We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming inn at reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Farge Perry House

Save Saved
You added La Farge Perry House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Farge Perry House
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   24 Kay St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Welcoming inn at reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived early. Jennifer nevertheless greeted us and took our bags in. We were immediately offered coffee and homemade cake and cookies by the warmth of the fire. It was a day before Sandy struck and Jennifer (the innkeeper) ensured we were comfortable and relaxed about the situation offering help if we could not travel the next day. Lovely old house with easy parking at the front. The room was truly lovely - view of the sea, jacuzzi bath,up-market toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobes. Comfortable bed and all the information we could want on Newport including advice to visit The Breakers. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Wonderful, warm, hospitable stay. Go to the Black Pearl for excellent mussels and exquisite clam chowder

Room Tip: Take the Matthew Perry room for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
154
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This gorgeous property is well situated in Newport. You can walk to the harbor/wharf area in just a few minutes and walking is probably the best option as the traffic can be busy (it was a weekend when we were there).
Jennifer made us very welcome. Our room was on the third floor, had a lot of character and was very clean. The bathroom was large and well appointed, including a jacuzzi. Overall, the house is very elegant.
For breakfast, there is a large table where you can get to know some of the other guests which is very enjoyable. There was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast with beautifully cooked and well presented food. This is a B&B we'd happily recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were a late booking due to altered travel plans around Hurricane Sandy. Jennifer immediately made us feel very welcome and comfortable, after a long day of driving. We had a lovely chat on arrival and Jennifer was quickly able to assess how we wished to spend our evening and recommended a wonderful restaurant.
Our chat continued the next morning over a beautifully cooked breakfast, while Jennifer investigated the best available route for us into New York City.
We loved the Inn and it's top class appointment. One night was just too short to spend in such a lovely environment.
Jennifer is an excellent Inn keeper who operates at a very professional yet personal & engaging level. Very highly recommend this property and hope to return one day!!
E & D (from Australia)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the La Farge Perry House for 3 nights as part of our recent New England trip. I cannot say enough good things about it.

Jennifer the fulltime innkeeper is wonderful. She welcomed us with home baked cookies and a map and overview of the local area. She is extremely well versed about what there is to do locally and always willing to find out anything else you need to know. She is a superb cook and her breakfasts were out of this world, the food outstanding and the relaxed atmosphere a breath of fresh air.

The house itself is spotlessly clean and the room that we had wouldn't not be out of place in a top hotel.

Thank you Jennifer for a wonderful stay, we'd be back in a heart beat if we could.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halberstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

It couldnt have been any better than that, our stay was most memorable that. My wife felt like a princess, everything was just perfect! Thank you, Jennifer, you have been an awesome innkeeper. Just go and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A very charming , well appointed and spotlessly clean period Inn with large airy public and bed rooms which are furnished with fine reproduction furniture from the 18th C.
Good breakfasts provided by attentive Inn Keeper Jennifer.
Quiet setting a good walk from the centre and harbour.
Pretty good value.

Room Tip: Its a bit of a climb to the third floor bedrooms. Others on first and second floor more accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a very elegant house, with spacious public rooms. Jennifer the Innnkeeper is friendly and personable and is a great cook. Breakfasts were excellent and her blueberry pancakes superb. We had the John Le Farge room, which was large, if a trifle dingy. Huge bathroom with separate shower and jacuzzi. Room had a sitting area and a high and soft bed, requiring steps to climb into! Might not be easy for everyone. The room is adjacent to the front dor, so we could hear people going in and out, not a problem, but someone comimg in at 1.30am did rouse us. You might want to consider this when booking. Inn is well situated, plenty of parking, few restaurants in the immediate area, but many a short drive or 15 minutes walk away-slightly uphill on the way back. Lovely hotel, fitting the elegance of Newport. Mansions are a must see. Also drive long Ocean Drive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 20 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#1 of 20 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 20 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Mid-range, Bout...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Francis Malbone House Inn
#2 of 101 in Newport
5.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Suites, Boutiqu...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#3 of 101 in Newport
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Farge Perry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Farge Perry House

Address: 24 Kay St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Farge Perry House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Farge Perry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farge Perry House Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Farge Perry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.