We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ending of vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Cruises of Newport

Classic Cruises of Newport
Bannister's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401 847-0298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 55 Activities in Newport
Type: Ships, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Classic Cruises operates the 58' classic motor yacht Rum Runner II and the 72' sailing vessel Madeleine. Rum Runner II offers guests an exhilarating passage through Narragansett Bay taking guests back to the era of prohibition. Experiance the breeze as it fills the sails on Madeleine, a traditional schooner, as she glides past Newport's historic scenery.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful ending of vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently enjoyed a sunset cruise on the Madeline.It was a little chilly but well worth the ride.We witnessed a rainbow-which excited the crew as much as the guests.The staff were very helpful and informative-great recommendation for dinner.We will definately do a repeat cruise our next time in Newport

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Classic Cruises of Newport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
This is a long overdue responce to say Thank You! We are so glad that you enjoyed your sail on Madeleine and to have a rainbow out there to top of the cruise was exceptional. I do hope to see you on board the next time you visit Newport - we will look forward to that happening. Thank you again and please accept my appologies for not having responded to your review when you sailed with us last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Madeline - fun sail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We got lucky and ended up sailing on a day with good winds - had a great sail. The crew was pleasant and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunset Sail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A good choice to end the day. compliemtary beverages. while we did not think we would need blankets on a very hot summer evening, they handed them out for anyone who did not bring a jacket. Nice crew and nice sail!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Madeleine - Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Had a great time aboard the sailboat for our sunset cruise. The staff was awesome, friendly and knowledgable about the boat and the surrounding area. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed ourselves.

They were also great bartenders too, never had empty hand ... Much appreciated, great time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rum Runner II - Fun and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

A boat ride on the Rum Runner II is a great activity for a nice summer day - great views of Newport Harbor and some interesting history lessons as well, both for a fair price! I highly recommend this trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classic Cruises of Newport also viewed

 

Been to Classic Cruises of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Cruises of Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.