We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Farge Perry House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Farge Perry House to your Saves list
La Farge Perry House
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   24 Kay St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We only stayed for one night after Thanksgiving and enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean with a comfortable queen bed. We had the whole place to ourselves. The innkeeper was very helpful and pleasant and made us an excellent breakfast in the beautiful dining room. Wish we could have stayed longer. The house doesn't look like much from the curb, but it is nicely decorated and well appointed inside. Would highly recommend if visiting Newport. We were shown all the rooms as they were empty, all very nice. A very pleasant but short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
162
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this elegant, comfortable yet homely guest house. It was so delightful there that I'd happily take on the job of running it although I'm not sure I could do it as well as Jennifer, the manager and live-in hostess.
We were encouraged to treat lLa Farge as a home away from home, including use of the kitchen. Had the weather been warmer in the evenings, I know we would have loved sitting out on the inviting board verandah. Home made biscuits and cakes were always available and the omelette at breakfast was delicious. Jennifer is clearly interested in food. And recipes and was generous enough to share some birthday cake with us. Our bedroom (the suite) was fantastic and far exceeded our expectations. Everything had been thought of and the marble bathroom was reminiscent of a belle époque experience but with all the modern touches. Three of us stayed very comfortably in the suite. We stayed at this guesthouse on their autumn saver package which meant that we had a free pass to the Cliff Walk mansions and a lunch at the sister establishment - the Chancler. We had a wonderful stay in Newport and hope to return to the town and the guesthouse soon.

Room Tip: The suite was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just back from a great night here! Jennifer, the innkeeper, could not have been nicer/ more helpful. Was just a wonderful escape--luxurious, old world, comfortable stay. We stayed in the Perry room and we loved the serene, warm decor. The fireplace, jacuzzi and beautiful wooden 4 poster bed with great linens all made for a super stay. walking distance to all the goodies and just a great escape. The kitchen downstairs is added bonus: fireplace and couch for guests to relax. The breakfast room is so relaxing and the food was fab. can't wait to return !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We get there by the afternoon and there was very welcoming scent of fresh homemade cookie all over the B&B. This very charming New England house is located a walking distance (and a pleasant stroll) from the best shops and restaurants in Newport. We choosed the Matthew Perry room: very cozy, very confortable and as large as a presidential suite (easy to remember: same name as the "friends" sitcom actor). Despite a minor problem with a not working thermostat (an open window with a refreshing night sea breeze solved the problem), we slept like angels. Next morning, the choices of breakfast were unbelievable. I asked for a full english breakfast with eggs, hash browns, saussages and french toasts, and my wife had the pancake-blueberry combination. It is the friendly innkeepers, Jennifer and Miguel, who cook your breakfast, all fresh and very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived early. Jennifer nevertheless greeted us and took our bags in. We were immediately offered coffee and homemade cake and cookies by the warmth of the fire. It was a day before Sandy struck and Jennifer (the innkeeper) ensured we were comfortable and relaxed about the situation offering help if we could not travel the next day. Lovely old house with easy parking at the front. The room was truly lovely - view of the sea, jacuzzi bath,up-market toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobes. Comfortable bed and all the information we could want on Newport including advice to visit The Breakers. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Wonderful, warm, hospitable stay. Go to the Black Pearl for excellent mussels and exquisite clam chowder

Room Tip: Take the Matthew Perry room for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This gorgeous property is well situated in Newport. You can walk to the harbor/wharf area in just a few minutes and walking is probably the best option as the traffic can be busy (it was a weekend when we were there).
Jennifer made us very welcome. Our room was on the third floor, had a lot of character and was very clean. The bathroom was large and well appointed, including a jacuzzi. Overall, the house is very elegant.
For breakfast, there is a large table where you can get to know some of the other guests which is very enjoyable. There was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast with beautifully cooked and well presented food. This is a B&B we'd happily recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were a late booking due to altered travel plans around Hurricane Sandy. Jennifer immediately made us feel very welcome and comfortable, after a long day of driving. We had a lovely chat on arrival and Jennifer was quickly able to assess how we wished to spend our evening and recommended a wonderful restaurant.
Our chat continued the next morning over a beautifully cooked breakfast, while Jennifer investigated the best available route for us into New York City.
We loved the Inn and it's top class appointment. One night was just too short to spend in such a lovely environment.
Jennifer is an excellent Inn keeper who operates at a very professional yet personal & engaging level. Very highly recommend this property and hope to return one day!!
E & D (from Australia)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Farge Perry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Farge Perry House

Address: 24 Kay St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Farge Perry House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your La Farge Perry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farge Perry House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Farge Perry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.