We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend this place to ANYONE--at ANYTIME!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artful Lodger Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Artful Lodger Inn to your Saves list
Artful Lodger Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   503 Spring St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Alameda, California
1 review
“I highly recommend this place to ANYONE--at ANYTIME!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Beautiful surroundings--inside and out. Fantastic location. Customer Service is second to none. This place is worth getting on a plane, and coming to--just to stay THERE! Feels like you are going back in time when you're there. Feels warm, cozy, and very classy! Historic, easy parking, and very quiet. By having this B&B nearby, all Newporters should be proud, and proud to put ANYONE up at that place. Best B&B I've ever stayed at--by far!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    18
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
5
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I have resisted staying at Bed and Breakfast establishments for many years while my .wife consistenlty has begged me to try one out. It was our anniversary and I decided to be a nice guy and book the Artful Lodger in Newport this past January. I now have a new perspective and outlook about Bed and Breakfast establishments. It was a lot of the little things that mattered and far cry from the cold feel I have had from hotel experiences. The management was friendly and helpful, the room was very clean, the decor was impressive and the breakfast we had and the conversation with other happy guests made the stay one to remember. I highly recommend the Arfful Lodger.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here and would never ever recommend or go back for the following reasons:

the back door where you enter was a problem to open
there were large old stains on the two hallway rugs where we checked in
there were wires exposed in the closet to be used to hang our clothes in
the smell of plug in air freashers trying to mass the musty smell was sicking
there was no phone in the room if you needed anything
the shower had what looked like black mold on the side
there was no key hole to look through before opening the door into the room where we stood and checked in
there was no hair dryer, internet or other amenties
there was free breakfast which we passed up as it required climbing to the third flloor winding stairway which was very narrow and had no railing

I wonder how this place was able to pass inspection as a B&B, are there standards, regulations, etc covering B&B's?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artfullodger_10, Owner at Artful Lodger Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
I “Avoid this Place”

We have been operating successfully in Newport since 1992 and feel an obligation to try and please every guest that we have the privilege of accommodation. We feel an even greater responsibility to try and address any problems brought to our attention and are grateful for the feedback. However, as we were unaware that this guest was unhappy, please allow us to address the concerns here, item by item:

1 The back door operates on a state of the art code lock system that has worked flawlessly since its installation 5 years ago.

2 There are no “stains” on the oriental hallway rugs. perhaps the shadows in the knap or the design appear as such.

3 We are inspected by the town of Newport, the state fire marshall and our B&B association, so “exposed wires in the closet” would be of course not tolerated.

4 We do not use “plug-in air fresheners” in any of our rooms

5 We had room phones in the past but the prevalence of cell phones made them obsolete. There is, however, a phone available for free local calls on the first level.

6 We have a reputation for cleanliness and inspect our rooms after each cleaning and would, of course, not allow “black mold”.

7 “There was no key hole to look through” - We have locks on our doors and have never felt the need to install “key hole viewers”.

8 There is a hairdryer in every room in a drawer.

9 We have had free wi-fi throughout the inn that works perfectly for several years.

10 We serve breakfast on the third level because there is a breath-taking view of Newport Harbor from that level.

11 The “winding stairway” is a feature of our 1850 victorian property and is part of the charm of our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Yes, this place has a good location. That is the most I can say for it. I could not get over how dirty this place was. I was all set for a shower the morning after a wedding. I almost didn't get in. The shower curtain had mold growing on it. The tub itself looked like it had seen much better days. Don't get me started on the nasty bath mat.

Breakfast was three pieces of toast piled up to look like French toast. Cinnamon was dumped on the top along with a couple of strawberries from a can and their juice. I eat pretty much anything. This was horrible.

I knew I was staying somewhere that wasn't as expensive as the rest in Newport. However, I do expect cleanliness. This place doesn't have it. Avoid it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artfullodger_10, Owner at Artful Lodger Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
We have enjoyed a stellar reputation in Newport since 1992 for cleanliness. It is one of the elements of our business that we have total control over and we assign it our highest priority. That said, we were shocked and dismayed at these comments. We are members in good standing with the local B&B association which regularly inspects us. In fact, the owner of the Artful Lodger was the first president of that association and his wife headed the committee which drew-up the original criteria for inspecting each member property.

We honestly do not remember ever receiving a complaint in this area and we can only say we wish the guest had brought anything that displeased them to our attention. We continue to strive for the highest level of cleanliness and are perplexed by the incredible comments of this guest. No shower curtain or bath mat in our property has mold on it.

We use the freshest ingredients in our breakfasts and our French Toast is one of our signature offerings so, again, we are perplexed by this guests comments. We do appreciate the guest noting our “good location” and hope we have another opportunity to try and please them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed one night. Had the "Grace" room, which is very small with a King Sized bed (2 twins together). The room was adequate for me - fairly quiet (it was in the back - the rooms direectly on Spring surely have a lot of car noise), no view to speak of, small but adequate bathroom with stall shower, a somewhat dated and faded decor (lace curtains, etc.). Would have been quite cramped for two. On the upside, the "conservatory", on the 3rd floor up a winding staircase, where a delicious, freshly cooked full breakfast was served, has a wall of windows, fantastic view of rooftops and the harbor, and the option of sitting outside on a little deck. Also a real plus is the location - about 1/2 - 3/4 miles from the Cliff Walk, just one block from Bellvue where most of the mansions are, and one block from Thames Street, the main drag with shops and restaurants. Not having to drive is a real plus in Newport, because the traffic can be bad.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

My husband and I first stayed at the artful lodger years back for our anniversary. All I can say is we simply love the Inn Keepers! They are warm, engaging, fun-loving, kind and accommodating. The home is centrally located, clean and the view is beautiful. The breakfasts have always been delicious and unique. We love B&B's and have stayed in many throughout the yrs, However this is our favorite. It's like coming home!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

This was our second stay at the Artful Lodger. This stay another couple came with us to share the weekend in Newport. They also were very happy with their stay at the Lodger. The rooms we had were clean and comfortable. The front porch as well as a couple spots on the grounds offer a relaxed sitting area to share conversation and drink your favorite beverage. The owners (Ric and Rose) as well as the manager (Cindy) are wonderful people. Cindy spoke with us at lenght while gardening and answered our many questions about the area. She made us lemonade and we just sat at the table under a shade tree out back and talked while she worked on the plants. The evening was highlighted by a hillarious sing-a-long with made up words and phrases from our hosts and ourselves. Though both Ric and Rose did share their talents with a song or two which I believe they perform publicly. The next morning we had french toast, bacon, juice, coffee, etc. for breakfast on the third floor glassed porch with beautiful views of the bay. Location is perfect as you are close to much of what Newport has to offer but off the busy main road. Parking is available off street which is nice. Overall a nice place to stay and we will return. Ed and Tracy

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artful Lodger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artful Lodger Inn

Address: 503 Spring St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artful Lodger Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully Restored Victorian With Harbor Views! Enjoy the Artful Lodger Inn, one of Newport Rhode Island's most quaint Bed and Breakfasts!Located in the heart of Newport's historic downtown, our intimately decorated Victorian Inn offers views of Newport Harbor, spacious accommodations and a beautiful setting to just relax, unwind and enjoy. Neighboring The Elms mansion, we are an intimate treasure tucked amongst Newport's most glorious mansions.Enjoy the Artful Lodger Inn, one of Newport Rhode Island's most quaint Bed and Breakfasts!Located in the heart of Newport's historic downtown, our intimately decorated Victorian Inn offers views of Newport Harbor, spacious accommodations and a beautiful setting to just relax, unwind and enjoy. Neighboring The Elms mansion, we are an intimate treasure tucked amongst Newport's most glorious mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Artful Lodger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artful Lodger Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.