easily and safely sailing through the local waters of Newport. The sailing yacht Madeleine maintains 19th century sailboat style with a 21st century sailing yacht comfort and convenience.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for a sail not for information”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Beautfiul boat and great 90-minute ride. If you've never been on a sail boat the is a great experience. They are also kid friendly which many places are not. However, hey advertise it as a sail and sightseeing "tour" where we expected to learn about what we were seeing. Nothing was ever said about what wee were seeing, and no history or information was provided. For this wee were highly disappointed. Should be called a ride, not a tour, and for a ride it was great. Go on the amazing grace if you really want info on Te area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    13
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Wonderful sail on this schooner. Polite and attentive staff. Immaculately maintained vessel. Beautiful cruise of the bay.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A found out that I love to sail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Took my family on this sailboat cruise (madeleine) on July 2. I loved it! The crew was wonderful....the boat is gorgeous. Thanks!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Highlight of my Newport vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I joined our group of 7 on the sunset cruise, and really enjoyed it! The crew was great, served us complimentary champagne and beer and answered our various questions about the boat, the boats around us, and the shoreline sights. I had my camera with me and I got some really awesome pictures so it was good all around on my end!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sunset Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Beautiful boat..knowledgeable crew…free drinks and awesome view of RI from the water. Worth every penny! ($37) Anything under 70 degrees bring a sweatshirt…it can get chilly out on the water :o)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Madeleine also viewed

 

Been to Schooner Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.