We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal on a Newport condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceancliff Hotel

Oceancliff Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceancliff Hotel
65 Ridge Road, Newport, RI 02042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Newport
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great deal on a Newport condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

For a family of 4, Oceancliff condo (the time share/rental, not to be confused with hotel/wedding property next door operated by different group) provided vast space (and 2 bathrooms!) for a last minute 4 day stay in Newport at a great price. Two bedroom condo with large balcony was less than the cost of a one bedroom hotel room at Hyatt.

Ground level of our tower unit had a living room with comfy furniture including a sleep sofa, 2 arm chairs, dining table and 4 chairs, kitchenette with mini-fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, so called second bedroom with queen bed (really walk-in closet size; don't know if adults would be happy in it given size, very little drawer space, no closet), bathroom with stall shower, and balcony furnished with table and chairs for 5 where we had breakfast each day while watching boats in the bay. Master bedroom upstairs was large, with plenty of drawer space, and a bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Units are basically clean but not new or lush. Housekeeping must access unit by 11 am each day. Location is right next door to Inn at Castle Hill, easily drivable to mansions, state parks, beach. You will have to drive to all restaurants and to downtown Newport (where parking is available but usually for a fee).

Be aware that you will climb 28 stairs to reach tower units and another long flight to second bedroom. Stairways could use a thorough cleaning, and outside property upkeep is not fabulous. There is a small indoor pool with outside deck seating, tennis courts, volleyball net. Central reservations gave us inaccurate information originally about what features the unit contained; suggest checking directly with property to confirm all information. But - if you know limitations of this property, you are getting a lot for the money in an otherwise pricey resort area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
20
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2006

We just got back from our two week honeymoon after our wedding at Oceancliff. I am pleased to say that our special day was absolutely perfect. The food was exceptional but we entirely expected that after eating at the Safari Room on multiple occasions.

It was the service, however, that exceeded our expectations. Everything was perfect and we could tell that an extraordinary amount of time and care went into planning our wedding. The weather was perfect and we had the service outdoors overlooking Naragansett Bay and Newport Harbor. I can't wait to get our pictures. We went with the hotel's reccommendations for all of our vendors--band (Synergy), florist (Goldengate Studios), photographer (Bristol Workshops) and cake (Sweet Sophistications) and each was excellent and exceeded expectations.

Most of our guests have told us repeatedly that it was the most beautiful and enjoyable wedding they've been to in some time. If you're looking for a perfect place to have an event, Ocean Cliff is it.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2005

The grounds are beautiful as is the view of the water. The photo I posted was the view from my balcony. Oceancliff II (the Timeshare rental buildings) are old and need work! Our second bedroom looked like a converted walk in closet. It had a double bed (not twins like in most other Timeshare resorts) and it was very hard and uncomfortable. The Master Bedroom was on the second floor and was very large. The bed was comfortable, but, since it was on the top floor, the ceiling was pitched in most areas. The bathroom off of the master was big, but again, was in need of a much needed renovation! The Kitchenette has a sink, coffee maker and under cabinet refrigerator. The Microwave was on a counter on the other side of the Living Room. Oceancliff is located off of Ocean Drive, so it's not too close to the center of Newport. Plan on driving everywhere, since nothing is in walking distance. The price for the rental was extremely reasonable, so I'd recommend it just for that reason alone. We paid less for this 2 bedroom unit than the hotels were charging for 1 room.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2005

My husband and I were married at Ocean Cliff November of 2004. We loved it! It was a spectacular event and we would do it all over again if we could. Half of our guests also stayed at the hotel and had wonderful expereinces also.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

I chose to have my wedding at the OceanCliff and can not say enough good things about the wedding staff and the entire setting of the OceanCliff. All of my guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves, including the several guests that occupied 18 of the 19 guest rooms in the main building. There is no elevator which was braught to my attention prior to booking, however there is only 3 floors.
On the flip side, I have to agree with some other reviews concerning the retaurant staff in the "Safari Room" and the bar. On my wedding day I ordered lunch in the bar for myself and asked for food to be delivered to my soon-to-be wife. It took over 90 minutes for the delivery of food. By that time it was crunch time and was unable to enjoy it. I would highly discourage anyone to stay at this location while a wedding is happening unless you are attending.
Overall... Beautiful Location. Superior service and catoring staff for "special events". Otherwise, the rooms are very nice and contrary to popular belief the prices are very reasonable for Newport. The downside... the Safari Room for anything but beverages.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2005

We went for a wedding in December. The hotel has no elevator and had no bell service. We were put in the third floor. There was no room service or food available in the hotel except the breakfast which was sparse and a health hazard (read on for an explanation). No soda machines. Only one bottle of water ($7) in the room. Do you remember I said December, right? Well, guess what, no temperature controls in the room, and they turn the heat off in the middle of the night! We frooze. We called down and nobody answered, we were forwarded to a voice mail. They offer a free breakfast. The yogurt had expired two weeks earlier. There was no cream cheese. When we asked for it, a worker huffed and walked away, then returned and pulled some small packs of cream cheese out of his pocket. I would comment on the service, but there was none. The room was very nice, but it is hard to enjoy it while you are gasping for breath after having carried your bags up three flights of stairs, then looking for food, and then almost passing out because the small bottle of water costs $7! If you read this review and decide to stay in this hole, then it is your fault. If you are going to an event here, try Castle Hill. It is right next door and more importantly you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2004

My father, stepmom, grandma and I went to the Ocean Cliff for Brunch on 8/30/04. The food and the service was terrible. Jazz music way too loud! The best thing about it was the view which was beautiful. We waited over 45 minutes to get our food which was two sandwichs and two salads! The caesar salad had too much dressing, too many crutons and not enough lettuce. Also, the prices are ridicolously expensive. $15.00 for a shrimp caesar. We never got water we ordered three times nor refills on our drinks. Seemed to not have enough staff on. Very busy place. Didn't seem like anyone in our area was having an enjoyable time!!!! Finally got our food, Waiter completely forgot about us, never asked us if we needed anything else and asked how everything was after we were finished!!!! Beautiful place though. Not worth the time or effort it took to find it....Thank god the rest of the time we had in Newport was nice!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceancliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceancliff Hotel

Address: 65 Ridge Road, Newport, RI 02042
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OceanCliff Resort was designed and built in 1864 by the architectural firm Peabody & Stearns from Boston who designed the original Breakers and Doris Duke's Rough Point both located on elegant Bellevue Avenue. A wealthy industrialist and member of Mrs. Astor's 400 Club originally used OceanCliff as a private summer residence during the Gilded Age. The estate remained a private summer home until 1954, when it was sold and later converted into an oceanfront retreat to host lavish parties and society affairs.Located on 10 acres of rolling lawns with spectacular ocean views, OceanCliff offers a truly unique blend of breathtaking beauty, world-class cuisine and a professionally trained staff to ensure meticulous attention to every detail of your stay.Twenty-five distinctly stylized guest rooms whisk you back to the 19th century with modern conveniences and stunning oceanfront views. OceanCliff's grand ballroom accommodates from 75-250 guests for dinner and dancing, while a variety of smaller rooms allow for more intimate gatherings.Set amidst the breathtaking splendor of the Narragansett Bay, OceanCliff has inspired generations of brides with some of the most enchanting landscapes in Newport, Rhode Island. Whether you prefer a romantic summer sunset celebration or a unique crystal winter white wedding, OceanCliff offers a variety of wedding and reception options.OceanCliff is located on historic Ocean Drive with easy access to downtown Newport and is only a 90-minute drive from Boston and Hartford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceancliff Hotel Newport
Ocean Cliff Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceancliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oceancliff Hotel to your Saves list