We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing on the Madeleine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Cruises of Newport

Classic Cruises of Newport
Bannister's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401 847-0298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 47 activities in Newport
Type: Ships
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Classic Cruises operates the 58' classic motor yacht Rum Runner II and the 72' sailing vessel Madeleine. Rum Runner II offers guests an exhilarating passage through Narragansett Bay taking guests back to the era of prohibition. Experiance the breeze as it fills the sails on Madeleine, a traditional schooner, as she glides past Newport's historic scenery.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sailing on the Madeleine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We did a sunset cruise on the Madeleine. We were lucky to have a great wind that evening, so the schooner was really flying at some points. Very fun! The crew was great - informative, great just to chat with. Got a good recommendation for a restaurant outside town for dinner (Celestial Cafe - I'll write a separate review of that). I neglected to bring a jacket, but they had a blanket I could wrap in, which was great, because with the wind, it definitely got chilly. So glad we decided to sail for our harbor cruise!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice trip around the harbor and by with interesting history thrown in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The trip around Newport Harbor and the bay on Rum Runner II gave a fun insight into the prohibition activities in the area. From local residents' involvement to politicians on the take as well as questionable law enforcement the historical part of the trip seemed accurate when compared to written works of authors and historians.
The boat itself was to ride and the crew seemed genuinely interested in giving the tours.
Worth the trip!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Madeleine was Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We took a sunset cruise on the Madeleine and it was beautiful. They just take you along the coast of the harbor, giving you champagne (or your choice of drinks) telling to a little about what your seeing, you can ask questions or just sit back and relax. It was nice just very cold out on the water even for june, dress warmly.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Day with a Great Crew. John is a great captain and host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had a great day out on the water for four hours with 32 invited guests and 3 crew. Captain and crew did everything possibe to make it a memorable experience.
This is our third time on the Madeliene and next summer will be our fourth.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Madeleine cruise - would do it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

After touring mansions on our girlfriends getaway weekend, our group boarded the Madeleine. It was a smooth, pleasant ride and a good way to see the area from a different angle. The crew were entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classic Cruises of Newport also viewed

 

Been to Classic Cruises of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Cruises of Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Classic Cruises of Newport to your Saves list