We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 4-night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Farge Perry House

Save Saved
You added La Farge Perry House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Farge Perry House
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   24 Kay St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful 4-night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the John LaFarge room on the first floor. When we arrived, Marise, the innkeeper, was quite gracious and took us on a tour of the entire house. The home is quite nicely appointed and very clean. Marise told us to "make the house our home" and that is exactly how we felt, only very pampered. Breakfasts were great and homemade cookies were always available in the afternoon. We have stayed in many B&B's and this was one of the most pleasant experiences we have had. Our room was cleaned immaculately each day. Even though it rained alot during our vacation, it didn't dampen our trip as we always looked forward to coming "home" to Marise and the LaFarge Perry House.

Room Tip: The John Lafarge room can get just a tad warm at night but Marise had no problem with us adjusting t...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
154
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We only stayed at the La Farge Perry House for one night, and we wish we had stayed longer. We tried three different places in three nights. Our innkeeper, Maurice (?), had only been there for two weeks and you would have thought it was much longer. Moshe was very welcoming and helpful. Not only did she run the place, she cooked the wonderful breakfast that we had as well. We stayed in the Oliver room with a king bed on the second floor. It was very large with a refrigerator and a nice size bathroom. It was within easy walking distance from the center of town and had plan of parking. There was a large group of people staying there who were attending a wedding, and they made the atmosphere more fun, but we would have enjoyed ourselves regardless. It was a wonderful stay, and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for a night. We wished we had stayed for more. Lovely rooms, quirky house and easy walking to the town centre/ waterfront and mansions. The car park is also large.
The breakfasts are wonderful and they make the best cup of tea I have had on the east coast!
We will be visiting again?

Room Tip: I think any room would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton On Tees
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here on my first visit to Newport with my sister..
Newport is a lovely place and by staying at La Farge made our visit sooooooo much more.
Jenny, was just the perfect innkeeper.
She could not do enough for us! She was kind, funny, attentive, the perfect cook and even more perfect at cookie making. She is a true asset to La Farge Perry!!!!!
Our room was beautiful, very clean and extremely comfortable.
There is not one negative comment to make!
Well maybe one........... We had to leave to come home! :-)
Our holiday experience at Newport was definitely made more enjoyable because of Jenny and
La Farge. We will never forget our stay.
Thank you Jenny x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBOKEN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are currently staying in the John La Farge room at this cute quintessential bed and breakfast. After a long anticipated Chicago vacation was abruptly canceled due to weather and flight cancelations, my husband and I decided to head to Rhode Island for a weekend of relaxation. The La Farge Perry house delivers. The house is superbly decorated, cozy , and in an ideal location .

The Room: We were placed in theJohn La Farge room . Comfortable with a large bathroom and jacuzzi tub. The bed is very comfortable and all in room amenities are lovely.

The staff: Our Inn keeper Jennifer is a very nice woman, helpful and unobtrusive. She helped us secure a room at the last minute as well as secure dinner reservations .

The Food: Delicious!! Breakfast made to order . Today's choice was broccoli and cheese quiche or blueberry pancakes . Both were delicious . Breakfast was accompanied by homemade croissants, fresh fruit , yogurt and granola. Tea and coffee are available all day. Fresh baked macaroons in the afternoon. We are excited for tomorrow's selection.

Location: Free parking, within walking distance of almost everything.


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a night only, being on our way from Boston to New York.

We got a queen bed room on the 2nd floor with view over the Newport bridge. The room was very big and nicely decorated. Only drawback was the very soft and bumpy bed, I woke up every time my boyfriend turned around...

The b&b is well located, a short walk to the marina of Newport with all the shops and restaurants. Jennifer gave us a good address for seafood restaurant, it was excellent, try the Mooring Restaurant if you like seafood, they even offer gluten-free menus.

The breakfast consisted of muffins, juices, pancakes, scrambled eggs, cereals and fruits... looked delicious (I couldn't try it myself as I'm gluten-intolerant)

You can park in front of the house for free, which was very convenient.

I would definitely go back to La Farge Perry House.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great B&B in great location in Newport. It is a magnificent old house and the innkeeper clearly loves what she does. Fresh macaroons and cookies are always available (she even gave me some on our way out!). Breakfast is basically customized to whatever your heart desires and is absolutely delicious. We stayed in the Matthew Perry room on the third floor, lots of stairs involved. The room was really nice, but hot (even in late winter we needed the windows opened the entire time, but it was nice to have the breeze). Next time we are in need of a B&B in Newport we will absolutely be here.

Room Tip: 3rd floor lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Farge Perry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Farge Perry House

Address: 24 Kay St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Farge Perry House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your La Farge Perry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farge Perry House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Farge Perry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.