We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room

Save Saved
You added Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   86 Spring Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I went to Newport in October to celebrate our anniversary. Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room was new to us, since we had always stayed at another B&B not far away. We were intrigued by the video the Inn had on its web page. So we decided to give it a try. Making the reservation over the phone to Susan (a very delightful and helpful owner), we were pleased with her manner of really making us feel we were wanted at the Inn. Upon arrival, and having our own valuable parking spot right next to the entry, Susan greeted us. What we had heard on the telephone was the same in person--a wonderful lady. She helped us settle in, then showed us around the Inn. Quaint, very nice ambiance and background music that made you feel right at home. The Tea Room was just as welcoming. And wow, what a great room we had--The Venice Room: large, well supplied with whatever we needed, and very quiet all night and into the next day. Susan pulled out the local map and pointed out several places to visit where we had never been on our previous visits to Newport. She suggested an Italian Restaurant--Sardella's. Tuesday and Wednesday nights it's loaded with fantastic menu specials, and live jazz on Wednesday. We went there: excellent food, friendly help and customers who all seemed to be really enjoying themselves. It was located up on Memorial Blvd, away from the crowded tourists area of Thames Street. We met Susan's husband, Bill, later that night. He was just as friendly and helpful as she was. He helped us with tips about our destination the next day--The Groton, CT. sub base and museum. They were perfect. Breakfast every morning was excellent--cooked to our own specs. We almost hated leaving when we checked out. Funny thing how great B&B's make you feel as though their home is also yours. Without a doubt, we will be back at Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room on our next visit to Newport. Try it. I'm sure you will leave with the same feelings we left with--just a perfect place.

Room Tip: The Venice Room--an excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
152
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The owners were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. The room we stayed in had few drawbacks because it faced the street on the ground level (bright street lamp and some traffic noise) and was a bit cramped, but otherwise it was comfortable, clean and reasonably priced for Newport.

Room Tip: Upstairs or back of house rooms probably would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Spring Seasons recently. The upstairs loft was spacious and very impressive. The jacuzzi tub was awesome and we so loved having our own private balcony/patio. Upon our arrival, Susan answered the door seemingly distracted as if we were interrupting her in the middle of something. In her defense, we did arrive a bit early but we were just checking to see if we could perhaps check in early or at minimum, use the restroom and then find out where we could grab a bite to eat (we just got in from a long drive from NJ). Susan did not have an available restroom and did not want me to see our room before it was done being cleaned. On one hand I understand, but doesn't really make for a good first impression. She reluctantly allowed me to use the restroom in our room (thank God). We later learned she was preparing for a party she was having for her tea room part of her business (which is for the public and will talk more about later) which must have been why she seemed distracted. The location is fabulous..very close to the downtain and Susan did recommend some pretty amazing places to eat but her breakfasts were mediocre. When I think B&B, I don't think of a basic omelette with some american cheese. It wasn't bad, just average. I have been to many b&b's where they serve things like cream cheese french toast or a quiche perhaps and then have afternoon tea with say some snacks and even wine spritzers or something like that. This place is nothing like that. This part I just have to chuckle about..when my husband and I go away, we enjoy getting an early start so we can maximize our time taking in the town and doing some sightseeing. Susan asked us what time we would like to eat breakfast (which we thought was very nice to ask) however to our surprise when we mentioned 8-8:30am, that was 'too early." which left me wondering why did she even ask us? Then as if that weren't shocking enough, she made sure that we knew we had to be out by 11am!
Susan's husband was very nice and gave us some aspirin as my husband had a headache.
When we got back from lunch one of the days we were there, we thought we could have some tea but she was having another tea party (for the public-not guests) which then left us feeling as if we were intruders. my husband asked if he could have a piece of chocolate which she replied, oh no, sorry they are for the tea party guests. Really?? In my opinion, it seemed to me that the tea room is taking away from the personal touch that one would expect from a b&b. Overall, we had a wonderful time considering the location was excellent as well as our room, and we did a lot of sightseeing which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: the upstairs loft was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringSeasons, Owner at Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed our spacious Newport Suite with its large Jacuzzi tub and private deck. As you had mentioned, location is important and we do believe we have a great location with very short walks to outstanding restaurants and shopping.

Check in time is normally 3PM but we did allow this guest to park early. As we are a small three room Inn, we do everything ourselves. The hours between breakfast and check in time are spent cleaning up after breakfast, cleaning or turning over rooms and the normal chores of running a busy bed and breakfast. After arriving at around 11AM, this guest parked, rang the doorbell and wanted to use the bathroom. The room was not ready as guests had just vacated the room and we were in the middle of turning over all the rooms. We unfortunately do not have a common bathroom available for guests to use. We have always felt that allowing a guest to use a room that is not ready for their arrival does not leave a good impression. We did however let them use their unfinished room.

We offer a full, hearty breakfast. This guest is obviously used to gourmet breakfasts that some Inns and B&B’s advertise. Most of our guests love our full breakfasts and have told us so over and over again.

We don’t mind doing an early continental breakfast for guests who have a plane to catch but our normal breakfast hours are between 8:45 – 9:30. On their last day here, since they were the only ones in the Inn, we asked them what time they would like breakfast meaning between our normal serving times. When they replied 8AM, we did say that was too early. As for check out times, our policies are advertised and we don’t normally come right out and say check out is at 11AM unless it happened to come up in conversation. If we see our guests come in from the day, we do offer them iced or hot tea. This guest caught me just as I was preparing to serve food on a tray to tearoom guests. I gladly would have given them something if they had waited. We also have a Keurig coffee/tea machine and put out Cream Sherry in the evening. We are sorry that we did not live up to this particular guests expectation as we do strive to accommodate all our guests and give them a first class experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay at Spring Seasons was perfect. We had the suite that occupied the entire loft level and it was huge! The location is excellent with everything within easy walking distance. Susan was the perfect host - delicious breakfasts and great tips on what to do. Thanks for making our visit to Newport a memorable one!

Room Tip: The loft suite has a private deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location, we enjoyed walking to downtown and the wharfs. Susan was very accommodating and friendly. Breakfasts were delicious, especially the breads and muffins. Rooms were smallish (pretty standard for a BnB) and looked pretty dated. Bathrooms had wood paneling in the wet areas, not necessarily a bad thing, but a bit odd. Newport is expensive, and while I cringed at the room rate, it was pretty much in line with other BnBs in the area of the same quality. If you don't care where you are staying and want a cheaper rate, try priceline. If you want a nice BnB with a little character to experience Newport, the Spring Seasons fits the bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringSeasons, Owner at Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We appreciate the feedback that you offered regarding your stay with us and we are pleased that we made you feel comfortable in our home and that you enjoyed our breakfasts. This particular guest chose to stay in our smallest room and did not have the opportunity to see the other rooms as they were occupied so he cannot possibly offer comments about the rooms other than his own. In our largest room for instance, guests have told us the bathroom is as big as their whole apartment!

Our home is an 1850's era home in a National Historic District but our rooms are by no means dated. The wood paneling in two of our bathrooms do have a story behind them and we do tell guests who comment on it. One of the previous owners of the Inn was a sailor and high end model ship maker. When he redid the bathrooms, he wanted them to resemble the interior of some of the ships he had worked on.

As for our room rates, we believe that we give a fair amount of service and amenities for the rates that we charge our guests in line with other fine Inns of our caliber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 days at Spring Seasons Inn. Location is perfect, and the host was extremely nice. The breakfast was warm and fresh, and the tea pot she made every morning was wonderful. We stayed in the first floor room which is the smallest in the Inn. It had everything you need. Nice Jacuzzi tub, wonderful bed, and small flat screen TV.
We are not so into a typical New England B&B with some kitsch twist to it, but this Inn was not over the top. Yes, there was a Thomas Kinkade-ish picture on the wall and Richard Clayderman playing during the breakfast, but we didn't feel uncomfortable. It just showed how sweet the host is. Again, nothing over the top kitsch.
I would come back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This B&B was in a perfect location for what we wanted to do while in Newport. Close to town, but away from noise. The room was wonderful and very clean. We stayed in the Venetian which was larger than I had expected and was pleasantly surprised. Our hosts were very nice and accomodating. The breakfast was very good . If I get a chance to visit Newport again, I will definitely stay at the Spring Seasons Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room

Address: 86 Spring Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our classic Victorian Newport Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast lodging offers amenities that will make your stay memorable. Candlelight breakfast, Jacuzzi style baths and our location close to waterfront dining, shopping and attractions make our Newport Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast perfect for your Rhode Island escape. The lovely gardens and window boxes are “Newport in Bloom” award winners every year. Explore the treasures of Newport and beyond from our exquisite bed and breakfast Newport RI lodging hideaway. At The Spring Seasons Inn, your exclusive Rhode Island adventure awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.