We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Newport Bay Club & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Newport
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Downtown Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Newport Bay Club is an outstanding location for just about anything you want to do in Newport. We checked in for one night for our anniversary. Location makes it ideal for chekcing out the different restaurant and bars in downtown. Neely was excellent at the Front Desk. Extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    16
    24
    20
See reviews for
27
75
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is how my stay began: I arrived and stood at an empty front desk. A woman from the office adjacent to the desk yelled, "ya.. what do you want?!" I was confused since i didnt think she could possibly be talking to a guest about to check in, so i continued to stand there and she yelled again "ya..do you want something?!" Seriously? It wasnt until i said i was checking in until she came to the desk (seeming very annoyed at the effort she had to make to get up from her chair). The service did not get any better -- the staff was extremely rude despite the fact they are in the hospitality industry.

I had a wonderful time in Newport, but it was not enhanced by our hotel stay. The one saving grace of this hotel is its location. Walking distance to everything in the center of town, close to shops dining, etc.

The hotel is in serious need of updating. For the price, you might expect the hallways to be pleasant or the beds to be comfortable. Very minimal superficial upgrades could make this hotel seem more worth the money. The space of the rooms was adequate and the kitchenette was a nice addition to the space, but i would never consider it "luxurious" by any means..maybe it was in 1981.

The front desk told us that we should keep our keys away from our cell phones, but did not explain that if we had a key anywhere near our wallet or in the same bag as our phone / credit cards it would deactivate. We made sure to never let the key touch the cell phones and kept them in seperate pockets, but without fail the keys would deactivate almost every time we left our room. Whenever we went to the front desk to reactivate our key, the staff acted extremely put off, like the 30 second task to re-swipe the card was an enormous inconvenience. To make things even worse, the desk closes from the hours of 12am to 8am, so don't plan on coming back after 12, or you'll need to call the security guard to let you in and give you a new key.

Also the "complimentary breakfast" was a joke, and runs out almost immediately

I am excited to visit newport again, but will not be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time with my husband just last night.

The good: the location is great & the rooms are clean. We stayed in a suite which was newly renovated. It provided us with a nice kitchenette (mini fridge, dishwasher, microwave, toaster & settings for 6) a dining room table, pull out couch, 2 chairs and a separate bedroom with a queen bed. The bathroom was nice and updated as well- sink area was a tad small but it worked. The parking was free in a small secure lot around the side of the building. Free parking in Newport is unheard of, even in the off season. There is a small gym located next to the coffee shop. Free breakfast in the morning starting at 8. ( muffins, Danish, fruit & yogurt) we were told its first come first serve so even though the breakfast hours are 8-10; front desk told us it could be gone by 8:30 so get there early if you want it.

The bad: the front desk staff is extremely rude and they should not be working with customers. Other have stated how horrible the staff is so I'm not sure why management doesn't read these comments and clean house. The walls are paper thin. We were on the third floor and heard every conversation from the rooms on each side of us but also above us. That was the worst- it was as if they were in our room. We tried to take a rest before dinner and imstead listened to the people above is sing at the top of their lungs for 2 hours. I did go to the desk to complain (twice) but found no one there. Again as others mentioned, the bar in the basement has bands each weekend which you can hear in the rooms. They play until 1am- we didn't get back to our room until 12:30am but it was still annoying to hear music while we tried to sleep. I can't imagine trying to go to bed at a normal hour OR being on the first floor closet to the music.

Overall: I would return to the hotel but it wouldn't be my first choice. Probably more like my 4th because Newport has some great hotels to chose from (Viking being my favorite). If your looking for a relaxing stay this isn't your hotel. The noise is just too much to bear. The man at the front did take a few dollars off my bill when I told him how loud it was for us and that we got little sleep. Also note, there is no front desk staff after midnight. You need to call security for assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Fabulous location, free parking, free Internet, kitchens, living rooms, dining area, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths. Our housekeepers Leah & Robin were charming, helpful & conscientious. However the front desk help needs "help," in particular Ramona. I called the front desk to see if we could extend our 2 night stay to 5 nights. After much hemming & hawing she managed to say we could, but the last 2 nights we had to move to a room across the hall. I asked if we could just stay in the same room. I was told no. I asked if we could move our belongings after the new room was vacated. Absolutely not. I was told under no circumstances could any of our things go into the new room until it was cleaned. I talked to an employee the next AM & was told it would be no problem for the housekeepers if we moved our things over. Following Ramona's instructions, we packed up two rooms worth of stuff on Friday AM. Then I ran into the housekeeping manager in the hall. Asked him if our new room was available & he went to the front desk to check. The housekeeping manager came back & told me we didn't have to move. He was very apologetic that we hadn't been notified. I believe Ramona could have made an effort to solve our problem in the first place, rather than being unaccomodating & inflexible. By her attitude & tone of voice, it was an obvious assertion of power, with no interest in accommodating me, the customer. I am accustomed to better customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you like to be at The center of things ,this is your place..
Clean, spacious , well appointed rooms ,a good choice,only con would be the club located in the basement..
Would stay again and will recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Newport Bay Club is an outstanding location for just about anything you want to do in Newport. The rooms are spacious with views of the water or the city and include a mini fridge and microwave. It is a short walk to the sites, restaurants and shops down town. The only negative was the noise late at night when they have entertainment in the Rhino, a bar in the lower level of the complex. It was very loud. If you are prepared for that, it is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

First time staying here. GREAT location - FREE Parking. Walk to shops, restaurants, wharf area!

Very spacious accommodations - we had a "town house" space / living room (with pull out sofa) - dining area - kitchen, with refrigerator / microwave / small dishwasher / sink / no oven or stove. Also a half-bathroom on first floor. Balcony off first floor.

Upstairs - two good size bedrooms - good closet space everywhere. Full bathroom upstairs. Also balcony off both bedrooms - pretty nice view.

Easily accommodated 4 of us / great coffee shop downstairs!! Good value split 4 ways! Would return!

Room Tip: Try the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Bay Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Address: 337 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newport Bay Club & Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club is an all-suite hotel located on the Harborfront in downtown Newport, RI. Beautiful one and two bedroom suites and multi level townhouses with kitchens, living and dining areas. Sweeping views from our private outside decks. Located at THE intersection of Newport - the corner of America's Cup and Thames this prime address allows you to leave your vehicle in our private lot and walk to all of downtown Newport's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Newport Bay Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Club And Hotel
Newport Bay Club Hotel Newport
Newport Bay Hotel
Bay Club Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Bay Club & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.