We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit every year especiallyto hear JAVA JIVE !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceancliff Hotel

Oceancliff Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceancliff Hotel
65 Ridge Road, Newport, RI 02042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Newport
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Visit every year especiallyto hear JAVA JIVE !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

For the past several years our extended family of four generations have visited this hotel to see and enjoy the band JAVA JIVE !! We spend this entire Monday in the middle of July dancing, singing, eating and drinking while enjoying the ambiance of the Safari outdoor patio, bar and dance floor with the magnificent view of Newport harbor! This year I have tried to contact this hotel and restaurant several times. They have had many excuses for the manager who is never available to come to the phone. I am told that it is rumored that they will have jazz bands there this summer. I am wishing I could contact someone at the hotel to ask if JAVA JIVE will be there? What a dissapointment it will be if they are not ! Hopefully this hotel is not making changes that effect the hiring of this awesome entertainment! Unfortunatly they are not being straight forward and honest about their summer schedule and I question what will happen to their business because of this? We are not going to book here again until we get an answer. They are losing alot of business with our family!

  • Liked — The entertainment
  • Disliked — It would now have to be managment
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
20
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

We just got married at Oceancliff, it is so beautiful there. the ceremony outside was breathtaking. the location is so stunning, the service and staff is excellent, and the lobster was amazing. I think that the guests were so impressed by the fabulous venue. Oceancliff keep up the good work.
YOu made our special day so wonderful , i can't thank you enough.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruxton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We were extremely pleased by our President's weekend stay in Oceancliff I - the timeshare rentals of the Oceancliff resort. Our one bedroom suite had a nice pullout bed in the living room and was spacious enough for two couples. We had a beautiful view of the water and "Castle on the Hill" was directly in front of us.. Our newly refurbished room had tasteful furniture, a gas fireplace that really put out some heat (and we had cold weather the first night and fog) and a flat screen TV. It had a nice round dining table for four.. and a kitchen area with full refrigerator, cabinets with china and silverware for four... a two burner stove, coffee maker and plenty of cabinet space. There was a huge double closet in the Master bedroom another TV and two full baths (new) one with a nice sit down shower and the other with a jacuzzi tub (for one). It was a great unit. The kitchen was a little dark.. with a flourescent light under the counter and a microwave light, but we managed well enough. New carpeting and a coat closet in the living room just inside the door made the unit - just perfect. We hear it is really booked solid in the summer and we can see why! They are still rennovating other units but we were lucky enough to get a new one. And the view - of the Naragansett Bay (I think) was breathtaking from the large bay window with creamy striped roman shades and a door leading out to a small wooden balcony (with seats and a table for enjoying spring/summer evenings) Lovely decor, great amenities, clean as a whistle.. very nice stay! It is a 10 minute drive from town and very peaceful at this time of year.. there is a indoor pool as well and very nice grounds to walk around.. great place.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

We were looking at sites for a wedding in the fall of 2008, when we came across Ocean Cliff. They sent us a folder with all of their pricing and it seemed like a great place - so we booked an appointment. After driving 2 hours each way, we came to find out that their folder excluded one little important sheet of paper--with the astronomical fees involved in renting their site: up to $9,000 for 5 hours. They don't even mention it until you get there. It's a total bait and switch. If you're thinking about having a wedding there, be wary, for that amount of money, work with someone you can trust.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

I booked my wedding at OceanCliff in January of 2007 for October of 2008. Unfortunately, my fiance and I were forced to relocate due to his job and had to cancel our wedding there due to a four hour drive. OceanCliff REFUSED to refund our deposit of $2500 even with a 15 month notice. Best of all, I was told I could not have the owner's name to contact him/her to request a refund because it was "against company policy". This is a beautiful location for a wedding, but beware of their shoddy business practices!!!!

  • Liked — Beautiful location/view
  • Disliked — Terrible business practices
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

I can't say enough about the OcenCliff. It was a last minute reservation for myself, my wife and our 12 year old son, and we received an upgraded room, without asking, and also a foldout bed, without asking.....so a $275/night room for only $165..

It is basically a castle, and our room was fantastic. the location is only about 10min from downtown, and the same from the mansions. The only issue was they only have wireless in the library....no biggy... We will return here EVERY YEAR..

Do not confuse this with the OceanCliff timeshares....completely seperate....Also, the staff was an amazing asset to OceanCliff Thanks Jennifer!!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranquility, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

My husband and I have been returning to the "Oceancliff" in Newport for nearly thirty years. We go as far back with this Inn to when it was called "Shamrock Cliffs." At that time, the main house and gate house were the only buildings on the property, and the pool was operational. We have seen owners and management teams come and go. We hated when they built the time share units; we were spoiled by the way it was without them, but our love for the place has kept us coming back. I have read mixed reviews about the Oceancliff, but I can honestly say that my husband and I have never experienced anything other than a wonderful stay. The rooms are spotless, the views and grounds are beautiful, and although the continental breakfast can be upgraded a bit, we have always enjoyed other meals we have had here, especially lunch outside on the patio. You can't beat the ambiance. (I must mention that we are in the restaurant business, and are very fussy.)
I would like to share with you what occurred on our last visit. This is what makes a great inn:
We last visited in September of 2006. My husband had to go home a day early and my daughter (8) and I stayed for an extra day, just the two of us. We were the only guests in the hotel. It was like the place was ours. Late that afternoon, while in my room, I became seriously ill. I felt I might be in need of an ambulance. My daughter was very scared. I told her to call the front desk for help. The staff arrived immediately. They could not do enough to take care of me and my daughter. Any request I had, they happily obliged. I ended up not needing the ambulance, but was sick for the next few hours. I could not tend to my daughter. I am the type of mom that never lets my daughter out of my sight, and felt I was at the mercy of the hotel staff. They went out of their way to help me and my daughter during that time. One of the female employees gained my trust and took my daughter to the kitchen, made a meal made for her, and kept her company the whole time. I was far away from home, without my husband, horribly ill, and in need of assistance. The staff made all the difference in how the experience turned out. We continue to love the Oceancliff and plan to return regularly for the next thirty years!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceancliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceancliff Hotel

Address: 65 Ridge Road, Newport, RI 02042
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OceanCliff Resort was designed and built in 1864 by the architectural firm Peabody & Stearns from Boston who designed the original Breakers and Doris Duke's Rough Point both located on elegant Bellevue Avenue. A wealthy industrialist and member of Mrs. Astor's 400 Club originally used OceanCliff as a private summer residence during the Gilded Age. The estate remained a private summer home until 1954, when it was sold and later converted into an oceanfront retreat to host lavish parties and society affairs.Located on 10 acres of rolling lawns with spectacular ocean views, OceanCliff offers a truly unique blend of breathtaking beauty, world-class cuisine and a professionally trained staff to ensure meticulous attention to every detail of your stay.Twenty-five distinctly stylized guest rooms whisk you back to the 19th century with modern conveniences and stunning oceanfront views. OceanCliff's grand ballroom accommodates from 75-250 guests for dinner and dancing, while a variety of smaller rooms allow for more intimate gatherings.Set amidst the breathtaking splendor of the Narragansett Bay, OceanCliff has inspired generations of brides with some of the most enchanting landscapes in Newport, Rhode Island. Whether you prefer a romantic summer sunset celebration or a unique crystal winter white wedding, OceanCliff offers a variety of wedding and reception options.OceanCliff is located on historic Ocean Drive with easy access to downtown Newport and is only a 90-minute drive from Boston and Hartford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceancliff Hotel Newport
Ocean Cliff Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceancliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oceancliff Hotel to your Saves list