We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spring Street Inn to your Saves list
Spring Street Inn
353 Spring Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Service....room....breakfast....local....parking....all fabulous! Went away for a quick trip into Newport. Host couldn't have been more solicitous. Breakfast was dreamy. Great dinner recommendations too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    50
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
257
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We picked this inn based upon TA reviews. We were not disappointed. Location is very good. Parking lot was fine. Seemed to be enough space for everyone without cramping. Within walking distance of many sites. Phil and his staff could not have been nicer. They put out some snacks for arriving guests. Breakfast is excellent. Fresh fruit and coffee put out by 7 AM. At 8:30 they start serving the hot stuff, omelets and fresh baked pastries. Room was adequate size and bathroom was fine. Place was clean and well organized.

A word of advice. Ignore old reviews of this place. I do not know when Phil took over, but the stories about the intrusive innkeeper must be for a previous owner.

Room Tip: The second and third floor rooms are quieter than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new city ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Wonderful inn in a perfect location. We needed 2 beds and thus had room 2 which opened right into the dining room. This was not a problem in the least, in fact I found it a plus when I wanted a glass of water at bedtime-only steps away! Innkeeper Phil was very nice; his cook provided scrumptious breakfasts every morning and real snacks every afternoon, not just the usual cookies. Our room, though not overly large, was perfectly adequate and very clean. There is parking on the property, a real plus. You can't get a better value for your money in this town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice inn. It is located just one block from the Newport Waterfront and there is one parking space for each room. I chose this inn for its rates, and because it is one of very few B & Bs in Newport that offers a room with a twin bed option. Be aware that room 1 & 2 (2 is the one we were in) are located on the first floor. When one opens the door of the guest room, one finds one self right in the dining room, which can be kind of awkward. We were also woken up late at night by guests coming in since we were very close to the front door. If you want more privacy, I imagine you would want an upstairs room. This inn is a beautiful Victorian, in town, which I know means "small" spaces. Our room size was fine- if you want "big," don't stay in a B & B. There is a small entrance and a dining room, no other common spaces. I did pop upstairs and saw some kind of sitting area on the landing but didn't see well enough to comment. If you are looking for an elegantly restored inn with antiques and comfortable common areas and room to spread out, this is not it. That being said, this B & B is by no means shabby. It is a cozy, sweet inn close to all of Newport. If you are looking for a B & B to lay your head at night and have a fabulous breakfast with great staff, this is it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I would highly recommend this great place. It is very reasonably priced and the location is awesome. The views are to die for and you truly get more for your buck. Ocean views and night skylines make you never want to leave the inn, let alone RI!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wonderful rates, staff, and food. Walking distance to all local restaurants and shopping. Parking on propery. Full breakfast in the morning and snacks available throughout the day.Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 Rosecliff. I would not recommend rooms that are right off the dining room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great rates, great atmosphere. Personable staff, great hospitality. Updated Victorian within walking distance to all local restaurants! The breakfast buffet was amazing!
The Inn is a cozy Victorian that has some updated but keeps to the character of Newport and it's history! Definitely will try to stay again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor but would definitely like to stay on the second floor next time to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Street Inn

Address: 353 Spring Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Street Inn is an Empire Victorian Inn built in 1858 by one of the investors in the Fall River Steamship Company as his residence. Each of our 7 beautiful guest rooms have bathrooms en suite,air conditioning, refrigerators, cable TV and Wi-Fi. Free on site parking included for each guest room. Full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Spring Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Street Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.