We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic inn - amazing views. Overnight for a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceancliff Hotel

Oceancliff Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceancliff Hotel
Save Saved
You added Oceancliff Hotel to your Saves list
65 Ridge Road, Newport, RI 02042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Batavia, il
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic inn - amazing views. Overnight for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The property is quite incredible, and what a beautiful venue for a wedding. Sunset over the bay during dinner was the perfect touch. If this area is an option for a wedding - you'd have to put it on the short-list for sure. Food was very nicely done. Wait staff was plentiful and top-notch.

We arrived a few hours before the wedding and they had a nice fire going in one of the front parlor rooms, with hot apple cider and cookies waiting. So we pulled up a couple of chairs and enjoyed the fire. Good living.

As for our hotel stay. We stayed in the primary hotel - not one of the Oceancliff 1&2 units on the property. We spent a few extra dollars for one of their nicest rooms, 1 & 7 are evidently their best ones. We were in 1. Nice corner unit, good size, gorgeous room (especially the ceiling), fireplace, and view. Great bathroom with jetted tub too.

Would have given it an excellent rating, but I think there were a few items a bit off the mark - not bad, just not excellent. 1) Tea - my wife loves her tea, and surprisingly they didn't have it as an option out with the hot cider, or even available with our continental breakfast the next morning? 2) Kuerig in the room - awesome, but no cream and sugar? 3) The Sunday am continental breakfast was very basic - and looks they dont' even serve a full breakfast (this time of year anyway). 4) the bed - mattress a bit firm, and as for the pillows, they could learn a thing or two from the bigger chains. We had a beautiful bed, with 4 pillows, but each was the same - BIG and FIRM. So if you like a soft, small pillow - out of luck.

Beautiful location, great place and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    7
    7
    11
See reviews for
21
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent a night here as part of a Valentine's Day package and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. Ashley from the front desk was so sweet and super helpful in getting us a new room even late in the evening. The special valentine's day menu at the Safari Room was excellent and our server Matt was friendly and personable. The rooms were great and we really had a nice stay thanks to everyone we met. Will definitely return in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Location is excellent, beautiful views overlooking the ocean. Great rooms for wedding photos, spacious, well lit, beautiful fireplace added ambivalence to a chilly, windy Saturday afternoon and evening. Waitstaff courteous, very attentive; food was very good and served very timely. Enjoyed immensely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had my wedding at OceanCliff during January, I was so excited because it was such a unique place to hold a wedding, and the views were STUNNING from the ballroom. It rained on my big day, and I was understandably upset, but OceanCliff made everything perfect still, from the WONDERFUL staff, to the great food and drinks, to the smallest detail being taking care of by everyone. It truly was my dream come true, and I could not recommend it more! All my wedding party and family stayed in the mansion, the ceremony and reception were in the ballroom, the after party and brunch were in the Safari room, and other guests could stay just steps away in the condos OceanCliff 1 and 2 next door! It was all so convenient for me and my guests! We LOVE Oceancliff and will hopefully go back there again to celebrate soon!

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are WORTH the extra money. The views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went here for a wedding in January. We did not stay here overnight. The grounds were well kept and the views of the ocean and the sunset were breathtaking. The service was very good and it seemed as if you needed something there was someone right there to help. The food was very good. The safari room was a cool little bar area with some music and a couple of tv's to catch up on the game. It was a great night overall. One complaint. No coors light. So that's not to bad when everything else was so good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Attended a post-holiday brunch/party at this mansion. The landscape and ocean view were breathtaking. The hotel Victorian era interior was highly classy and brimming with elegance. The variety and quality of food were excellent including every item one could think of from omelets to lobster tails to a pastry station, and everything in-between. I was totally blown away by the attention to detail and quality, particularly for such a large group. This establishment was well equipped to handle a large gathering and had plenty of courteous and intuitive wait staff at every turn.

I would highly recommend this place for any and all large gatherings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went to Ocean Cliff 1 and 2 recommended by RCI. Perfect weekend getaway from NJ with the family to celebrate my 43rd bday. Accomodations were perfect for a family of 7. We will definitely be returning. Beautiful view and place was clean. We love Newport and we will be returning her soon and for a longer stay!

Once we got there - shuttle service was a plus. Did not need to drive anymore :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceancliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceancliff Hotel

Address: 65 Ridge Road, Newport, RI 02042
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OceanCliff Resort was designed and built in 1864 by the architectural firm Peabody & Stearns from Boston who designed the original Breakers and Doris Duke's Rough Point both located on elegant Bellevue Avenue. A wealthy industrialist and member of Mrs. Astor's 400 Club originally used OceanCliff as a private summer residence during the Gilded Age. The estate remained a private summer home until 1954, when it was sold and later converted into an oceanfront retreat to host lavish parties and society affairs.Located on 10 acres of rolling lawns with spectacular ocean views, OceanCliff offers a truly unique blend of breathtaking beauty, world-class cuisine and a professionally trained staff to ensure meticulous attention to every detail of your stay.Twenty-five distinctly stylized guest rooms whisk you back to the 19th century with modern conveniences and stunning oceanfront views. OceanCliff's grand ballroom accommodates from 75-250 guests for dinner and dancing, while a variety of smaller rooms allow for more intimate gatherings.Set amidst the breathtaking splendor of the Narragansett Bay, OceanCliff has inspired generations of brides with some of the most enchanting landscapes in Newport, Rhode Island. Whether you prefer a romantic summer sunset celebration or a unique crystal winter white wedding, OceanCliff offers a variety of wedding and reception options.OceanCliff is located on historic Ocean Drive with easy access to downtown Newport and is only a 90-minute drive from Boston and Hartford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceancliff Hotel Newport
Ocean Cliff Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceancliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.